We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knysna Country House
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Loved staying here”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Synopsis (Overall + Value)
Fantastic and big rooms, lovely owners, decent breakfast, decent price, car parking and some peace and quiet. Would DEFINITELY stay here again - our best B&B along the Garden Route.

Location
5-10minutes drive from Knysna central. We were initially sceptical as we like to stay close to where the action is, but this peaceful location was very much what we needed. The property itself is fantastic, there is free, secure parking, and the rooms are lovely and well designed.

Hotel Room
Awesome room. Huge, with gas heaters, and great furnishings including sofa and chairs. The room we had was the one with a double bathroom which was done to a very high standard. As well as a double shower, toilet and bidet, and extra large bath tub we also had two sinks. The room had a VERY cosy feel to it and it felt more like a bedroom than a hotel room.

Bed
Comfortable and big. Good night's rest.

Staff
Eric and his wife are very friendly and went out of their way to help us plan our stay in Knysna (much recommended) which was much appreciated. When we needed extra gas in our heaters, they sorted it for us, when we needed our laundry done they arranged for it, when we forgot our power adaptors (UK to SA) they tried to dig some out for us and when we needed hiking ideas they advised us. When looking for halal food, they knew where to find it. Very warm and welcoming, highly recommended. Their dogs are cute too, they don't bite!

Internet/Wifi
Excellent signal reaching all rooms with fast speeds.

Housekeeping
As and when we wanted, no complaints.

Breakfast
Buffet with the usual stuff - eggs, toast, beans, cereals, fruit, juices, teas etc. Yummy.

Other
We spent 3 nights here and managed to get a lot of outdoor activities done. We had dinner almost every night in the waterfront area which is about 10minutes drive (we had rented a 4x4).

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Narmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    89
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
60
206
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lier, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights with a family of 4 persons. It was already 7pm (dark) when we arrived. The welcome from Ypie was warm. Then she presented our room. For us, this was a disaster to experience. The refrigerator was off because everything in it was frozen. The ice was melting and inside there was rust. The carpet looked dirty and the bathroom furniture was broken. In first instance we thought it is only for 2 nights and left for dinner. Reluctantly we came back and discovered that there was hair in the bath and the trash was not emptied. In the children room the electrical wires of the night lamp went under the pillows to the socket on the other side of the bed. At that moment my conclusion was to leave the place and find something else but it was already after 10pm. Finally I met Eric. He was friendly and understanding and offered us as alternative 2 separate rooms without all previous disadvantages. Next morning the breakfast was very OK and everybody was happy. We started our trip of the day and had a car breakdown, not far from the lodge. We called the company as well as Eric. Eric was very helpful and came to us to pick us up. When arriving at the lodge we saw our towels lying outside on a picnic table (no free of bird sh...) with the intention to dry in the sun. Eric told us that afterwards the towels will be placed back and that it was normal because he has no problem with using the towel from his wife and so they could save on the laundry. My daughter was not pleased to know the change exist she gets my towel. For us, the maximum level of incompetence was reached and we were happy we could leave next morning.

Room Tip: Ask the owner in advance to get a the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Willie,

Thank you for taking the effort to write a review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests, but do however need to rectify a few things. We, our staff, always clean every room every day during people’s stay (except our self-catering unit, which gets serviced twice a week) and obviously when guests leave, a full cleaning is done including replacing the linen, towels etc. in all our rooms.

By the time that you decided that you did not want to stay in the family unit, it was 11h30 pm and we upgraded you to two separate rooms which we were made to believe were more to your satisfaction. The next morning, when Ypie and I inspected the family unit, we could not find any hair in the bath (but maybe you took it out?), or any broken bathroom furniture. And the piece of paper (which you had told us was a sanitary napkin) in the waste bin turned out be a wrap from our recently unwrapped toilet paper. Our apologies.
We indeed have a socket on the wall under the bed that feeds both bedside lamps. We do not know what is wrong with that.
We do apologise for the fridge. The thermostat was not functioning properly and we were not able to replace it on that day.

Our maid, who has been working at the Knysna Country House for 8 years now, has always dried towels in the sun for ca. ½ hour before putting them back into the bathrooms. She is very well aware of where which towel comes from and therefore where it should go back to. This is the first time we received a complaint regarding this. She furthermore makes sure the outside area is clean before she puts them out and SHOULD a bird leave its mark the towel will obviously be replaced immediately. Furthermore we do replace towels for long(er) stay guests after 3 days, unless we find the towels on the floor. Then they are replaced instantly. I cannot recall saying that it was to save energy and I do not think any hotel uses a tumble drier for that daily drying purpose.

The ‘maximum level of incompetence’…? We have nothing to say to that, we are sure our guests can judge for themselves.

Kind regards,
Erik & Ypie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for just one night, we stumbled across it after wanting to upgrade from the backpackers we had been frequenting down the garden route. It was such a great choice, firstly arriving with no booking we were met with friendly smiles by the husband and shown to a top a lovely room with huge ensuite bathroom. Was peaceful and had a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was amazing, with a full array of continental and hot food choices. Again the wife of the Dutch couple chatted and made us feel truly welcome.
Would definitely come back, as they offer luxury rooms at very reasonable prices, and the friendly intimate atmosphere coupled with owners who truely love what they do.

Room Tip: The luxury room 1 was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arese, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the family room (2 adults + 2 kids). The position is quite apart of the town close to the eastern head of Knysna. The apartment is a bit worn by use. The perception is that the cottage is a better solution instead of apartments. The garden is wide and the place is very quiet. The owner (Eric) is a nice person very kind and open to suggestions.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 685Giorgio1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear Gorgio,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and thank you for your kind words of us being helpful.

You stayed in our self catering unit and not in the family unit. You might find it a bit worn by use, but we would like to know what was worn. The beds, the carpets, the TV, the kitchen utensils and cutlery/crockery are less than 2 years old. And as far as we are aware, everything in the unit is in proper working order.

We assume that you chose the self catering unit, because it is the most affordable option in our guesthouse. We agree that the cottage is a better option, but what guests often tend to forget is, that it all relates to value for money. The family unit and our other rooms are better value, but therefore also more expensive.

We hope this helps you and future guests in their decision making regarding which room to choose.

Kindest regards,
Ypie and Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

- Very friendly and helpful hosts
- Delicous breakfast
- Pleasant rooms
- Lot's of Insider-tips around the place
- Parking lot in front of the house
- Wunderful view over the laguna

--> enjoyable, recreative stay
--> highly recommendable

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lausbub_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijkerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We did a family tour ( 2 adults and 2 boys 12 and 15 years ) through the East part of South Africa in July this year. The accomodation was pre-booked by our travel agency and we were lucky to have a 2 night stay in the Knysna Country House. A friendly staff and excellent accomodation. We had a family room just for the boys and the Gardenhouse for ourselves with a view of the town and bay from our veranda. A stay we definitely recommend to others and we allready decided when we come back to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

If you are stopping over in Knysna then the Knsya Country House is definetly the place! We were a travelling party of 4 (2 adults and 2 children 13 and 15) stayed in the Family room (2 bedrooms) for 3 nights enroute to Addo on the Garden Route. The guesthouse is very well kept and located in a very safe part of town and not too far off from the waterfront. Lots of nice trails in the vicinity (we did the kingfisher trails!) Bedrooms were clean, spacious and well furnished. Pity is was winter so could not take max advantage of the Garden and/or Terrace! No TV in the room although you can use the one in the main house living room. free parking and wi-fi! And to top it all up hosts are wonderful! Check out Mo's restaurant 2mins away!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaybeegee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
8.7 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
3.0 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#25 of 30 in Knysna
30 reviews
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.8 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#16 of 30 in Knysna
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Country House

Property: Knysna Country House
Address: 30 Fraser Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knysna Country House, situated in the wooded suburb of Hunters Home, is only minutes away from the Knysna and Pezula Golf Courses in Knysna, on the scenic Garden Route alongthe Indian Ocean coastline of South Africa. The spacious and sunny balcony overlooking the large swimming pool is the ideal place to enjoy the rich bird life and views over the Knysna Lagoon, town and distant mountains. Only 9 rooms, knowleagable, multi-lingual hosts and friendly and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Knysna Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing