We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Views, The Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The Views, The Views”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stopped here for two nights in February, it's high on the hill overlooking Knysna lagoon. It's a substantial property built into the side of the hill. There are a number of rooms, we were with friends and we had lovely rooms with a balcony overlooking the Lagoon and out to the heads. It's got everything you would want, and the views are fantastic. We were able to use a taxi service which was in expensive to take us to the Restaurants, the first night we went for a barbecue with friends in Knysna, and the second night, which was Valentines night, we went to the Turbine Hotel, which had a special meal and live music, so was a lively night.
Our rooms were very well appointed, and included everything we wanted, it was a five star experience, which included the special breakfast which was cooked by Martin, who was an excellent chef, and everything cooked to order. His wife who acted as hostess, was charming, and passed on lots of information about the local area.
A very pleasant visit indeed.

Room Tip: The room we had was Seahorse, had a lovely balcony and sitting out area overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guernseylink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparadisa, Manager at Villa Paradisa Guest House, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for your great review. It was lovely having you and your group and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    24
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
213
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent a delightful couple of days staying here on recommendation from friends. The view from the house is spectacular and what is especially lovely is that one has a balcony to sit on and chill out overlooking the sea and all the activity. The room was enormous with amazing bathroom all spotlessly clean and it feels as if you are staying in a luxury spa hotel!
Marilyn was especially helpful booking a restaurant for us and she and Martin were so generous spirited in handing out welcome drinks of chilled white wine!

The pool is a good size and a good area to sit round

Room Tip: As far as I can tell any room picked would be great. The ones up top with the balcony are specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haworths63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparadisa, Manager at Villa Paradisa Guest House, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
We appreciate your descriptive comments and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but were made to feel incredibly welcome by Martin and Mary. The guesthouse is situated high on the hills above. Lagoon but the photos just don't do it justice. The view is quite literally breathtaking, sitting by the pool in the sunshine with a glass of wine watching the boats come and go is mesmerising. The staff and owners could not have been more helpful whether it be recommendations for restaurants or arranging an impromptu doctors appointment. I think Martin also takes the award for best breakfast we had in South Africa! Thank you both so much

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rich_C1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparadisa, Manager at Villa Paradisa Guest House, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you so much for your super review and for entertaining us with your fun experiences. Please do come back again for a much longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in Villa Paradisa for just one night and it most definitely wasn't enough. The guesthouse was absolutely stunning and the rooms are all immaculate. The service we received was fantastic and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. I only wish we could have stayed there longer, with great views of the lagoon I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this guesthouse to others, it was a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola_White_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife and I spent three nights in the Coral Room which is in the center of the property with a fantastic view of the harbor from the room, bathroom and balcony. The bathroom is large and done in slate. Marilyn is a gracious hostess and very friendly. Martin is equally as friendly and a first-class breakfast chef. My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TourGuide-KEVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajijic, Jalisco
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at Villa Paradisa 20th and 21 Nov 2013
It was the highlight of our 3 week visit to South Africa. The hotel is beautiful, the bedrooms and bathrooms phenominal. The decor is delightful. The food tremendous

Room Tip: I expect them all to be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobajijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This guest house is a beauty very calm &peaceful. Rooms are tastefully decorated. All the rooms face the lagoon and the upper floors are recommended for the best views with big balconies. There are no shops within walking distance so remember to get any supplies needed before hand. Martin the owner will cook you up a sumptuous breakfast in the morning!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Monika172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
366 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Paradisa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paradisa Guest House

Property: Villa Paradisa Guest House
Address: 9 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Paradisa Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular 5-star guest house commands amazing views of Knysna lagoon and Heads from its elevated position on Paradise Ridge. Villa Paradisa radiates an exclusive atmosphere and offers guests an indulgent stay. Guests can enjoy a refreshing swim in the infinity-edge pool overlooking the water, relax in the Jacuzzi with a glass of champagne, star-gaze at the African night sky from their own veranda or the poolside pavilion, or take pleasure in their luxurious bedroom with its stylish bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Paradisa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing