We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Simola, for hosting the Best Event at the Knysna Oyster Festival”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thank you Simola, for hosting the Best Event at the Knysna Oyster Festival”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I had the privilege to attend the Glenfiddich Whisky and Food pairing event at Simola, during the Oyster Festival; it was truly spectacular. You could not have asked for a lovelier venue ,and the wonderful ambiance were further enhanced by a delicious menu, boasting poached Norwegian salmon with pear ,a lovely fillet steak and the most delicious banoffee pie for dessert . Everything was prepared and presented with excellence; and to make the evening even more spectacular was the great host Tami ,which enlightened the audience about Glenfiddich whiskey . This evening was perfect ,well done Simola, for a fabulous event !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glendyrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you so much for the glowing review of our Glenfiddich Food Paring Evening.
We have had such positive feed back, that we are already planning another.
We hope you will attend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    62
    23
    18
    9
See reviews for
58
103
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

The suite was fabulous with everything one would need, with views over the golf course and Knysna that are spectacular! Staff helpful and friendly.Comfortable beds,fully equiped kitchen,BBQ facility on the veranda...golf course looks spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of Simola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is 1 beautiful place... The spa, the views and the hotel are exceptional. As a guest you are spoilt as the golf course is 1st class and from every angle you have a view of the beutiful knysna scenery.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shainy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazarron, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This was our first trip to South Africa, which included a 5 night stay at Simola. The standard of accommodation was very high, with a modern, contemporary theme. We found the staff to be friendly and appeared to be well trained and attentive to our needs. The food was excellent and was cooked and presented to an extremely high standard, without a hefty price tag. The hotel do either an a la carte option, or a buffet, and there is a teppanyaki area as well. The views from the hotel are to die for, especially as it overlooks the valley and also Knysna Heads. There is an outside infinity pool, however as the weather was quite cool during our visit, the spa pool is nice and warm, and also has views out to Knysna. It is easily accessible from Knysna quay area and is only a short drive away, about 5km. We had a car, so I don't know how much a taxi costs. The golf course looked immaculate, and is designed by Jack Nicklaus. Though we didn't play, it looked fabulous and was laid out over 2 valley areas. Most of the golfers used the buggies available. We Felt very secure and I would definitely stay here again. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is wanting a luxury experience on the Garden Route.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room near to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvvinlife2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Many thanks for your glowing review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your first visit to our beautiful country, as well as your stay with us here at Simola Hotel & Spa. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Simola has the most amazing views in Knysna. The accommodation is clean and spacious, and we enjoyed the fire place over a couple of cool days. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and the warm service is wonderful. The golf course is in outstanding condition and views from every hole. A lovely destination.

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious, with open plan lounge, dining room and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay and are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

A bit out of town but the view worth the drive. Reception staff not five star calibre but spa staff are....lovely professional spa! Hotel Reservation emails are not answered on weekends. No golf cart to transport guests down to room, it was apparently broken....then miraculously appeared later on. Our parking space was taken later at night upon return, not expected for this rate. Golf course lawn mowing & caddies very noisy on a Sunday morning. Room lovely but carpet badly stained. No pen provided to fill in review form.
Breakfast as disaster...we ordered room service as we assumed breakfast was included with a R25 tray charge....wrong, we were hit with a huge breakfast bill upon delivery which was a surprise as I did check with reception that breakfast was included if ordered for room service. Breakfast arrived without juice, butter & honey - all of which were included on the menu. Health breakfast came with fruit yogurt not plain as stated on menu. Toast was covered in cling wrap not in a basket, so was soggy. Waitress was clueless as she told us that the kitchen didn't have butter. I called the f&b manager who was arrogant & unhelpful. He came to our room with some butter & an attitude; although he did take care of the b/fast bill - perhaps if he wore a tie & a smile guests would feel more valued....not management material. Seems they're focused on golf & weddings not hotel guests....pity.

Room Tip: In room breakfast not included
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
We thank you for taking the time to hand in the guest comment form you completed on departure from the hotel and would like to respond to each of the points you have raised in your TripAdvisor comments as well.

Your email enquiry with regards to a reservation was sent through on, 21 March 2013 at 12h24 and the enquiry was responded to within 24 hrs at 12h18 on 22 March 2013. By this time you had already phoned through and made your reservation.

The golf cart was broken; it had no brakes and was in for repairs at our maintenance department. The cart was returned later in the day after repairs had been completed so we apologise that it was not available for you on check-in.
Whilst we do advise our guests which parking facilities are available for which rooms, unfortunately we cannot police our guests and have to rely on them parking in their designated spaces.

I can only apologise for the noise disturbance on Sunday morning. I’m sure you can understand that part of the expectation our golfers have when playing a 5* golf course is that the fairways and greens are kept immaculate and the only time we can mow them is first thing in the morning before the course opens. The issue of noisy caddies has been addressed with the Golf Director who sends his apologies and has advised that he will address it with them.

We have addressed the carpet situation with our Housekeeper who will be inspecting each room in the coming days and arranging cleaning for those that require it as soon as possible. Thanks you for bringing this to our attention.

I have spoken to our Food & Beverage manager with regards to the incident regarding the Room Service breakfast on Sunday morning. Whilst you were admittedly misinformed by the reception staff member with regards to the charge thereof, it does clearly state in the in-room directory that Room Service breakfast is an additional charge. When this was raised with the manager, he took it very seriously and undertook to resolve the problem by not charging you for said breakfast as he wanted to rectify the situation with minimum hassle and inconvenience to yourselves.
We appreciate your comments with regards to the standard of the Room Service breakfast delivered to you and the F&B manager has addressed it with the relevant staff so that it does not happen again.

We sincerely apologise for your experience and hope that it will not deter you from returning to our beautiful hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Take your Camara there's so much to see, it's breath taking views and spectacular holes, the half way house is the best we've ever seen, think its the best golf course we've ever played, hope to return soon, make sure after your round you sit at the half way house and take it all in. A very special place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zinny57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are fortunate to have one of the best views in the Garden Route and it is our pleasure to share it with our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Simola Hotel & Spa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
2.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.0 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
2.0 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
5.3 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#16 of 30 in Knysna
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa

Property: Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
Address: 1 Old Cape Road | Simola, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#12 Family Hotel in Knysna
#16 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simola Hotel And Spa
Simola Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing