We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked for the view and got so much more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We primarily booked on the basis of the view but during our 4 night stay got so much more from our stay. Firstly the view is stunning, easily the best in Knysna and our room included a balcony from which to enjoy it. Beyond that our hosts, Marylin and Marty were excellent, couldn't have done more to help enjoy the area. They were always keen to guide us on where to go to meet our needs and book restaurants for us, including ones for locations on our trip. Also Marty is a fantastic cook, easily the best breakfasts we had on our 4 week trip and all while looking out over that view. Everything about here reflects it's five star rating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Villa Paradisa for two nights as our first stop on our honeymoon and we were absolutely blown away by the service and accommodation! Marilyn and Martin were both unbelievably accommodating and our stay was amazing!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AmyBrown777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed 4 nights in March at Martin and Marilyn's stunning villa. We stayed at the Oyster Suite which had breath-taking views of the Knysna lagoon which we enjoyed from the balcony. The suite was very spacious with our own jacuzzi bath, bath salts and all the amenities you would find in a 5 star accomodation. Martin and Marilyn are the perfect hosts - on the night we arrived, Martin cooked up a memorable bbq for all the guests. He's a superb chef and the seafood and meats were all perfectly cooked and accompanied by various dips, spices, chilies and such which made the whole experience special. Marilyn is lovely and has excellent local knowledge. There is so much to do in Knysna - great food, relaxing walks on the beach, challenging climb up and down the cliffs and lovely views over the heads and more..... Would definitely recommend a stop in Knysna, great destination, no regrets and when we visit Knysna again, we would surely return to Villa Paradisa!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCayfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Marylin and Martin's superb villa (room sea urchin). Everything was just perfect: the welcome by the hostess, the spacious room with all amenities, the fantastic view over Knysna bay, the quiet nights, the excellent cooking by Martin and all the information necessary to make our stay a memorable one
If we come back to Knysna, there would be no other place for us to stay
The Knysna area has numerous attractions well worth a stop along the garden route and some fabulous golf courses for those who love golfing

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roger3875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stopped here for two nights in February, it's high on the hill overlooking Knysna lagoon. It's a substantial property built into the side of the hill. There are a number of rooms, we were with friends and we had lovely rooms with a balcony overlooking the Lagoon and out to the heads. It's got everything you would want, and the views are fantastic. We were able to use a taxi service which was in expensive to take us to the Restaurants, the first night we went for a barbecue with friends in Knysna, and the second night, which was Valentines night, we went to the Turbine Hotel, which had a special meal and live music, so was a lively night.
Our rooms were very well appointed, and included everything we wanted, it was a five star experience, which included the special breakfast which was cooked by Martin, who was an excellent chef, and everything cooked to order. His wife who acted as hostess, was charming, and passed on lots of information about the local area.
A very pleasant visit indeed.

Room Tip: The room we had was Seahorse, had a lovely balcony and sitting out area overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guernseylink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparadisa, Manager at Villa Paradisa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for your great review. It was lovely having you and your group and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent a delightful couple of days staying here on recommendation from friends. The view from the house is spectacular and what is especially lovely is that one has a balcony to sit on and chill out overlooking the sea and all the activity. The room was enormous with amazing bathroom all spotlessly clean and it feels as if you are staying in a luxury spa hotel!
Marilyn was especially helpful booking a restaurant for us and she and Martin were so generous spirited in handing out welcome drinks of chilled white wine!

The pool is a good size and a good area to sit round

Room Tip: As far as I can tell any room picked would be great. The ones up top with the balcony are specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haworths63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparadisa, Manager at Villa Paradisa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

We appreciate your descriptive comments and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We only stayed for one night but were made to feel incredibly welcome by Martin and Mary. The guesthouse is situated high on the hills above. Lagoon but the photos just don't do it justice. The view is quite literally breathtaking, sitting by the pool in the sunshine with a glass of wine watching the boats come and go is mesmerising. The staff and owners could not have been more helpful whether it be recommendations for restaurants or arranging an impromptu doctors appointment. I think Martin also takes the award for best breakfast we had in South Africa! Thank you both so much

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rich_C1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaparadisa, Manager at Villa Paradisa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you so much for your super review and for entertaining us with your fun experiences. Please do come back again for a much longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
862 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.6 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Paradisa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paradisa Guest House

Address: 9 Watsonia Street | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: £128 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Paradisa Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular 5-star guest house commands amazing views of Knysna lagoon and Heads from its elevated position on Paradise Ridge. Villa Paradisa radiates an exclusive atmosphere and offers guests an indulgent stay. Guests can enjoy a refreshing swim in the infinity-edge pool overlooking the water, relax in the Jacuzzi with a glass of champagne, star-gaze at the African night sky from their own veranda or the poolside pavilion, or take pleasure in their luxurious bedroom with its stylish bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Paradisa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing