We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“marathon weekend”
Review of The Russel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Russel Hotel
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Breakfast was outstanding. Staff helpfull friendly and willing to assist. Tv channels limited but were able to ask reception to select sport channel required. No problem returning again.
Easy secured parking.



  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I didn't want to take a bath because there was still hair from the previous occupants in it. The bed's one leg was broken. The people next door to us made a massive noise up until 12 at night and i couldn't contact the front desk as no one was answering the phone. Also the tv had no remote which was very annoying. Bad experience of note.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Tripreviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Thank you to staff at the Russell Hotel for a very pleasant stay. We are from Port Elizabeth and have visited the Knysna, Wilderness and Sedgefield area about six times this year. We've been doing long week-end trips visiting different hotels, exploring the Garden Route. For the first time we travelled with my mom who is disabled due to illness and even though the Russell Hotel is not wheelchair friendly at this stage. The friendliness, willingness to assist and going the extra mile to accommodate my mom esspecially was highly appreciated. It is often difficult when travelling with a disabled person to get up and be ready for breakfast at the usual set hotel times i.e. between 07:00 and 09:00am for example. At the Russel hotel we were even accomodated in this regard. We made arrangements with the staff and had breakfast when we were ready (when my mom was feeling ready and up to it). This was definitely a huge plus for us. It is obvious that owners and staff alike aim to please! The location of the hotel is perfectly centred in town, walking distance to all surrounding little restaurants, take aways, bars and night clubs. We had an awesome time!!! Thank you... Russell Hotel, we will definitely be back!
Thank you Kindly....
- Natasha
nsaphier@lear.com

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nothing fancy, but clean, very central and with secure parking (we travelled with bicycles on the back of our car which we felt safe enough to just leave on the car). Staff exceedingly helpful and friendly. Overall: value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Leonard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Good value for money hotel if you are on a tight budget. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable and staff are friendly. Situated in the centre so not much by means of views but its a quick drive to the waterfront to enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vashna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Was priviledged to spend one night at the hotel. From reception to the cleaners all were friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean with lots of space. Location also very good and close to all the amenities

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edster58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Front desk and staff were wonderful, extremely helpful and professional. As single traveller, I couldn’t have picked a nicer place or people to feel at home with. It was a pleasure staying at The Russel and definitely recommend. Staff assisted many times to locate bus times, car and taxi services. Even housekeeping tried to find me local transport for trips. This is a small, personable hotel. (18 rooms, I believe) Good value for price, level of overall service, and accommodation. I’ve stayed 5 star hotels that weren’t as personable or caring. It isn’t a 5 star property, nor is it claiming to be. In fact, with some refinement, The Russel could easily step into a 4 star category, by installing in room refrigerators, larger in room safes, perhaps fancier décor, food presentation… but these alone would do not make for a memorable stay if the staff were unwilling to go that extra mile in guests wellbeing, satisfaction and overall safety, which certainly isn’t the case here.
I met several South African couples, returning to The Russel once, twice, yearly travelling back & forth to visit family.
Breakfast: Dining room: Tablecloths, clean and bright. Fresh fruit each morning, a small selection of cereal, juice, yoghurt and choice of hot food from the menu.
Rooms: Very clean. Mine was large with a double and 2 single beds. Décor and furniture are basic, room well lit. TV with movie channel/ Tea & coffee making; Bathroom clean. Average size. Shower pressure good, bathroom lighting a little dull. Not sure how or if this can be improved upon, having found similar lighting problems in other accommodation.

Location: The Russel is situated a block from the main street. About 15 mins walk, from the Waterfront, which turned out to be rather pleasant, given the Waterfront area is quite busy with tour groups, upscale rental properties, boats trips to The Heads, restaurants and gift shops. Knysna isn’t that big to worry about walking too far anywhere. Found some good reasonably priced restaurants, coffee shops, around the corner from The Russel. Others, a few blocks away. In addition, Banks/ATM’s, Information Centre, gas station, two Internet stores, small malls, a Checkers supermarket, where you can purchase bus line tickets. (Also at Shoprite store) minutes away. Pretty much close to all necessities being off one of the town’s main roads, and N2 route. Good stopover stay. Nice walk to Waterfront and Thesen Islands, a new area, quieter with decent restaurants, upscale hotels, and private apartments, etc., tour/bike rental operators.
Hotel property is well kept. Parking within the grounds. Lit at night, security gate, and guard. As with most of these small towns, come 6 p.m. once shops, offices close, the whole town quietens. I was warned about walking alone at night, everywhere. Restaurants & Checkers open. People driving. 7.30 p.m isn’t late to be dining, but it is dark and pretty deserted then. Bit creepy! I walked to the hotel early evenings, cautious, not overtly threatened or more so exploring a new place or country. I met tourist who had driven overnight, and young girls hitchhiking around South Africa, none of which had experienced any problems. No matter where you are, locals will tell you the same about walking (or driving) alone, anywhere. You just have to be sensible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jampotannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#25 of 30 in Knysna
32 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#20 of 30 in Knysna
332 reviews
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russel Hotel

Address: Corner Long, Graham & Unity Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: £39 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Russel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Russel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing