We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a way from town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my friends,nice location with hilly golf course,beautiful views,quit so it is not a in town hotel,we stayed in luxury suits beautifully furnished,all to high standards. suitable for golfers and area tourist,good swimming pool and spa.

Room Tip: ask for golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abdullah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewb12311, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positve comments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.
We are situated seven k's from the centre of Knysna and this means the you are able to enjoy the serene quiet of the local forests.
The journey from town usual takes only 10 minites however during the recent Jaguar/Simola Hill climb some of the speedsters for reducing this to a matter of seconds. A must do for next years calendar!
With best regards
Andrew Bonham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with a family of 4 (kids 6 and 2) for 5 nights. The place is really beautiful and has amazing scenery. The rooms are lovely and spacious although the service could improve and also not the best place for kids. The outside pool which has the most amazing view is freezing and the heated pool is part of the spa so no kids are allowed (understandably). The location is also quite far from Knysna town (10 mins). This place is ideal if you are on a golfing or romantic trip, would not recommend it for families.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank sublime123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewb12311, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
I have noted your comments regarding Children facilities and advise you that we are currently looking at constructing a new childrens centre adjacent to the Hotel which should be completed in time for the Christmas Season.
We have in the past advised parents with children to avail themselves of the wonderful trail walks in and around the Hotel which can either be on foot or by mountain bike which we provide free of charge. Alternatively you are able to make Simola your luxury base and explore the wonderful surrounds of Knysna, a short distance away.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Simola in the not too distant future.
With Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Simola fully furnished luxury apartments/villas, when we visited as two families over 4 days. The apartments are on top of a hill, there are 10 of them, and the one we were in (#8) faced a valley and the Knysna river. Views are superb.

The Simola website shows a video of the villas - basically a ground level parking with an electronic door, opening into a lower level luxurious living cum dining area, and an open kitchen. The kitchen has all required gadgets and utensils. There is also a gas fired fireplace. One side is a huge balcony that looks down into a grassy knoll which is part of the property and that overlooks the valley and river. Then one level higher is the master bedroom, with a huge, huge bathroom (tub, shower, WC etc). The master bedroom is huge as well, with a sofa on one corner, and opens into a balcony which is just above the one in the living room so the view is the same. This balcony is also accessible from the bathroom. Sleep quality was top notch.

One more floor up, are two smaller bedrooms and a common bathroom. Most of the villa is carpeted, barring the living and dining area which has wooden flooring. The bathrooms, and the master bedroom have heating (the latter being under floor heating!). Food options are either self catering, or going to the hotel's restaurant, which is a 5 minutes drive away.

The cleaning of the apartment (bathrooms, sheets changing, tea/coffee/sugar replacements) only happens upon request and an additional minor charge. We found the price to be huge value for money, though it could be that we went in off season (winter had started).

We, especially the kids, had a fanstastic time. Just one problem with the garage automatic door, but that was fixed as soon as we called. We did not use any other amenities, but only travelled to various tourist spots along the garden route using Simola as the base, which was very convenient.

Recommend this to anyone wanting to spend a few days on the garden route.

Room Tip: Ask for any out of villas 6-10, which all have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSDSVSMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewb12311, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time and effort to offer your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Top Ten Golf Lodges here on the Simola Estate. It is indeed pleasing that you enjoyed your stay and we would be delighted to see you and your family return in the not too distant future.
With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here Easter weekend 2014. Love the venue but, like a previous reviewer suggested, not sure all well on the inside here and would suggest that lies with management.Breakfast service slow and you almost have to go find the staff to get service and food is average. Watching out for the rationing of toast - 1 piece per person unless you ask for more. Don't know for other meals and the restaurant as I didn't eat there. The hotel shuttle to town is fairly priced and the guys that do this, George and James are stars. Golf is excellent, great course and facilities but an open driving range would be an advantage.

Hotel room was a time share suite. Very nicely designed with magnificent view and looked well organised. Had a bad smell of drains when I was there during one of the nights but that may be a temporary thing.

Potentially could be a top hotel, and was previously I understand, but now appears average given the lack of attention to detail and service level.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewb12311, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your comments and I apologise if we did not live up to your expectations during breakfast. It is a pity that you did not try our restaurant during your stay as we have recently been awarded Best Resort Restaurant on the Garden Route and I am sure that you would have enjoyed our cuisine.
This Easter Weekend we introduced several festive events to enable our guests and their children to celebrate this time of the year, ending on Sunday with a children's egg hunt which proved to be very popular
I am delighted that George and James were able to assist you and that you enjoyed our award winning Golf course. The driving range was closed for a short period of time due to rain and it is currently fully operational.
We will continue to strive to meet our guests needs and constantly review our standards and thank you for your comments which will assist us in the future.
With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had a function for 45 people at Simola on 9 April 2014. it was the worst night of my life! Tracey, who is the co-ordinator is completely un-teachable. When we got to the venue, we had to move the tables like we explained to her the week before. The chef also told us that she asked him to prepare food for 40 people instead of 50 people, as we asked. The sound system didn't work at all, which was a complete disaster, as 80% of our presentations needed sound. Minky, Valerie, Bernie and the chef really tried their best and went out of their way to help (even the chef tried to make a plan with the sound system!). To crown it all, we were TOTALLY ignored by Tracey the next morning at breakfast and when we booked out! Valerie at least had the decency to come and say good morning and apologize again for the disaster. the view might be gorgeous and everything might look good from the outside, but I didn't get the impression that all is so well on the inside.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zeldaphaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simola_Hotel, Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for your review, as each is taken, good or bad, as an opportunity to make improvements where necessary and expand upon our customer experience and satisfaction.

Unfortunately, we discovered that a wire had been eroded in the sound system, which affected the PC to Audio facility in the conference venue. This was beyond our control, and was immediately repaired upon detection.

Having investigated with the Kitchen and function coordinator, I believe the specifications for numbers to be catered for was a somewhat changing quantum by yourselves, and the final count given, by you, on the 2nd April was "no more than 40 will arrive". Having said this, I understand that the kitchen catered to your needs impeccably.

Our function manager has many years experience in both commercial enterprises and Diplomatic Core, and I have found her work to be of the highest standard, I do apologize that you do not concur. Of the many weddings and conferences that we have hosted, (most of over 120 people), this is the first dissatisfied review received. Tracy spent the morning of your departure diligently investigating the sound system, and unfortunately did not get to speak to you prior to your departure. This was by no means a deliberate avoidance.

We thank you for your input, and duly note the issues raised.

Regards
Michelle Hammond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The accommodation was in time-share type apartments which were fabulous. I could have spent far longer here than the 4 days we had. The hotel is situated at the top of a hill and the views are
fabulous. Breakfast is quite good and we had excellent dinners on 2 nights of our stay. The staff are lovely, especially the dining room staff.
I would love to return some day- we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Any if the apartments would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VPaterson355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simola_Hotel, Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a glowing review your recent stay at Simola Hotel & Spa.

We appreciate all feed back recieved, as this enables us to continue to strive for excellence in the tourism industry.

We trust you will make another visit to us in the future.

Many thanks
Kind regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We just spent 7 wonderful days at the Simola Golf Hotel at Knysna. The suites are spaceous, well maintained and offer a georgeous view. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The Golf Course is interesting but quite demanding. It is all rather expensive but worth the money.
We had no reservations, just walked in, saw the rooms and facilities and decided to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wally-fighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simola_Hotel, Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Simola Hotel & Spa. And for choosing to spend you 50th birthday with us. I am very glad you enjoyed the champagne breakfast, and hope that you will celebrate naother birthday with us in the foreseeable future.

We do strive to excel, and value all reviews to this end.

Many thanks again,
Kind regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
869 reviews
2.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#17 of 30 in Knysna
47 reviews
2.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
17.4 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa

Address: 1 Old Cape Road | Simola, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#10 Family Hotel in Knysna
#12 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £170 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simola Hotel And Spa
Simola Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing