We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knysna Country House
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here with my fiance for 1 night on the 13th March. The lady who checked us in was lovely and helpful and happy to help with dinner recommendations/reservations. We were given a complimentary upgrade to the luxury room which was a nice surprise. The room was huge and comfortable, with it's own access door, although a little dated. The grounds, pool and views are gorgeous and the guesthouse is a nice distance from town. We would definitely stay again if in Knysna.

Room Tip: I don't really know if it would be worth paying extra for the luxury room not having seen the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClairePrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed for one night to break up the drive from PE to Cape Town. We received a warm welcome from Ypie the manager, and her lovely dogs. She showed us around and kindly made dinner reservations for us for that evening.

We booked a luxury double which was rather bland and a bit dated but was clean and had a nice balcony with side views over the valley. I would have been disappointed if we had booked this room for a longer stay although it was very reasonably priced, so it is probably a personal judgment call as it is In a quiet location, ideal for exploring the area. Additionally, the swimming pool and gardens were lovely. Breakfast was good with various choices available and was served on the terrace overlooking the pool, gardens and valley. I felt the room was a bit cramped for a longer stay but I imagine that some of the other rooms may be nicer and if we returned, I would book a better room.

Do note that there is no air con which seems to be the case in a lot of the properties around the Knysna hills, although not around the lagoon area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhappy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Travelhappy,

Thank you for your review, though it does not help us a lot. We do not know who you are and in what room you stayed. And a pity that your overall score is average, while you scored us very good on 5 out of 6 'subquestions'.

February is the busiest month of our year and we indeed reserve the larger rooms for guests who stay longer than 1 night. I see from your previous reviews that you stayed on Leisure Isle last year. The fact that they have aircon, is because they can afford that with the rates they ask (50% higher than our rates) and they also need it to keep rooms free from (salty) dampness coming from the lagoon and ocean.

Kind regards,
Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We arrived late afternoon and were welcomed by the owners, Ypie and Erik. We were shown into the most fabulous thatched cottage set in the grounds within a very short walk up the steps to the breakfast area and right next to the lovely swimming pool.
The cottage was simply superb as it consisted of a large bedroom with a suitably large bed, separate well-appointed bathroom and shower and a small ante-room for luggage and cupboards. There was also a little kitchen area.
Ypie and Erik ran the hotel very well and the breakfasts were substantial and healthy.
The hotel/B & B is situated in a very quiet area but it is only about 800 meters from the Knysna Golf Club. Erik is on the committee. They have 2 dogs which pleased my wife as she was able to take them for walks whilst we were there.

We were booked to go to Plettenberg Bay from Knysna and had we known how close Knysna is to Plett Bay we would have stayed in Knysna instead of leaving.

Room Tip: I did not see the other rooms but if ours was an example then I would assume they are excellent. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Started off with a friendly, helpful check-in relatively late (early evening). Parking inside a locked courtyard. Lovely communal area to sit and read, have a drink or just relax. Comfy room with WiFi, a great shower, French roast coffee, small fridge stocked with drinks but still enough room to put in a few things of our own.
Perfect breakfast out on the beautiful patio. We don't eat meat but there was a choice of meats for people who do. Good scrambled eggs. Good assortment of tasty cheeses. Granola with extra nuts and raisins. Plain yogurt - my personal favorite - and flavored. Excellent fruit salad and bread. Even the coffee was excellent.
You know the turnoff to Fraser St by the family if guinea fowl who prance around near the corner.
The owners are pleasant and helpful. They arranged our tour at the Featherbed Nature Reserve and gave us a voucher for a discount.
I highly recommend thus lodging to anyone coming to Knysna. Definitely goes on our list of turnip advisor successes.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ranchette7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Ranchette,

Wow, that was quick, only left here yesterday. Thank you so much for this review. We are trying our best to 'accommodate' all our guests and it is heartwarming to see that it is appreciated.

We hope to see you here again some day soon.

Warm regards,
Ypie and Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our stay at Knysna Country house was a short 2 night stop. We got a bit creeped out by the city actually because of the steep rich poor divide in the area and surroundings. There are several slums surrounding this beautiful super opulent bay area which gives rise to a dark underbelly. We chose not to venture out past sun down but inspite of that had a few creepy episodes with the locals.

As far as the accommodation goes we didn't have a very nice welcome. Our keys were left with the housemaid as the owners were not present on arrival. They were a little indifferent at the first meet next morning but fine later.
The rooms were OK. View was good in the cottage we stayed besides the pool. Carpeting was worn out and it was a bit warm in the cottage(no a/c only a side fan). It was overpriced in general.
Breakfast was good with fresh stuff and some decent options.

I would've given a 4/5 if the owners were more involved with their guests(as we found with the other B&Bs we stayed); I dunno maybe coz we are Indians (looking at the positive feedback from the Europeans & Americans).

All in all 3/5.

Natasha & Anmol.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clonemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

A very nice experience for us Eric and Ypie were both very friendly with a good sense of humour, and most helpful when it came to booking restaurants and taxis etc.
If I return to Knysna in the future I would have no problem in staying with Eric and Ypie again

Room Tip: Ask for room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were made welcome by the Dutch owners on arrival.
Our room was a separate thatched cottage in the garden which was large and private with our own large balcony. Disappointed that the sheets did not fit the bed - they were too small.
This was a quiet location about 5/10 minutes drive into the town.
Note that they owners have three dogs.
We had no trouble finding the house as the directions given were spot on.

Room Tip: Whilst we liked our thatched cottage, be aware that there is no Air Conditioning .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.2 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
0.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#25 of 30 in Knysna
32 reviews
2.9 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Country House

Address: 30 Fraser Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: £57 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knysna Country House, situated in the wooded suburb of Hunters Home, is only minutes away from the Knysna and Pezula Golf Courses in Knysna, on the scenic Garden Route alongthe Indian Ocean coastline of South Africa. The spacious and sunny balcony overlooking the large swimming pool is the ideal place to enjoy the rich bird life and views over the Knysna Lagoon, town and distant mountains. Only 9 rooms, knowleagable, multi-lingual hosts and friendly and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Knysna Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing