We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury Hotel, Outstanding Little Extras”
Review of The Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Rex Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Luxury Hotel, Outstanding Little Extras”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Great place to stay on the Garden Route. Wonderful attention to details in the rooms. The bathrooms are amazing among the best I can remember anywhere. It was a suite which is always nice and an easy walk to the waterfront.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTheGoCFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    146
    35
    21
    11
See reviews for
101
222
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
406 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

unbelievable spacious suite
friendly service
great location
beautifully furnished
walking distance to waterfront

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFeetZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I have purposely not uploaded the photos of the room for you to discover one of the best hotel rooms in the world.The room is a 1000 sq.ft suite with balcony,living room and bed room. World class furnishings and fittings. The location is right on the waterfront. Although the hotel doesn't have any restaurant of its own, it has tie up with 4-5 restaurants at negligible distance from the hotel. Moon petit-pain serves excellent breakfast ! Try chatters across the street for one of the best Italian food.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aman-Tekriwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I am guessing that before the economy crashed, The Rex was designed as condos. Our room was gorgeous, clean and HUGE. We had a large living room (complete with a flat screen TV, DVD player, and nice sound system), stocked kitchen (stove, large fridge, pots, plates, cups), large deck, and a beautiful room with a free-standing bathtub, king bed and a rain shower.

The hotel is walking distance lots of restaurants, cute shops, and the Waterfront. Would be great for a family or couple staying multiple nights who want the option of having a dinner and a movie night in the room. There is a store that rents DVDs a couple of blocks away and you can order pizza for takeaway from Chatters across the street.

I would suggest more mirrors--there was just one small mirror right next to the shower making it difficult to get ready if someone is showering--and more trash bins, especially in the kitchen. I know these are minor complaints, but with everything else being so wonderful these are easy fixes.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank September R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed at the Rex in late 2010. It was far better than we expected and very contemporary – the kitchenette was really useful and the room lovely (the shower room was very small but worked perfectly). Location was good too.

In fact the only downside was the breakfast which didn’t have a great atmosphere and had been pretty much cleared out (we assume a coach party had been in) so we junked in favour of the rather lovely cafe next door.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aylesburytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoziJETSETTER
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We booked a luxury two bedroomed apartment for three nights in December 2011 and were most impressed by the contemporary architecture of the Property. The staff were remarkably friendly and accomodating and the attention to detail is commendable. This stay was our highlight in the Garden Route.

Room Tip: The kitchen is fully fledged and the food places/grocers are nearby. One need not book breakfast, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoziJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The hotel is extremely well appointed and very well located. An easy stroll to the keys where a host of eateries awaits, it's also close enough to the centre of town where one can do shopping etc. It does offer a self catering option via it's small well stocked kitchen, but you may choose not to use it with all the nice food spots around. Nice furniture, slick design and very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Property: The Rex Hotel
Address: 8 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Knysna’s most elegant and sophisticated accommodation offerings, The Rex Hotel promises its guests superior service and exceptional comfort. Located on the World Famous Garden Route, The Rex Hotel is one of the most exhilarating getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of four-star luxury, the impeccably appointed Rex Hotel offers travelers a gateway to world-class restaurants, blossoming forests and the shores of the serene lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing