We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and great hostel!”
Review of Knysna Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Knysna Backpackers
Ranked #27 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Double room with ensuite spacious, clean and lovely. A little noisy in the mornings but otherwise OK.
Owner VERY welcoming and helpful - can't believe how enthusiastic she is after years in the business. All staff friendly and great.
Breakfast and lunch can be ordered and reviews in the book were positive.
Kitchen clean and well equipped altho a little small when busy - but good for meeting people. Internet free as long as you don't hog it for more than 1/2 an hour.
Book exchange.
Nice lounge areas.
Beautiful views over the town and lagoon.
5 minute walk to downtown and 15 minutes to the waterfront.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLAOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2010

Very comfortable double room with nice bathroom. Hannes was kind and thoughtful, and worked so hard to make our stay in Kynsna a special one

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauldwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

To conclude upfront: This place is absolutely recommendable! When we arrived, we had a very warm welcome by Hannes (the manager of the hostel), who showed us around and to our very cosy twin bed room. The rooms are very tidy and so are the bathrooms, kitchen etc. Hannes is really trying hard to make everyone’s stay in Knysna an unforgettable experience. And he succeeds in doing so! Hannes has a lot of advice on the town, the surrounding area and the plethora of activities you can do. He makes wonderful dinners and tasty pancakes for breakfast. The place is quiet and very safe to stay. Our rating: Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inn2TheWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I am surprise to be the first in writing review for this hostel, as this is a very nice place.
I intended to go another backpacker house initially, but was recommended by others about this place. So, I gave it a try and it turned up to be very good.
The room and shared bathroom are very clean. The owner is very helpful and informative. He is such a caring person that even when I am going to leave, he run out from kitchen and try to give me another tips for the coming trip.
I would really recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_freak_mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank kikadelacarrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank lolette66170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 975keesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.4 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
0.6 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#28 of 108 in Knysna
228 reviews
1.2 mi away
Footprints of Knysna
Footprints of Knysna
#21 of 108 in Knysna
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 23 in Sedgefield
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
52 on Main
52 on Main
#52 of 108 in Knysna
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inyathi Guest Lodge
Inyathi Guest Lodge
#31 of 108 in Knysna
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Backpackers

Address: 42 Queen Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: £25 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Knysna Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing