We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Piece of paradise”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at Villa Paradisa for two days during our honeymoon...and it was amazing. On our arrival, we were warmly welcomed by the owners, Marilyn and Martin. Marilyn helped us settle in and we immediately felt at home. This was going to be our piece of paradise for the next two days. We didn't event want to leave the guest house, as everything was perfect. We spent most of our time in the pool and the Jacuzzi, overlooking the entire Knysna area. The views were amazing!
Every morning, Martin surprised us with another interested, and very tasty, breakfast. (Definitely not your standard full English.) I think the home-made Ostrich patties probably were our favourites.
We loved every second at Villa Paradisa and I will gladly recommend it to anyone who travel to Knysna.
Thank you for making our honeymoon so special.
Jaco and Bonita

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are amazing and have the same perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacovloggerenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    24
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
215
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
britain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

What an amazing place to stay! We have never stayed in a guest house before but Martin and marylin made us feel completely at home and were perfect hosts, thank you for letting us stay in you're lovely house, and appreciate what must be the best views in Knysna?

Where do I start? Our room was very big and well appointed with breathtaking views, the breakfast area is beautiful not to mention the breakfasts which were brilliant - thanks Martin!

The pool area and pool are great, I couldn't stay out of the pool and I'm not renowned for swimming!

Some great recommendations on what to do and where to eat locally and taxis organised etc, nothing any trouble at all thanks.

Hope to return again someday, thank you again!

Room Tip: All rooms amazing but Oyster suite is the best I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dirtyharrybritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Villa Paradisa is not a letter short of what we experienced during our stay.

Absolute stunning views, combined with unsurpassed service and very friendly hosts, Marilyn & Martin. We were totally blown away from the minute we arrived..

We were welcomed with champagne and a introduction to the stunning room we booked - The Honeymoon Suite. Immediate relaxation best describes the feeling I had at that moment, knowing that this weekend was going to be great!

The service was swift and friendly with great quality. From the beginning our hosts made us feel at home in their wonderful house.

The views from the dining area, pool as well as all the rooms is absolutely breathtaking and still I feel those words still don't quite do it any justice. I attached a few photos as proof!
Enjoying a glass of wine overlooking the whole of the Knysna Lagoon was truly a special feeling.

We were asked by Marilyn & Martin what we would like for breakfast. They offered to dish up a specialty that Martin prepared. His own, "Italian Breakfast Specialty". This breakfast feast was really out of this world. Tasty, filling and really delicious!! I was blown away for about the 10th time on that trip.

Villa Paradisa is a definite MUST STAY when you pass through Knysna. As I said, if you are looking for total relaxation and the best views, book a night here.. There is no doubt in my mind that you will find this - Excellent!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite offered a warm and cosy feeling and I was really relaxed during my time there..a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

1st time we have stayed in a guest house and Martin and Marilyn have set a challenge to other guest house owners!
We only had 3 days in Knysna and wanted to make the most of our time, Marilyn organised a Tuk Tuk for a morning drive around Knysna which was so informative could really recommend that to anyone who wants a bit of history of the area.
We also ate at the Firefly which was quaint and the food wonderful.
We wanted to sail out through the Heads and again Marilyn and Martin organised a great trip, even though the weather didn't allow for us to sail through the Heads the Captain of the Yacht more than made up for that by allowing all of us to take the helm and do a bit of sailing before ending the evening with Champagne and Canapes.
You must try Martin's mushrooms at breakfast , he still owes me the recipe !!
We also enjoyed the wonderful bedroom with balcony offering amazing views of the lagoon and the Heads, relaxing there with morning coffee from the variety offered in our room was a real treat !
We are now in May and this is the first time I have had 5 minutes to complete this review but hopefully it says a lot that we are still enjoying the memories of this wonderful guest house!!!!
Thank you Martin and Marylin for a wonderful time with your friends on our last evening!!!
Oh and we can't forget the morning the lovely girls of your staff sang to us, that remains a special memory .
Ken and Carole Wilson Camberley Surrey

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kruger2080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west lothian
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I would highly recommend to anyone visiting this area to stay at this luxurious "bed and breakfast". Martin & Marilyn, the owners certainly know how to treat their guests. They went far beyond the realms of B & B owners. The rooms, of which there are three, were simply outstanding and luxurious. The breakfast was to die for, Martin's poached eggs just cannot be beaten!
The view from this very luxurious "Hollywood" style home is breathtaking.
Certainly a highlight of our holiday was out stay at the Villa Paradiso.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5tewarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

This was one of the best accommodations we have stayed in, the hosts Martin and Marilyn made you feel so at home and went the "extra inch" to make your stay memorable.
We would certainly book again
Many thanks for fantastic memories

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladymcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

A Guest House with a stunishing view over the Knysna lagune and the Heads. Very stylish rooms. Especially the oister room. Marilyn and Martin are great hosts, very nice and caring. We still miss Martins great breakfast. Nice pool and resting area. You feel yourself immediately at home. We will come back for sure and recommend the place gladly to our friends. A true paradise.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackson52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
812 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.6 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Paradisa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paradisa Guest House

Property: Villa Paradisa Guest House
Address: 9 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Paradisa Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular 5-star guest house commands amazing views of Knysna lagoon and Heads from its elevated position on Paradise Ridge. Villa Paradisa radiates an exclusive atmosphere and offers guests an indulgent stay. Guests can enjoy a refreshing swim in the infinity-edge pool overlooking the water, relax in the Jacuzzi with a glass of champagne, star-gaze at the African night sky from their own veranda or the poolside pavilion, or take pleasure in their luxurious bedroom with its stylish bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Paradisa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing