We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Excellent, worth it for the view & food alone !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent, worth it for the view & food alone !”
Reviewed 22 February 2009

Stayed here unfortunately for just 1 night as part of our Garden Route tour, and would definitely say one of the better hotels in the world !

I used to travel extensively for work, and have stayed in some nice places, and this is right up there with the best

Staff were exceptional, very friendly, made you feel special and would do everything possible to ensure things were the best possible for you. This is right from Checkin, to concierge, restaurant and the bar !

Upon being shown to our room (Which was a standard one - we paid 1100ZAR incl. breakfast, so not too expensive) it is not the largest by any means, but comfortable, and very modern and well equipped.

As mentioned on another review, the walls did not appear to be the thickest, we heard a couple of things from our neighbours, but this didn't cause any issues

Would thoroughly recommend eating in the restaurant - the orchid room. Was one of the best meals of the holiday, presentation is excellent and it tastes great too ! They kept advising us to book, which we didn't - and later when returning it became obvious why as it does get busy not just from hotel guests but other locals wanting a nice meal. If you book you can get a nice view of the Knysna lagoon and sea, otherwise you may end up in the middle

Breakfast was included for us, and this again was excellent, buffet service and had just about everything possible

We didnt play golf, had we had more time we would have, but the course looked lovely in very good condition and speaking to some fellow brits who had just come off the course it appeared to be a challenging and enjoyable course.

Would definitely love to return again, really nothing to complain about !

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    57
    23
    18
    9
See reviews for
55
96
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

Stayed for two nights, and found the resort most enjoyable and relaxing.
Apartment was great, all amenities we ever required, and a few more, including our personal BBQ. Only criticism was that even with sound system on 'medium' our neighbours were disturbed - perhaps soundproofing needs improved.
Staff, facilites, and food were all excellent. Service levels impressive, and allbeit we had to pay Rack rate, (no apparent flexibility) would definately consider going back.

  • Liked — The quality of the appartment, the service and the value for money
  • Disliked — Room not available at 4.00 pm! No apparent discounts.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

Simola has a great reputation as one of the premier (that means expensive too) resorts in South Africa and it's location, near Knysna, is ideal. First impressions were pretty good but then they showed us to our "five star" room. Our cats have a bigger space at home, each!! Quick phone call to reception and they relocated us to a suite at an extra quoted cost of 450 Rand/night (but see later!). The new suite was faultless and truly massive, including an outdoor braii area! Talk about from the sublime to the ridiculous.

The general facilities are superb and the staff friendly but it's a tippy tippy culture, even to the extent of hanging around early mornings with a buggy to save you the walk to reception. You are not even ALLOWED to carry your own golf clubs 50 yards. Everyone is after a tip. OK with me for exceptional service and I tip really well but it gets tiring here!

Booked golf for the following morning. Impressive course in good order but the tippy culture persists, caddy master, lackey bringing your clubs down etc etc. We were warned that play was slow and to expect 5 hour plus rounds. What they didn't tell you though that there are outrageously rude members here who resent visitors. At the 8th hole, after waiting patiently for the 4 ball in front to finish (waiting on every shot was the norm) , we finished the hole quickly but were bombarded by tee shots from behind as we left the green!! After remonstrating we were showered with abuse from the 4 ball behind who were apparently members. Left the course to complain to the pro staff (no marshalls of course!). Complaint was taken seriously but they didn't have the courtesy to follow up with a report so we never played again! The golf shop promised us a refund (but see later!) A complete waste of a VERY expensive 3 day sojurn here on our holiday, which included SAA flights to George, an expensive flight indeed as operators to there are limited. Car hire too and 3 days accomodation with upgrades, all to play golf.

When it came to check out, the bill showed the upgraded rooms at 720 Rand instead of the quoted 450 and the golf charges had not been removed, as promised. We were asked if we had enjoyed our stay......and the sorry golf tale was related.. A Manager was called and she revised the invoice. Of course whe was horrified to hear of the traumatic incident and assured us that we would be contacted about it in due course. She checked my mobile number and email address, assuring me that she would contact me.....that was 2 weeks ago and nothing more has been heard.

Do you think we will return? Not a hope!

  • Liked — Upgraded (at cost) room was good
  • Disliked — Distance to main hotel (drive or long walk)
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hifiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

We had a 2 night stay in one of the suites here during a recent golf trip. The Suites are amazing, fully fitted timeshare units, with stunning views over the golf course and the surrounding area, as it is set high above Knysna. The rooms have fully fitted kitchens, superb bathrooms and a wonderful patio with a Barbecue (Braii). However the golf course, although Jack Nicklaus designed was extremely ordinary.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#16 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
2.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
6.0 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa

Property: Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
Address: 1 Old Cape Road | Simola, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#12 Family Hotel in Knysna
#16 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simola Hotel And Spa
Simola Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing