We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cozy and quiet atmosphere”
Review of Peace of Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peace of Eden
Ranked #37 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great if you want some peace and quiet by the forrest, the tents were quite large and comfortable, and surprisingly warm for winter. Loved it there, and the host makes everything easy.
It's a great location if what you are looking for is some resting, walks through the forest. You have a kitchen or you can make a grill as well.
A few minutes drive from quite nice country restaurants, and less than 20 minutes away from Knysna, which has great restaurants and a nice area to walk around.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AlexandruA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a lovely time at Peace of Eden and will definitely be going back. The name says it all PEACE..no cell signal, friendly staff :) I love the fact that they are pet friendly!!(for well socialized furkids!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lubbecorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a lovely, peaceful stay at Peace of Eden. Just what we needed. When submitting photos of our weekend on Facebook, most of my friends wanted to know where we were. It has a rustic style, that I like. Thank you for an amazing weekend away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shaneil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Nice tranquil environment - with very friendly and helpful staff.
All that we needed was provided for. Just that the bathrooms need some attention. Overall gr8 place to stay. will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I truly deeply felt in love with South Africa, and one of the reasons was my first night during a roadtrip in a tent at Peace of Eden. Being soothed by the sounds of nature I felt the stress flowing away from me. Even the noisy Hadidas could not ruin my experience...
I loved it so much that I booked it for another night on my way back.
Howard & Jen are very helpful to make your experience unforgettable. Make sure you have the excellent breakfast before you leave.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EelkeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

What a great place. Loved every second. The cottages were cozy, nice and one could believe you are part of a fairy tale.
Jen was amazing. Her cooking was out of this world and not one meal was the same. She went out of her way to make our trip special. We recommend this to young and old (we are super seniors!). There is so much to do and see and experience. We will be back

Thank you again Jen and Peace of Eden.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 10isman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Lovely tranquil place, really relaxed feel, good facilities, and informative and helpful host (jen) Tents were immaculate and cosy, lovely balcony to sit out on and enjoy the forest sounds. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hawkwind77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.9 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.3 mi away
Forest Valley Cottages
Forest Valley Cottages
#3 of 6 in Rheenendal
219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 6 in Rheenendal
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
3.2 mi away
Homtini Guest Farm
Homtini Guest Farm
#4 of 6 in Rheenendal
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace of Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace of Eden

Address: Rheenendal Road, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: £29 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace of Eden, fondly known by many as 'The Peace Lodge' is a quirky beautiful place that is setting trends as the first Vegan Backpackers Lodge and Retreat in South Africa if not Africa! Only 8 km's off the main N2, its set alongside magical indigenous forests and offers eco rustic creative accommodation from woodcutter Cottages (once the stables), a Barn Cabin, a cute fairy tale double story Cottage and four retro canvas tents on stilts in the forest. Perfect for nature lovers and the more eco green aware travelers. They offer gorgeous 5 star vegan dinners and breakfasts, its best to pre book in winter, however meals are available every day in summer. Whilst nature does most of the entertaining, they also offer an onsight nature Guide who can take you on any adventure, an award winning Music Studio with sunset soirees, festivals and host creative and holistic workshops. Be it for a night stop or used as base to explore the incredible Garden Route National Park, this 'Peace Lodge' is perfect for those wanting to be a little off the beaten track and who love something different from the mostly busy noisy backpackers, traditional BnB or impersonal hotels. Here you arrive as a stranger and leave a friend inspired by the owners Jen, Howard and Jessamine who do what inspires them and share it with love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Peace of Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing