We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must For Knysna”
Review of Knysna Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Knysna Backpackers
Ranked #26 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Must For Knysna”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This place felt like a home not a backpackers, immaculately clean, friendly helpful staff. There are more things to do in and around town than people seem to think, so please differ to staff knowledge. Whether you choose to come to do the activities or chill for a couple days and revel in small town life, you'll enjoy and appreciate your time here.

Room Tip: Just come and see for yourself And try some oysters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoneFishing81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    39
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
41
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Muriel makes this hostel what it is. It felt warm, friendly, relaxed and welcoming during my stay. Muriel looks out for every single guest there and ensures that they get the most out of their time in Knysna. The rooms were immaculate and a great selection of food is available for the free breakfast. It is so much more than just a backpackers or a place to rest your head for the night. Muriel went out of her way for me during my stay and I can't thank her enough! This is definitely the only option for accommodation in Knysna in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cw00011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

If you're tired of the Bob Marley/Jack Johnson backpacker scene this is a great place to stay. Laid back, friendly, and very helpful. Rooms are really nice in old house and DIY breaky is good too. Good choice for families too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2013

An extremely homely feel to this backpacker yet it had the 5 star standard of a BnB. Muriel was most helpful in pointing out must sees in Knysna, letting us get as much as possible into the little time we had there. Our room was spacious and imaculate. The location was incredible, with the house being old Victorian and overlooking the beautiful Knysna lagoon. We cannot thank Muriel and her team enough for such an incredible stay. Thank you (also I love my girlfriend so much Hashtag Lechelle Kim Mills)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete Fox L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

Clean dorms
Fresh bedding
Free breakfast
Free wifi
Tv & sitting area
Kitchen area
Friendly/Helpful staff
Close to shops & walking distance to the waterfront
Not a great deal to do in the town other than eat in nice restaurants


A place to relax! :)

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaneandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Knysna Backpackers is beautifully located not far from the center and the lagoon of Knysna. From the terrace, you have an amazing view over the lagoon. But the best was certainly the staff, in particular the owner, who was one of the most helpful people I've ever met in South Africa. She soughted out some problems we had with a laundry service and gave excellent tips on what to do in the city. If you can, try to cycle to Leisure Island and the Heads instead of going there by car.
Besides, the hostel provides free breakfast and wifi, which was definitely a plus. One of the nicest hostel we stayed at in South Africa!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EyelessView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Owning a backpackers ourselves it is nice to be on the other side of the counter sometimes and observe what is going on.
Being in this home and meeting staff and owners, we could not have felt more at home and relaxed. Good balance between price and accommodation, service.
Nothing is 100% perfect . If something would bother me too much I would talk to the owner and then you often find out the reason why something is done or not.
Concerning us, Knysna Backpackers is definetely a place to recommend to the mature, peaceful traveller who enjoys a homey atmosphere.

Chris and Rita, Belgium

Room Tip: No place for party people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krielkippeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
0.4 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
0.6 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#33 of 103 in Knysna
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluesky Backpacker & Lodge
Bluesky Backpacker & Lodge
#77 of 103 in Knysna
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Elalini Backpackers
Elalini Backpackers
#29 of 103 in Knysna
32 reviews
18.4 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#14 of 69 in Plettenberg Bay
112 reviews
17.9 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Backpackers

Property: Knysna Backpackers
Address: 42 Queen Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Knysna Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing