We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We spent 3 nights at this beautifully appointed, well located Guest House. Marilyn and Martin took care of us in every way, cooking wonderful breakfasts, suggesting exciting activities and helping us make reservations when needed. In short, our hosts were charming, the house is gorgeous, the views are spectacular. Don't bother looking any further for something better, you won't find it.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are lovely, though the suite on the top floor at the end of the hall (sorry, i forget th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparadisa, Manager at Villa Paradisa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you Wendy for your great review. It was a pleasure hosting your energetic group and it was really fantastic that you partook is so many activities in the area. Hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

This B&B is more like a 5* hotel. The rooms are large and very comfortable and well equipped. The views from all the rooms over Knysna are amazing! Martin & Marilyn are wonderful hosts and made us feel very at home. The breakfast was delicious, Martin is a great cook & Marilyn's attention to detail was lovely. There were fresh flowers everywhere, a real treat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deeks444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparadisa, Manager at Villa Paradisa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for your review - your feedback is valued. It was lovely meeting you and hope to see you again at Villa Paradisa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

What a lovely place to spend some wonderful holidays! We were enchanted by the great view over the lagoon and the comfort the guest house offered in every respect. But the aspect that makes this place so unique is the warm hospitality of Marilyn and Martin. In addition, we enjoyed the homemade breakfast and particularly the best barbeque we ever had - both prepared professionally and with lots of creativity and passion by Martin. Definitely a place we can recommend. Manfred & Annette

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manfred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparadisa, Manager at Villa Paradisa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you, Manfred & Annette, for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed having you at Villa Paradisa and especially the time spent together at the barbeque. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

* A very nice room with a nice view. Pool area with a sundeck from where you can watch the sunset!
* Nice owners and friendly staff.
* The best breakfast ever!
* Don't eat at the sirocco, it's very touristic. Try east head cafe for lunch.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonniebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparadisa, Manager at Villa Paradisa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for your review. We have posted more sunsets for you to enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This was our first stop on our tour of the Garden route, and we were both delighted to have chosen it. Marilyn and Martin are both great hosts a treat you more like family than guests.The Villa is beautifully situated and tastefully done inside and out. The views over the lagoon are awesome and the breakfasts will keep you going all day......we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMBrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Martin and Marilyn are amazing hosts, they go out of their way to make sure you have a perfect stay in Knysna. Villa Paradisa has an amazing view out to the Heads at Knysna. If you need any help finding things to do Martin and Marilyn are both fonts of local knowledge.

We decided to stay in on 2 nights and we were able to cozy up on a sofa with a bottle of wine and watch some telly, we felt like we were in our own home! Villa Paradisa has all the comforts of a 5 star hotel without any of the formalities, we loved it and we'll be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and have everything you need for a lovely stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpmcg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Other reviews testify to the hospitality provided by Marilyn and Martin and this review is no different. A cold beer offered by Martin immediately on arrival indicated that we were indeed in good hands. They are superb hosts and genuinely enjoy their time with guests. We learnt a lot about the area (especially oysters) and their recommendations for restaurants were spot on, especially the Phantom Pass resort restaurant. Marilyn advised us on day sightseeing and her recommendations were perfect. One restaurant sent a free courtesy bus for our group of eight. Martin is an enthusiast in the kitchen and his chili mustard brought many requests for the recipe, which he gracefully provided. Breakfast was an event as Martin's creativity went to work to produce a stunning avocado dish, topped by a poached egg in a delicious sauce. No doubt Martin has many more surprises in his repertoire. Our rooms were large, comfortable, well equipped and all had fantastic views over Knysna Harbour and the heads. The property is on the commanding heights of Knysna so enjoys some of the best views. The two ladies who helped with cooking and housekeeping are truly wonderful and their warmth and hospitality really added to our stay. One couple in our party could not be accommodated and Marilyn kindly arranged for them to stay at Villa Afrikana, also a five star guest house located 50 meters away. The couple were extremely impressed with this property. And a lovely pool and jacuzzi are on the balcony.

Room Tip: All rooms have a different decor but are somewhat similar. The lower room is better if stairs are to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
862 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.6 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Paradisa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paradisa Guest House

Address: 9 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: £128 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Paradisa Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular 5-star guest house commands amazing views of Knysna lagoon and Heads from its elevated position on Paradise Ridge. Villa Paradisa radiates an exclusive atmosphere and offers guests an indulgent stay. Guests can enjoy a refreshing swim in the infinity-edge pool overlooking the water, relax in the Jacuzzi with a glass of champagne, star-gaze at the African night sky from their own veranda or the poolside pavilion, or take pleasure in their luxurious bedroom with its stylish bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Villa Paradisa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing