We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blackwaters Gets It All Right!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blackwaters River Lodge
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blackwaters Gets It All Right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I have just spent 4 days at Blackwaters River Lodge and had an amazing stay! From the beautiful decor, the really friendly staff and owners, the stunning setting on the banks of the river, to the delectable food served in the on-site restaurant, this resort truly ticks all the boxes!!

My husband and I have stayed in many 4 and 5 star B&B's recently and are both very fussy travellers. I can honestly say that every little detail was well taken care of at Blackwaters, even down to ridding our room of any creepy crawlies before we arrived as I had told the owner that I am afraid of spiders.

Champagne awaited us in our room, which we enjoyed in the sumptuous bath tub after eating a hearty, home-cooked meal on our first night there. The beds are very comfortable and the total blockout curtains allowed us to sleep deliciously late the next morning. Cleanliness is a priority for the staff and we could not find fault at all in this regard, both in our room or in the restaurant.

We enjoyed a leisurely paddle down the river on the canoes provided, after the staff had carefully cleaned it out to make sure it was spider-free! Sadly we ran out of time to enjoy a round of golf on the mashie course that is maintained in excellent condition. We WILL be back again to enjoy the golf course!

Whether it is peace & quiet you are seeking or some good outdoor fun, this property in a beautiful setting can accomodate you. Whether you are a couple wanting a romantic break, or a family with kids, there is something for everyone and nothing is too much effort for the staff and owners. I highly recommend a visit to Blackwaters for anyone looking for that something extra.

Room Tip: The luxury suites are stunning for couples and the garden cottages ideal for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieamilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    77
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
80
137
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

After a week of singing with the Elgar Chorale (from the UK) in Cape Town, my wife and I decided to experience / drive along the Garden route. Thus we stopped for 2 nights at Blackwater River Lodge and enjoyed an excellent stay there. The staff were all most friendly and very helpful, none more so than on our arrival. The room was very comfortable with great attention to detail in what was laid out for us, and the meals we had {2 breakfasts and a dinner} were delicious. The situation of the lodge is very good with the Blackwater River nearby and a well maintained short hole golf course, for those who like to play, as part of and beyond beautiful open gardens.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HowardField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful time. The rooms and facilities are beautiful and the staff are very friendly. It is very central to the area with lots to do and see.
Thanks Elmay for your personalized service. Your lodge is one of a kind.
We will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a wonderful time at Blackwater Lodge. If you need to get away from it all and relax, this is the place to go !
Accommodation is upmarket, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the surrounds breathtaking.



  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jasper D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
187 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I will recommend Blackwaters River Lodge as your base for exploring the Garden Route. Not only does it's location allow you to do many day trips from here, the setting and ambiance would want you to stay for longer than one night. Most of the rooms have lovely views over the forest and river, and even if you just want to relax around the pool or on the deck, there is activities for the children on site like kayaking up the river, playing golf or some other games provided. The owners, Paul and Elmay make you feel like house guests, and no request is too big. Attention to all the little details are given painstakingly and speak of a great passion and dedication from the team. Do not be mis-lead by the star grading, this place is a high 4 star quality! The on-site restaurant serves delicious home-cooked meals. We had such a great time the first two nights, that we had to extend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our stay at the lodge was the highlight of our vacation. It is set in a gorgeous valley, and is a perfect base to explore Knysna and surroundings (the forests and the beaches). The staff were very friendly and helpful. We plan to stay there again next time!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arnold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

An amazingly beautiful place to stay. Elmay and the staff were so pleasant and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and we were offered lots of advice on places to visit and things to see. A definite stopover on our next trip to South Africa, Thanks again

Room Tip: #8 Riverview was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aspatria_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
9.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
6.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
6.4 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwaters River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwaters River Lodge

Property: Blackwaters River Lodge
Address: Just off N2, Opposite Buffels Bay turn-off | Goukamma Valley, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackwaters River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in Knysna's Goukamma valley surrounded by indigenous forests you'll find the luxurious Blackwaters River Lodge. Here you can wake to the call of the fish eagle, relax in beautiful gardens, go canoeing on the river, play a round of golf on our mashie golf course, laze around the pool or just enjoy the peace and tranquility from your verandah. Enjoy a picnic on the banks of the river or freshly prepared meals from our wood fired oven in our Earth and Fire Restaurant. In addition you are only 3min away from Buffelsbaai Beach and 10min from the bustling town of Knysna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackwaters River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing