We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackwaters River Lodge
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed for two nights attending the most beautiful family wedding at Blackwaters River Lodge. Everything was well organised and the food was excellent. It is such a beautiful place . Our room was very neat, clean and tastefully decorated. The Earth and Fire Restaurant is a nice cosy place for a wedding reception and the staff are very friendly and helpful ..... I will definitely visit again .....next time for longer!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Miempie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul T, General Manager at Blackwaters River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to do the review on your stay. It was truly the most beautiful wedding and a pleasure having you stay with us during this very special occasion. We are pleased that you enjoyed our lodge and restaurant during your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

I had to pleasure to stay at Blackwaters on a weekend. It was one of my best friends wedding. I was first in and last out! ( this property is medicine for the soul!! ) I also spend some time with Elmay & Paul over the weekend, helping with the flowers for the wedding & decor. They are really nice people and made me feel at home 100%. Overall, my experience was so good that i would go back with any change i get! Its so beautiful and peaceful. Perfect retreat for a weekend away! Thanks so much for a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elge81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul T, General Manager at Blackwaters River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write this review. It was a pleasure having you at the lodge and look forward to welcoming you back soon. We love being in the hospitality business especially when we get a chance to meet amazing people like you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for two nights with our two teenagers. We all enjoyed the luxury rooms with all the necessities one might need. The restaurant was of good value and the service great. Very enjoyable mashie golf course and the canoeing on the black river good fun.

Room Tip: Some rooms have great views of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Neels R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul T, General Manager at Blackwaters River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

So happy you all had a good time at Blackwaters River Lodge, and in Knysna! It was super having such a wonderful family staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had the luck and pleasure of stopping at Blackwaters to and from Cape Town. Stunning place. Pity it was so short. Will definitely be back and will definitely recommend. Earth and Fire restaurant was amazing too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkLindstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stopped over at Blackwaters River Lodge on our way to CT for the IPO National championships. Our room was so tastefully decorated, absolutely everything was thought of - even made the comment I would stay there and could be fetched on the way back from CT. The staff were friendly and attentive, the food was outstanding. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TAdvis0r001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

What a wonderful stay - full of surprises! We stayed in Riverview 5 and could not get enough of the fantastic view. The efficient and friendly staff really made us feel welcome - from the moment we arrived and were met by a very friendly Winnet. The food in the restaurant is very well prepared and you get good vaule for your money. We also did a walk in the Goukamma Nature Reserve which was great. Accomodation and bathrooms are very very clean. We cannot wait to return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Roelof O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Lodge is the perfect getaway spot in Knysna. The Lodge is very well kept with lovely grounds and stunning modern rooms. The staff are friendly and accommodating. We went to Knysna to explore the mountain bike trails. On arrival at the Lodge we received information on the trails (an awesome touch). We were offered all the necessary equipment to clean our bikes and more importantly our bike were safe! The food is great and the chef will make every attempt to meet your needs. We would highly recommend the Lodge. Loved our stay and will definitely be back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul T, General Manager at Blackwaters River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for the great review. Glad that you enjoy your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, Oyster Festival maybe??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
9.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
828 reviews
6.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
6.5 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
390 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
8.7 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#20 of 30 in Knysna
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwaters River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwaters River Lodge

Address: Just off N2, Opposite Buffels Bay turn-off | Goukamma Valley, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: £58 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackwaters River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in Knysna's Goukamma valley surrounded by indigenous forests you'll find the luxurious Blackwaters River Lodge. Here you can wake to the call of the fish eagle, relax in beautiful gardens, go canoeing on the river, play a round of golf on our mashie golf course, laze around the pool or just enjoy the peace and tranquility from your verandah. Enjoy a picnic on the banks of the river or freshly prepared meals from our wood fired oven in our Earth and Fire Restaurant. In addition you are only 3min away from Buffelsbaai Beach and 10min from the bustling town of Knysna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackwaters River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing