We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$626
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falcons View Manor(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackwaters River Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
164
77
28
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
77
28
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseorchid roomclubhouse barsales conferencebedroom suitepro shopexcellent golfknysna headsindoor poolplaying golfgas braaibreakfast was includedthe general managerrestaurant staffamazing viewshotel guestsround of golf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Attracted by their "Special Rates" advertisement on their website, we booked this accommodation almost 6 months in advance. My wife and I flew down from Johannesburg specifically to receive 5 star treatment, ride a MTB race and spend romantic time together in what I expected to be a beautiful setting.

We arrived to be welcomed into a room overlooking the parking lot. None of the photos on their website, nor any communication prior to our arrival prepared us for the two single beds, shower only tiny room. There was not even a bar fridge to keep anything cool.

After complaining to staff we were shown to a suite that boasted a spacious bedroom with en-suite bathroom / shower / separate toilet (all being larger than the room we had been in), as well as including a generous living area with fireplace, large balcony, private braai area, it's own kitchen (including 3 fridges / freezers) and dining area. I was told by the manager showing us the upgrade that it would be an extra R1000 (30% more than I'd already paid). I readily agreed, but when preparing to pay, was corrected that the charge was R1000 PER NIGHT!

After escalating through the ranks for THREE HOURS (including being told the manager who could make the decision had already left), we finally spoke to Bregitta, the general manager (who had obviously not left) and settled on a rate that was almost double what I'd already paid.

Facilities are basic.
Room Service was poor quality.
Breakfast nothing spectacular.
Internet is basically non-existent.

The suites advertised all over their website are really beautiful, but I would not recommend anyone fork out the R2000 (around $200 USD) per night for this experience.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment at Meriton Serviced Apartments in Zetland, Sydney, Australia just 3 weeks ago for approximately R1100 per night (A$110), so understandably expected something slightly more special than dingy accommodation with poor facilities. Being told this is usually the room they rent out to children or Chinese tourists did nothing to alleviate our disappointment.

This would have been a truly abysmal experience unless I'd coughed up the "upgrade" money. Since I'd already come so far and no advance warning, I had precious few alternatives.

Room Tip: Bring plenty of extra money.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Joshua F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewb12311, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

On arrival you were not satisfied with the size of the room that you had booked on a special package.
You were offered an upgrade to a larger suite but were not prepared to pay for the upgrade.
You were abusive to our staff and threatened to make our life a misery during the course of your stay.
As a result management offered to make alternative accommodation arrangements for you.
You eventually agreed to pay for the upgrade and decided to stay.
Our rates are in line with our five star rating and are comparable to other Hotels of similar standing.
Whilst we make every effort to to go the extra mile for our clients we were not able to satisfy you in this instance and wish you every success in your new country of residence.
Regards
Andrew Bonham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Knysna, amazing scenic coastal town on the garden route with beaches, forests, and mountain ranges boasts one of the most beautiful 5 star golf resorts anywhere in the world.
The views from high up from most tees are unbeatable on this Jack Nicklaus designed course even though an ability to get out of the hundred of bunkers is essential!
The restaurant is also 5 star with regards food and friendly service. The spa and gym facilities are excellent and well worth a visit.
The winter specials are excellent value. Try for a luxury suite with the most unforgettable views from every room.

Room Tip: The extra expense to book a luxury room is well worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAEL F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewb12311, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your positive response regarding our Hotel and Golf course we are very proud of our Estate and make every effort to ensure that our guests are offered a truely memorable experience whilst staying with us.
We are currently looking forward to the Oyster Festival in Knysna and welcoming the incoming participants and their families. It really will be lots of fun for all.
Book early for next year to avoid disappointment!
Best Regards
Andrew Bonham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I spent two nights with a group of 16 tourists. Beautiful setting. Rooms are spacious. The 4 kids with the group found it boring. There was nothing much for them to do. Repairs in the bathrooms not attended to and management should look at this. Breakfast was great and excellent view of Knysna Heads from the restaurant. Overall the service needs improvement. The reception staff was friendly and very efficient.

Room Tip: Families are not guaranteed adjoining rooms and this should be booked well in advance.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AladdinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewb12311, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for the review of our Hotel during your recent trip to Knysna.
I believe that you spoke to our Front Office Manager prior to your departure and the maintenance issues in your bathroom were rectified immediately.
With regards to the children activities apart from the onsite Golf course there are fantastic walks, biking trails in and around the property and in close proximity there are some really amazing activites offered within the area which may be booked and discussed with our receptionists.
Thanks again for bringing us your tour and we look forward to seeing you in the near future
Regards
Andrew Bonham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my friends,nice location with hilly golf course,beautiful views,quit so it is not a in town hotel,we stayed in luxury suits beautifully furnished,all to high standards. suitable for golfers and area tourist,good swimming pool and spa.

Room Tip: ask for golf course view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abdullah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewb12311, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positve comments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.
We are situated seven k's from the centre of Knysna and this means the you are able to enjoy the serene quiet of the local forests.
The journey from town usual takes only 10 minites however during the recent Jaguar/Simola Hill climb some of the speedsters for reducing this to a matter of seconds. A must do for next years calendar!
With best regards
Andrew Bonham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with a family of 4 (kids 6 and 2) for 5 nights. The place is really beautiful and has amazing scenery. The rooms are lovely and spacious although the service could improve and also not the best place for kids. The outside pool which has the most amazing view is freezing and the heated pool is part of the spa so no kids are allowed (understandably). The location is also quite far from Knysna town (10 mins). This place is ideal if you are on a golfing or romantic trip, would not recommend it for families.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank sublime123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewb12311, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
I have noted your comments regarding Children facilities and advise you that we are currently looking at constructing a new childrens centre adjacent to the Hotel which should be completed in time for the Christmas Season.
We have in the past advised parents with children to avail themselves of the wonderful trail walks in and around the Hotel which can either be on foot or by mountain bike which we provide free of charge. Alternatively you are able to make Simola your luxury base and explore the wonderful surrounds of Knysna, a short distance away.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Simola in the not too distant future.
With Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews