We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delighful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blackwaters River Lodge
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

After a week of singing with the Elgar Chorale (from the UK) in Cape Town, my wife and I decided to experience / drive along the Garden route. Thus we stopped for 2 nights at Blackwater River Lodge and enjoyed an excellent stay there. The staff were all most friendly and very helpful, none more so than on our arrival. The room was very comfortable with great attention to detail in what was laid out for us, and the meals we had {2 breakfasts and a dinner} were delicious. The situation of the lodge is very good with the Blackwater River nearby and a well maintained short hole golf course, for those who like to play, as part of and beyond beautiful open gardens.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HowardField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful time. The rooms and facilities are beautiful and the staff are very friendly. It is very central to the area with lots to do and see.
Thanks Elmay for your personalized service. Your lodge is one of a kind.
We will definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a wonderful time at Blackwater Lodge. If you need to get away from it all and relax, this is the place to go !
Accommodation is upmarket, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the surrounds breathtaking.



  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jasper D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I will recommend Blackwaters River Lodge as your base for exploring the Garden Route. Not only does it's location allow you to do many day trips from here, the setting and ambiance would want you to stay for longer than one night. Most of the rooms have lovely views over the forest and river, and even if you just want to relax around the pool or on the deck, there is activities for the children on site like kayaking up the river, playing golf or some other games provided. The owners, Paul and Elmay make you feel like house guests, and no request is too big. Attention to all the little details are given painstakingly and speak of a great passion and dedication from the team. Do not be mis-lead by the star grading, this place is a high 4 star quality! The on-site restaurant serves delicious home-cooked meals. We had such a great time the first two nights, that we had to extend it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our stay at the lodge was the highlight of our vacation. It is set in a gorgeous valley, and is a perfect base to explore Knysna and surroundings (the forests and the beaches). The staff were very friendly and helpful. We plan to stay there again next time!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Arnold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

An amazingly beautiful place to stay. Elmay and the staff were so pleasant and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and we were offered lots of advice on places to visit and things to see. A definite stopover on our next trip to South Africa, Thanks again

Room Tip: #8 Riverview was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aspatria_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were lucky enough to choose Blackwaters River Lodge as our Knysna stop during a tour of the garden route in November 2013. From the minute we arrived we felt relaxed and well looked after. Elmay and her team have managed to find the right balance of spoiling and indulging their clients without intruding or making it look like a forced thing.

The natural smiles of the staff compliment the stunning grounds and peaceful accommodation. Anything we could ask for was accommodated and their local knowledge also allowed us to explore the surrounding areas and see the best bits.

Jonathan's food left us spoilt and his breakfast's always started the day on a most positive note - he is a passionate chef and it shows in his food.

The lodges expansive grounds mean that you can always find a peaceful spot with a great view or gather with friends and share a sun downer. There continues to be a lot of attention to detail in the accommodation and grounds that come not just from a good owner but someone who is passionate to share this magical spot they have found.

Our favorite part of our stay was being able to take Kayaks straight off the grounds onto the river behind and spend a peaceful day paddling all the way to the ocean; we saw wildlife galore but never another human being - where else can you find that these days?

We would recommend a visit to Blackwaters and will certainly be back next time we are in South Africa. Thank you Elmay and Team.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicLizWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
8.7 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#21 of 30 in Knysna
343 reviews
9.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
868 reviews
6.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
426 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
5.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwaters River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwaters River Lodge

Address: Just off N2, Opposite Buffels Bay turn-off | Goukamma Valley, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: £65 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackwaters River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in Knysna's Goukamma valley surrounded by indigenous forests you'll find the luxurious Blackwaters River Lodge. Here you can wake to the call of the fish eagle, relax in beautiful gardens, go canoeing on the river, play a round of golf on our mashie golf course, laze around the pool or just enjoy the peace and tranquility from your verandah. Enjoy a picnic on the banks of the river or freshly prepared meals from our wood fired oven in our Earth and Fire Restaurant. In addition you are only 3min away from Buffelsbaai Beach and 10min from the bustling town of Knysna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Blackwaters River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing