We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night. Check in staff were ok, polite but not overly so. We stayed in an ensuite room but noticed that the other rooms were part of 2 bedroom apartments with kitchen etc, the rooms are planned in a way that they can accommodate couples or families. As it was the Easter weekend there were many kids around so the noise and cooking smells permeated through the walls. The room was nicely decorated in warm tones and the free biscuits was a nice touch. I spotted a cockroach on the wall and phoned reception to send insect repellent. This took a while and I did not take my eyes off the cockroach. I have this thing about cockroaches so was kind of distressed. Generally the room was spotless so I don't think it reflects the cleanliness of the room. These things do happen. Breakfast was adequate and nothing to rave about. The views are stunning and if I am in the area again I will probably stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a lagoon facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Safiya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

We were very impressed with the menu.A nice mix of different dishes.Well priced pasta,fish,chicken and meat.Soup,salads and sushi for starters.The view from the retaurant over the golf course and Knysna Heads is spectacular and the service really good and friendly.
Hotel suites fabulous.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The view from the hotel and rooms is breathtaking - in the foreground you have the brilliantly green golf course, and in the distance you look out over the lagoon and ocean.

We had a "lagoon facing suite" which was absolutely huge, with wrap round balcony and a braai to boot!

The only disappointment of the stay was the restaurant did a fairly limited buffet for dinner after we had been told it would be a la carte. The receptionist booked us in at JJ's down in town for the following night though which more than made up for it and is an absolute must if you stay at the hotel. The food there was amazing, the menu is one where you could literally choose 10 starters and 10 mains ..... not a good idea though as the portion sizes are gigantic!

Excellent value for a 5 star hotel with the size and quality of room we had.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Si_Bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

i booked this hotel only 6 weeks before xmas and got a special deal with hrs.de. it was outstanding. our apartment consisted of 2 bedrooms both ensuite and a big living room open plan with kitchen. verandah to look onto lagoon and golfcourse. breakfast like every other hotel - good. the only downfall was that the bar was closed at around 10.30h , bit dead , when we came back from the knysna waterfront and needed a digestiv. meal there(in knysna) was terrible!

Room Tip: think it is depending on price. front towards lagoon would be more expensive , but the sideview is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welltravelledHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Having been ill-treated by an accommodation provider in Plettenberg Bay, we received a recommendation by someone in Knysna for the Simola Hotel. Without any prior booking, we (my husband and I as well as my parents) were given a ground-floor suite. It consisted of a very large double bedroom with huge en-suite bathroom, which was attached to an open plan fully fitted kitchen, dining room and lounge with fireplace. The lounge and both bedrooms had fitted flat screen televisions. There was also a dvd player in the cabinet. The living area led onto another adjoining double bedroom with its own en-suite bathroom. The main bedroom had large glass doors which opened onto the patio (with braai place) and garden, overlooking the Knysna lagoon. We had reserved parking in bay right outside our suite.
Breakfast (well-stocked buffet) was included with the suite, but could also be served in our suite at an additional cost if we didn't want to enjoy it in the restaurant. Only downside is that it was served quite early (7-10am) but is understandable as it caters for the golfing community.
Our entire stay was relaxed and pleasant. The hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, has its own golf course and pro shop (and hires out golf clubs), as well as spa, hair salon and sauna, so was the ultimate place to spoil ourselves! There are also helicopter tours for the more adventurous...
The hotel is located on top of a mountain/hill which is a stone's throw from the Knysna waterfront and lagoon, as well as ATMs, shopping centres, restaurants, bars etc.
Free wireless internet is available in the rooms. Service was mostly very professional and deserving of a 5-star status. There were a few minor points which were negative, but these were the fault of other guests, not the hotel staff. I would definitely return, as this place immediately erased the negative experience we'd had at a place in Plettenberg Bay that day, just prior to our stay at Simola. Thanks to all the staff for an amazing time back in South Africa, and for treating my parents so well. I will definitely be bringing them back here.

Room Tip: Ground floor suites have a garden, patio and braai place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

From the moment you do the reservation until you depart after your stay, you feel that special treatment.The hotel is located in the most picturesque part of the garden route with the most spectacular views. All the facilities are of a very high standard. Simola caters for all your needs, especially for a good rest in a very quite environment.The staff treated us very well and the involvement of management is outstanding.The golf course is well maintained and we love watching the golfers from our room.The SPA treatments were of a high standard and the rest of the facilities are well looked after. The dinner menue needs attention, especially to cater for kids and to offer a bigger variety at a cheaper price. We have stayed at Simola a few times and rate it as our best choice in the Garden route. Well done Simola !!!

Room Tip: * To enjoy a good rest, stay in one of the rooms furthest away from the main building. * make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeinPortElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

An awesome Hotel experience as well as a Golfing revelation on one of the most well kept and picturesque courses in SA.

We experienced a well trained staff , very well appointed rooms and excellent dining. The views of the "Heads" from from the club house balcony ---- inspiring!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
862 reviews
2.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
104 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#15 of 30 in Knysna
43 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#3 of 30 in Knysna
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa

Address: 1 Old Cape Road | Simola, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#10 Family Hotel in Knysna
#16 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £172 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simola Hotel And Spa
Simola Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing