We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Russel Hotel

The Russel Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Russel Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Hermanus, South Africa
1 review
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Thank you for a pleasant stay. A business trip turned into a quick getaway and it was very enjoyable. Very efficient and friendly staff and a lovely place to stay. Breakfast was presented beautifully and very tasty. Well Done and Thank you.


  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank christadp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizemari H, Manager at The Russel Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback and for taking the time to review us! hope to see you soon. Please contact me directly and let me know how we can change the rooms to better your stay next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    99
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
93
56
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great Hotel to stay in when passing thought Knysna close to town, the lagoon, restaurant, a hospital and clinic (if your prone to accidents like me) and the highway.

Dont choose The Russel Hotel if your looking for a full service hotel as they only offer breakfast, which is not really a problem with all the seafood restaurant available.

I would not recommend choosing a room on any floor other than the ground floor unless you enjoy climbing steps (No Fault to the staff i might add as they did offer me a room on the ground floor)

If you looking for affordable accommodation in a Hotel setting and full privacy The Russel Hotel has it all.

Room Tip: Dont choose a room on the Top Floor unless you enjoy climbing steps :")
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizemari H, Manager at The Russel Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Rayno B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor! We always like to hear from our guests' and receive feedback!

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

service most terrible. i will never recommend anybody to go there. ksjdhgafiuhwfgiuhabewifheaoigvhefoahgksdjfnvksafhgouiwrhgojhewkgvjnasoihvoaehvborehvoehboenbaernobjhetrgherwohglaerjsnvoiejhvoiejhgoiejh

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Antois W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizemari H, Manager at The Russel Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Antois W,
Thank you for you valued review. We are however confused. According to our records, you cancelled your reservation before arrival, which means you never stayed at The Russel Hotel.
So saddened that you rated our service poor as you never gave us the opportunity to render our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The service was very good. The rooms were neat and comfortable.
The hotel is perfectly situated - just out of the hustle and bustle but within walking distance of the restaurants etc.
Last but not least the rates were good value for value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizemari H, Manager at The Russel Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Louis M,

Thank your for your feedback on taking the time to review us.
Good service and cleanliness is very important to us! We trust that you enjoyed your stay and will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Convenient position central to Knysna Oyster festival events
Large Clean and comfortable rooms
Efficient and friendly staff
Breakfast area looked great even though we did not eat there
Parking lot could get a bit congested but at least secure !


  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizemari H, Manager at The Russel Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Sharon C,

I hope and trust you enjoyed the Oyster Festival! Yes, congestion of trafic and parking is known to Knysna during the Oyster Festival weekends, and that does not exclude our parking lot!!! Two weekends a year it is very busy as you know! Hope to see you and your friends next year again. Luckily, as you stated, we are very close to town, and can walk where you need to!!

Thank you for taking the time to review us and also commenting on our service and room standards.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We used a City Slickers special but was a bit dismayed that while we were waiting to check in the room rate was offered to someone at the same price we had received it for----so it was not a "good deal" for us. Admittedlly we did have breakfast included in our "deal".

I know the tendency is to have all rooms "no smoking" but taking the weather into account I would suggest trying to make a smoking "room" inside the hotel for those "rainy times"
Staff were always pleasant and helpful and would definitely suggest the hotel to my friends

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rae T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I showered and while washing my hair slipped on the slippery bath surface ,luckily I hit against the metal handel breaking my fall allowing my time to grab on.I have a nice bruise on my butt.I believe that if I was
not a strong guy I would have no been so lucky.This could be very dangerous .I was given quiet a shock

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 275david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
6.4 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#28 of 30 in Knysna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.8 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#20 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russel Hotel

Property: The Russel Hotel
Address: Corner Long, Graham & Unity Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Russel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Russel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing