We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stannards Guest Lodge
Ranked #24 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed here for four nights and the warm and friendly greeting from Helen and Patrick was very nice they were always around to help with any queries and helped book us some where to eat on the first evening and it was a place that they use themselves and it was very good and very reasonable but Knysna is very easy to find good places to eat.T he room we had at Stannards was a big room and a large bathroom outside there was a small terrace with table and chairs, breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from we would certainly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoodleyAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in the self-catering garden cottage and enjoyed it very much. The owners, Helen&Patrick, are very very friendly, helpful with things to do and have quite a few very good restaurant recommendations.
The property is located in a nice, quiet area of Knysna. Only a short drive to the Heads and the Town Center. The cottage was clean, spacious and tastefully furnished. Delicious cheese selection was offered for breakfast. Very good place to relax!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBW3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We were warmly welcomed by the proffesional staff. They were most eager to have us make the most of out days in their place, serving extra dinner when we arrived as well as giving advice on beautiful trips in the surroundings. The service as well as the food was superb, beds comfortable in nice cosy rooms, and just strolling around in their beatiful garden was most relaxing. The staff always had time for a chat. A high star experince!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staffan_ahlstedt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We loved our stay at this friendly guesthouse,everything was just so nice and beautiful, the smell, the music , the decoration ,breakfast, the tips of the staff.....
our visit to enrico at keurboomstrand, the turbine restaurant and our trip through the zwartbergpass....
thanks a lot!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank has59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Service:
Just really great! The hospitality is superb, the hosts are keen of let you discover all the activities and places you can experience from there. They will make you feel at home and help you creating your perfect holiday! And, last but not least, they will transmit you their love for the place.

Room:
Cure for any little detail, delicious and cozy!

Location:
Knysna is a great place both to experience lots of water sports thanx to one of the biggest lagoons in South Africa and to start nice trips and safaris. The place is relaxed, safe and beautiful, the weather is nice, the people friendly and the food just great. Knysna is also the capital of oysters, so if you go you should really taste them. It will be an experience!

What I liked best:


http://www.stannards.co.za/

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaRaksha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed in April 2010 for three nights at Stannards Guest Lodge and had a great time. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and Helene and Patrick.

The lodge is a lovely decorated house, in nice surroundings, so idyllic. We stayed in the ‘fleur’ room and loved the color scheme and pretty bathroom. In a bright and sunny room overlooking the garden and trees, we had the delicious Breakfast.

The commitment to our environment was also very appreciated by us. Their use of biodegradable detergents for cleaning (etcetera), made for an even better stay. I wish more Lodges, B+B's, Hotels would have this policy.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelsFromAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We stayed 2 nights at this lovely guest house and wish we'd booked for longer.The garden and pool area were lovely, and the veranda was the perfect spot for star gazing.The little bar was so quaint and we enjoyed being able to sit out with a drink at the end of a busy day.Very helpful and friendly hosts too.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearlcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.7 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lavender Hill Guest House
Lavender Hill Guest House
#52 of 127 in Knysna
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rexford Manor
Rexford Manor
#35 of 127 in Knysna
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amber Guest Lodge
Amber Guest Lodge
#40 of 127 in Knysna
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Bamboo the Guesthouse
#32 of 127 in Knysna
505 reviews
1.7 mi away
B My Guest
B My Guest
#21 of 107 in Knysna
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stannards Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stannards Guest Lodge

Address: 22 Fraser Street | Hunter Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £51 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stannards Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays must be fun, and we'll do everything to make your stay a real pleasure, with lots of happy memories to see through the year. From waking in the morning to the calls of Knysna's famous bird life, you start your day right with a delicious full and healthy Continental buffet-breakfast. We make sure you are well fortified for a hard day's pleasure, and will help you plan your activities and excursions as you please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stannards Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing