We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay in Knysna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Traveling through South Africa in the winter is rainy and we were fortunate enough to find Villa Paradisa when we arrived in Knysna after driving from Cape Town late one rainy evening. Marilyn was absolutely wonderful and showed us around done wonderful house. The room we stayed in was beautiful, romantic, and had an amazing view of the lagoon from up on the hill. Waking up to Marvin's breakfasts was probably the best part of our whole trip so far. Not only do you sit at the dining room table overlooking the infinity pool and lagoon in the distance, but you are sipping on amazing coffee or tea, munching on fresh fruit and yogurt, and then finishing with one of Marvin's excellent breakfast surprises. The first day was fried eggs, bacon, and Brie and the second morning was poached eggs, avocado, bacon , cheese, and a delicious yet spicy chile sauce. I don't usually describe my food in such detail, but it was too amazing to not. This bed and breakfast was definitely the best place we have stayed throughout this trip and I highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Knysna!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kendra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparadisa, Manager at Villa Paradisa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a super review, Kendra. It was lovely having you here. Please come back again for more of Martin's special breakfast creations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

This has been one of the nicest places we stayed on the trip. I didn't know what to expect from a B&B, but the rooms are amazing. They even have heated floors/carpets to keep your feet warm.

The whole house is beautiful and very romantic.

Breakfast in the morning is pretty much the best breakfast I've ever had. Martin should open up a restaurant. I've eaten breakfast at 5 star hotels across the world and Martin's topped these with ease.

I'd recommend a trip to Knsyna just to stay here...actually this was the highlight of our two days in Knsyna.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparadisa, Manager at Villa Paradisa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for your great review, Mike. Your comments are much appreciated. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The best place we stayed our hour trip. I stayed here with a group of friends renting out all three rooms. Martin and Marilyn were very helpful, flexible in accommodating our late arrival and gave great recommendations for what to do once we got there.

The breakfast we had in the morning was completely delicious, the rooms were immaculate, large and well appointed, and the views from the house were stunning – even though we didn't have the perfect sunset of a couple of days before.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredbrewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparadisa, Manager at Villa Paradisa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

We appreciate your great review, Fred and also for 'Liking' our new Facebook page! We would love to host you and your group of friends again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Martin and Marilyn have the ability to make you feel at home from the first minute. The guesthouse has magnificent views and the entire experience is flowered with attention to detail and hospitality. Martin's breakfast is by far the most memorable one I have ever had..seriously. The stylish facilities, comfort and adaptability of their service offering make Villa Paradisa a 5 star experience and good value for money.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roeloff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparadisa, Manager at Villa Paradisa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you for your valued comments, Roeloff. It was wonderful to host such a lovely couple and we hope you will be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I was able to spend 2 nights with my girlfriend at this beautiful Guest House. We were greeted with a warm welcome from Martin and Marilyn. The view from the room was absolutely stunning over looking the bay. Marilyn helped me surprise my girlfriend by setting up the room with rose petals and with a personalized romantic note which made our stay that much more special. Martin served us some breakfast that couldnt be matched by the best restaurants in town. They really went over the top to make sure our stay was absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparadisa, Manager at Villa Paradisa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you for your review, Jacob. It was great to meet you and a pleasure assisting with your delightfully romantic surprise for your special lady! We hope to see you both at Villa Paradisa again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Martin and Marilyn are thru ambassadors of the traditional south african warm hearted hospitality. The oyster room were of the highest standard and had the best view you can dream of. There is lots to do in the area. Many restaurants to chose from. Marylin were always helping with information and bookings.

Room Tip: The spa bath was a nice touch to our visit in the Oyster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparadisa, Manager at Villa Paradisa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! You are such a lovely couple and we would love you to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Villa Paradisa Guest House and enjoyed every minute! The Sea Urchin Suite was perfect, large and well appointed! Great view of Knysna and surroundings! Martin and Marilyn are the best hosts someone can hope for in a B&B! Martin's breakfasts are to die for!!!
Marilyn' assistance with booking excursions in and around Knysna was very helpful and appreciated! Would not stay anywhere else in Knysna! Thank you Martin and Marilyn!!! André & Natalie from Quebec, Canada!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre-Tali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparadisa, Manager at Villa Paradisa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you Andre & Natalie for your super review! Your smiles and friendliness were a delight each day and we look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Paradisa again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.0 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#2 of 30 in Knysna
398 reviews
0.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Paradisa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paradisa Guest House

Address: 9 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: £114 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Paradisa Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular 5-star guest house commands amazing views of Knysna lagoon and Heads from its elevated position on Paradise Ridge. Villa Paradisa radiates an exclusive atmosphere and offers guests an indulgent stay. Guests can enjoy a refreshing swim in the infinity-edge pool overlooking the water, relax in the Jacuzzi with a glass of champagne, star-gaze at the African night sky from their own veranda or the poolside pavilion, or take pleasure in their luxurious bedroom with its stylish bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Paradisa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing