We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dislike”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blackwaters River Lodge
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“dislike”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The good thing its just view on river and forest.

((but))

No privacy, no bathroom door, constantly interrupted electricity, Internet weak also doesn't work some days.
The hassle of the bar next door to my room.
The staff does not replacing towels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Traveler_D14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul T, General Manager at Blackwaters River Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to write this review. Unfortunately your booking was a problem from the onset. The credit card details provide to secure your booking came up as fraudulent and your booking was therefore never confirmed in spite of us having contacted your booking service to address this problem.
When you did arrive, the lodge was unfortunately full and the only room available was the room with an open plan bedroom/bathroom and a glass screen rather than a door between the bedroom and bathroom. We understand that this may not be acceptable in your culture/religion but the room we had planned to give you was already taken by guests who paid their deposit.
We are surprised at your comments regarding the lounge adjoining your room, as we made every effort to ensure that guests using the lounge did not disturb our other guests.
With regards the WiFi, due to the location in the Goukammer River valley, the signal is very poor and when the lodge is busy, the internet is very slow. We are currently addressing this with Telkom and should be addressed this week.
With regards the towels, we apologise. This is not acceptable and remedial action has been taken with the section involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    77
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
79
137
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

What a nice place to go for a quick get-away from the busy normal life.
You get the feeling of a nice paradise in the bushes and it's close to beaches,so you get the feeling of both.

I was part of an awesome wedding ceremony last weekend, 16 Aug 2014.What a beautiful place for a nice, small, intimate private wedding.The beautiful nature environment ,sounds of nature and the calm goukamma river surrounding it, is the perfect place for any romantic wedding.

The activities is great, the kayaking, the swimming pools, the earth and fire restaurant and the mashie golf course is a must for any golf lover.

The stay is also very nice and quiet and the hospitality is great.

I would definitely visit again for a nice breakaway weekend from the Overberg.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfDowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overberg District, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I found Blackwaters River Lodge to be a stunning lil get away from the hustle and bustle of a busy week, beautiful scenery, lovely accommodation, enjoyed the available activities (canoeing, golf, swimming pools) and of course, the wonderfully warm atmosphere of The Earth and Fire Restaurant. Delicious breakfasts served every morning, and a perfect venue for a small and private wedding ceremony.

4/5 stars...I will recommend this place to anybody :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Ben27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul T, General Manager at Blackwaters River Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us during this very special occasion. It was truly the most beautiful wedding.

Thank you for taking the time to do the review on your stay and we are pleased that you enjoyed our lodge and your stay with us, and we hope to see back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed for two nights attending the most beautiful family wedding at Blackwaters River Lodge. Everything was well organised and the food was excellent. It is such a beautiful place . Our room was very neat, clean and tastefully decorated. The Earth and Fire Restaurant is a nice cosy place for a wedding reception and the staff are very friendly and helpful ..... I will definitely visit again .....next time for longer!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miempie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul T, General Manager at Blackwaters River Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do the review on your stay. It was truly the most beautiful wedding and a pleasure having you stay with us during this very special occasion. We are pleased that you enjoyed our lodge and restaurant during your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I had to pleasure to stay at Blackwaters on a weekend. It was one of my best friends wedding. I was first in and last out! ( this property is medicine for the soul!! ) I also spend some time with Elmay & Paul over the weekend, helping with the flowers for the wedding & decor. They are really nice people and made me feel at home 100%. Overall, my experience was so good that i would go back with any change i get! Its so beautiful and peaceful. Perfect retreat for a weekend away! Thanks so much for a great time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elge81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul T, General Manager at Blackwaters River Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write this review. It was a pleasure having you at the lodge and look forward to welcoming you back soon. We love being in the hospitality business especially when we get a chance to meet amazing people like you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for two nights with our two teenagers. We all enjoyed the luxury rooms with all the necessities one might need. The restaurant was of good value and the service great. Very enjoyable mashie golf course and the canoeing on the black river good fun.

Room Tip: Some rooms have great views of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neels R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul T, General Manager at Blackwaters River Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
So happy you all had a good time at Blackwaters River Lodge, and in Knysna! It was super having such a wonderful family staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonubie, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had the luck and pleasure of stopping at Blackwaters to and from Cape Town. Stunning place. Pity it was so short. Will definitely be back and will definitely recommend. Earth and Fire restaurant was amazing too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLindstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
9.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
6.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
6.4 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
6.5 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwaters River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwaters River Lodge

Property: Blackwaters River Lodge
Address: Just off N2, Opposite Buffels Bay turn-off | Goukamma Valley, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackwaters River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in Knysna's Goukamma valley surrounded by indigenous forests you'll find the luxurious Blackwaters River Lodge. Here you can wake to the call of the fish eagle, relax in beautiful gardens, go canoeing on the river, play a round of golf on our mashie golf course, laze around the pool or just enjoy the peace and tranquility from your verandah. Enjoy a picnic on the banks of the river or freshly prepared meals from our wood fired oven in our Earth and Fire Restaurant. In addition you are only 3min away from Buffelsbaai Beach and 10min from the bustling town of Knysna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackwaters River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing