We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Russel Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
US$344
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$623
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Country House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blackwaters River Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
115
116
25
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
116
25
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocated close to shopssecure parkingmicrowave and fridgesecurity guardfamily roomawesome staybusiness tripenjoyed our stayvery pleasant staycentral locationbreakfast servicesmall hotelwalking distancedouble bedclean roomscape townroad trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed here over the winter holidays for one night, based on availability, price, and Tripadvisor reviews. I also wanted to be able to walk around the town, and the location seemed/was good for that. The front staff was welcoming and professional.

However, the cost of the room ($130) far exceeded its quality. Bed was not comfortable. The window-unit air conditioner sputtered on but did little to cool the room adequately. The shower construction resulted in water spewing onto the floor. The bathroom sink warned users away from washing veg in it (what?!) And there was no Wifi, the one and only place we stayed on our vacation without it.

I would definitely look elsewhere and would spend a bit more to greatly improve the quality.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liplipgabadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizemari H, Manager at The Russel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you for your review.

I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at The Russel Hotel.

We were unaware of all the defects you pointed out on Tripadvisor about our hotel. If only we new which room you occupied and if only you told us of your unsatisfactory stay, we could have made it a much more pleasant one.

Having said that, we had a look at all the accusations and I can now assure you that everthing has been taken care of, whether it was true or false!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

As a regular to the Russell Hotel, on a monthly basis, for almost six years, we can without doubt recommend them to any traveller looking for accommodation in Knysna. The hotel is exceptionally clean, rooms are comfortable, the service is excellent, the staff is friendly and what we appreciate most is that the management respects one's privacy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ODS_Consultants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The service I received was excellent and staff are friendly and very helpful. My room was clean, neat and comfortable. The breakfasts are very tasty and well prepared and there is a variety to choose from.

The hotel is very centrally situated and the Waterfront, restaurants and other attractions in town are within easy walking distance.

The hotel is situated opposite a school and during the school term the road outside is extremely noisy from early in the morning. But not being one to lie in and sleep late, it was not an issue for me.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is centrally situated there are no rooms with spectacular views.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We felt welcome the minute we stepped onto the premises. Excellent service, we received an additional room for our kids which they enjoyed, it was opposite ours. Which gave us peace of mind. Friendly staff. The place central to shops, garages, beaches, Waterfront and shops. Scheepers Family

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

After a long day on the road i look forward to my stay at the Russel hotel. I'm greeted by name, and the heater in the room has been put on for me. The staff all go out of their way to make me feel welcome and the french toast and crispy bacon in the morning is the best in town!

Lee-Anne.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee-anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews