We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Augusta Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Augusta Bay
Ranked #25 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night on the way to PE. The view of the lagoon is simply beautiful. There is an Italian restaurant at the bay with great views and atmosphere. The room and bathroom were huge in a very good condition. It was better than we thought it would be. The service seemed great but when a day later we realized we left something in the room after trying to make contact for multiple times we gave up. We were not impressed that they were not willing to check the room for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerIS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    37
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
42
121
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
224 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed in the Augusta Bay for 4 nights. The area is really quiet and the view from our room was amazing - you have the view of the knysna bay. In front of the hotel there is a small hidden beach where you can enter the water. For a supermarket or restaurant you have to drive into knysna or plettenberg (where the better restaurants are). The area is super safe. For parking there are reserved spots in front of the house. The room was huge and clean and nice. Breakfast was included and absolutely okay. The pool is small and well to be honest, if you have the ocean, why to use a pool. Peter the one responsible was okay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin2010187337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when in Knysna. The first thing to say about the guesthouse is the size of the rooms. The suite we stayed in was very large and had lovely views across the estuary thanks to Augusta Bay's great location on the Heads. The service was excellent. One of the staff took our bags to and from our car to the room and the breakfast was very good. There was some building work at the premises opposite but i was aware of this before travelling and the owners mentioned it immediately upon arrival. By the looks of things this would soon be coming to an end. As others have mentioned there are a couple of eateries less than 1 minute from the guesthouse that provide good, well priced food. All in all a great guesthouse in a lovely location.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

A large spacious room with an amazing view to the bay. The hotel service is very professional and at the same time very warm and helping. We have liked very much the location of the lodge and the kindness of the hotel manager. In front of the lodge there are also to very nice restaurants which we highly recommend for a light lunch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and for a parking in the indoor garage
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

We had been expecting very nice views from our bedroom (The Augusta National), as previous guests had highlighted this as a particular feature. However, a new house is being built directly in front of your bedroom which largely obscures these views.
The room was very spacious, but I can't really see why you would want 2 double beds in a room and would suggest they change one of these for a settee as there is ample room.
The decor is getting a bit dated and the hotel is a bit out in the sticks if you want to eat out at night.
There is a local cafe/restaurant only 50 yards away, which has an excellent view at the head of the estuary and is excellent value (although it took 1 hour for our 1st course).

Room Tip: We would suggest choosing a guesthouse on arrival using the local inforamtion Kiosk in the centre of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markandsue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

We traveled down to GEORGE but the town of Knysna looked so welcoming, We drove to the famous Heads where my husband saw this beautiful Guesthouse. We stopped to check availability, but no answer at the door or on the phone numbers provided at the door, This was at 20:00 we then went for dinner and returned at about 21:30 to try again but still the same problem, i went down to a restaurant there and asked the manager if he knows the people, he went back with me to check but the manager was not on the premises, he then sent me to a guesthouse up the road. Very poor experience and will not be trying them again, if this is how they do greetings how poor will the rest be?? stay away

Room Tip: Phone them a year in advance... that's if you can get hold of the manager/owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesenik, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

A great stay, Staf is extremely helpfull and will guide you throw your stay with personal approach. Rooms where great and big and clean with sherry waiting for you. Location is very nice at The Heads - you can walk around romantic part of Knysna and there is restaurant 2 min walk, you can wath ships coming into the lagoon from it. There are also golf courses around and many tourist places. All very romantic.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helicid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.0 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Headlands House
Headlands House
#20 of 126 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon House
Beacon House
#14 of 100 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TwoAngels Guest House
TwoAngels Guest House
#4 of 100 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#2 of 100 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Bay

Property: Augusta Bay
Address: 30 George Rex Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Augusta Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Eastern Head in Knysna this 5 star guest house offers excellent service and hospitality, luxurious rooms with all the extras and comfort you can imagine, unequal views of the lagoon and the opportunity to play golf on their corporate membership at either Pezula or Simola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Augusta Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Bay Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing