We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts, enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knysna Country House
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts, enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

About 10 minutes from the waterfront- in the country you will find this property that accommodates 25 .We are warmly greeted by Erik who immediately offers suggestions for supper.
We have a small apartment on the lower part of the property that could sleep 5 so if you are a family, this property will work for you. Initially because I am tired after a long drive i am disappointed and find the bed not as firm as I would appreciate but the second night I sleep well and begin to notice notice spectacular bathroom that is spotless and carefully decorated.

I also enjoy having space to spread out my stuff on the extra bed. The pool is great and the breakfast offers cereals, yoghurt, cheeses and fruit along with hot and freshly prepared eggs, etc Yippi and Erik are wonderful hosts.

We do spot larger more attractive single rooms on the upper level but these are usually booked a year ahead so if you are headed towards Knysna, holiday place surrounded by the world's most beautiful beaches,book early for the best selection,

Room Tip: Sometimes an initial impression might be slightly off as mine was. Reflect a bit, talk to the hosts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unhappytraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    90
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
60
206
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruinisse, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Knysna Country House should be updated. Somewhat shabby carpets in public areas and room really need to be replaced. Bathroom lacks comfort and the interior needs renovation, if the lodge were to keep its 4 star status.
We particularly were annoyed by the presence - during breakfast - of an obtrusive little dog, with clear signs of a skin disease.
Despite the nice location we therefore cannot recommend the lodge.
Hopefully the owners will decide for renovation shortly.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with outside view. Some of the rooms only view on a small courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxsita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear Maxsita,

Somehow we expected this review. You made it clear every day that you did not like it here. You were booked by a tour operator and we indeed do not know exactly what your expectations were. By the time you arrived at 20h30 in the evening we had already called the operator to find out if something happened to you, since we were worried and (by far) most of our guests arrive during the day. We actually thought it was funny when you asked for a room on the 1st floor, since we do not have a 1st floor.

The first morning we noticed immediately that you did not like our little dog, so every day when you arrived for breakfast we locked him away. The dog could not have bothered you for more than 1 minute. Pity you do not recognize that in your review. We do agree with you about the now ex-carpets, we did replace them the beginning of March.

As we can see in your valuation, it also affected your score on sleep quality, cleanliness, your perception of our service etc. We always try to make our guests feel at home, but we obviously did not succeed this time.

Kind regards.
Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Erik and Ypie were excellent hosts. There are various types of rooms,all clean and very comfortable.
We did have a minor problem as the room we expected to be in was already occupied. After a nights stay in the Family Unit by the pool,we were offered the Garden Cottage which was excellent with a large balcony overlooking the garden. Most people comment on the choices and quality of the breakfast and we totally agree . . a lovely way to start the day.We also tried the Braii twice & can recommend this as well. Our hosts could not have been more helpful. We had left valuables in the safe at our previous accommodation & both Erik & Kate (the assistant manageress) did all they could to make sure we got them back before we left S.A. Because of their persistance we just made it... Thank you!
Knysna Country House has a lovely,peaceful setting in attractive, well cared for grounds with the bonus of a pool.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avril R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear Avril,

It was a real pleasure having you here with us. We are glad you enjoyed your evening braais and our accommodation in general. And we are happy to hear that it finally got sorted with your valuables.

We hope to see you again, better sooner than later.

Kindest regards,
Ypie and Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We arrived a little before dark, having stopped at Botlierskof (just outside Mossel Bay) for a lion walk in the afternoon (a wonderful experience). The house is just outside the town - though as you are driving there for the first time, it does seem miles! However, it is really only 5-10 minutes in the car from the Waterfront, which is perfect.
We were met by Kate, who showed us our room - complete with lovely complimentary champagne to celebrate our honeymoon. We had a great view down on to the lovely pool area from our private balcony :-) Kate also went to lengths to explain what was about (restaurants etc) and to make sure we had some activities planned - booking one for us (the Featherbed Nature Reserve trip) for the following day. We must thank her for recommending Mo's for dinner too. It was great fun and probably one of our favourite restaurants from our whole trip to South Africa!
The attention to detail was carried on throughout, with an essentials box provided in the room - mosquito repellents (highly appreciated after being eaten alive in Oudtshoorn for the past 2 days), torch, hairdryer, candles. The huge bathroom with double shower was great fun as well.
Breakfast was excellent with the option of eating outdoors or indoors (we stuck to outdoors as the terrace is lovely in the morning). And we also met Erik and Ypie on our first morning, who continued the great customer service that Kate had begun.
Whilst we were there, the carpets were being replaced in large sections of the property, which was managed with a minimal amount of disturbance to the guests - much appreciated.
We wish the family all the best and send our thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeyjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed two nights here and whilst we didn't spend a great deal of time in the house itself we did enjoy the breakfasts on the terrace and the sundowners by the pool in the evening. Beware of the pool though - refreshingly unheated! But then I think this is the norm in SA, so just have to take the plunge. Also the owners gave us some great advice on hiking in the area, they have books and maps too, much appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We spent 8 days being looked after by Erik and Ypie. We made Knysna Country House our base so that we could play the wonderful golf courses in this area. Ypie made all the bookings for us and I can thoroughly recommend this service. Everything was beautifully organised and went like clockwork. The guesthouse is very comfortable and the breakfasts were also excellent. The "girls" look after all the guests very well catering for everybody's likes and dislikes!
There were four of us travelling together and after a hitch on the first night with one large room and one small room this was solved the following morning to our satisfaction. Everyone was extremely helpful and went that extra mile to make our holiday a great success. Would recommend Knysna Country House to anyone going to this area.
One thing I thought that could be improved was removal of the stained carpets!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaMac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear LindaMac,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate it if guests take their time and effort to put down something on digital paper.

We are very glad that we were able to accommodate you since you were staying for a long(er) period. And as for the carpets, we replaced them last week and since we cannot attach pictures to this review we will email them to you.

Kindest regards,
Ypie and Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is a guesthouse not a hotel so don't expect a porter to carry your bags! It is run by a couple who have perfected that knack of knowing just how far to go with familiarity and helpful chat. Their knowledge and information about the surrounding area is fantastic but it isn't forced on anyone not interested and that is priceless. Breakfast was truly excellent with the freshest and highest quality of ingredients. If I have any gripe it is that I'm not mad about dogs and dog owners the world over do seem to assume that everyone will love theirs. Not a place for dog haters but it wouldn't stop me from returning!

Room Tip: Ask about bed size if it's important to you as some are double and some are queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CannytravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#25 of 30 in Knysna
30 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
8.7 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.6 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
3.0 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Country House

Property: Knysna Country House
Address: 30 Fraser Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knysna Country House, situated in the wooded suburb of Hunters Home, is only minutes away from the Knysna and Pezula Golf Courses in Knysna, on the scenic Garden Route alongthe Indian Ocean coastline of South Africa. The spacious and sunny balcony overlooking the large swimming pool is the ideal place to enjoy the rich bird life and views over the Knysna Lagoon, town and distant mountains. Only 9 rooms, knowleagable, multi-lingual hosts and friendly and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Knysna Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing