We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice guesthouse also speak Russian”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knysna Country House
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
venice
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice guesthouse also speak Russian”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here one night on 7th April in self catering apartment ,it had everything you could ask for evan washing machine.The pool was very large with plenty sun loungers.Breakfast was very good in nice dinning room.Ypie speaks Russian so it would be very helpful for ant Russian going there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    89
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
60
206
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights in Dec 2011.
The swimming pool and the breakfasts very nice.

We booked the self catering apartment, and were dissapointed. We were asked to keep the windows open all the time as the apartment had damp, the carpet was stained throughout. everything was very dated. we stayed in South Africa for three weeks, the Knysna country lodge was one of the most expensive places we stayed at, and the pool, the rooms look amazing, for us it was a shame that the apartment let it all down. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The stars of the show here are Eric and Ypie who run the guesthouse, they are professional and very friendly going out of their way to help you. Two of our party forgot their passports in the room safe and only remembered once we were half way back to Cape town! Erik quickly arranged for them to be couried to our next port of call in the winelands. They also let us use the BBQ and kitchen, providing the charcoal, condiments and plates etc all for R100.

This is a very pleasant place to stay, lovely pool and garden area, nice balconies to the rooms we stayed in and pretty decent views of Knysna. We stayed in the luxury rooms which were perfectly adequate with everything you would expect from a 4 star guesthouse. Breakfast was good with a reasonable range of options and could be enjoyed sitting on the terrace. The restaurant recommendation, Mo's on Rex was great and we had a couple of very enjoyable dinners there.

OK the guesthouse is not in the centre of Knysna, but it doesn'nt say it is and as you do tend to drive everywhere in SA we did'nt feel it was a problem.

We would definetly recommend and would go back oursleves if we ever go to Knysna again.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTMKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Thanks to Ypie and Eric for a wonderful stay in December and fantastic advice on our exploration of the Garden Route - the Sweaty Dutchman rules!
A great place - clean, comfortable, and quiet, and a great breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

It is hard to think of anything to criticize about this place. The properly is beautiful and very well kept, the rooms are lovely and Ypie and Eric were incredibly accommodating in ways that were unexpected (eg. preparing us a take away breakfast the day we left at 6:30 AM), and very appreciated. We would recommend it without hesitation to anyone. We were there 3 nights and everything was really ideal.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are a little more expensive but each come with a private balcony and pretty luxurio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhoff33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We arrived 8 p.m. in February 2012. We was happy to get the last room. The room was ok for one night. Not very much space, but very friendly service, good breakfast and a very nice terrace.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjpflaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouen, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

After a long rive from Cape Town, we were warmly welcome in this very confortable and well decorated guest house. On our request a braai was set in front of our veranda in a lush garden and enought salads and vegs to feed an army prepared by Ypie was the perfect side dish to our boereworst.
Real pity we only stayed 1 night! :-)

Room Tip: Go for the braai!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
8.7 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
3.0 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#25 of 30 in Knysna
30 reviews
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.8 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#16 of 30 in Knysna
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Country House

Property: Knysna Country House
Address: 30 Fraser Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knysna Country House, situated in the wooded suburb of Hunters Home, is only minutes away from the Knysna and Pezula Golf Courses in Knysna, on the scenic Garden Route alongthe Indian Ocean coastline of South Africa. The spacious and sunny balcony overlooking the large swimming pool is the ideal place to enjoy the rich bird life and views over the Knysna Lagoon, town and distant mountains. Only 9 rooms, knowleagable, multi-lingual hosts and friendly and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Knysna Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing