We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”
Review of The Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rex Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We booked this hotel as pasrt of a package deal, and it surpassed my expectations. Reception was awaiting our arrival and had our check in documents ready as soon as we got there. However the room was not available as we arrived 4 hours prior to check in, but they kept our luggage for us whilst we went of for an early lunch at the Quays. The room was simply stunning, perfect for a romantic weekend away. It had quite a contemporary and homely feel to it. The corridors were equally attractive as the room itself. I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venetian_Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    149
    35
    21
    11
See reviews for
103
224
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

A modern and stylish hotel hotel with apartment style rooms in the heart of Knysna - convenient for the waterfront etc. Comfortable and well equipped to give a luxury feel. Good service from friendly staff. Enjoyed the Rose cafe.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I called the hotel and asked for a good price and the admin person I spoke to gave me a decent quote for the 80m2, 2 bedroom app. Though not in the most touristy season the price was ok. The hotel has its own restaurant and we ordered dinner and had it brought up -excellent food and quick service. Each bedroom had their own shower and one had a bath tub. The app was neat, classy and with a huge dining table. The location is great -it is in the midst of Knysna. But very close to the Waterfron and the Thesen Island. I would however agree that it is a pity that the rooms doesn´t overlook the beautiful lagoon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mountain77Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed in the Luxury studio apartment which was very well equipped and stylishly decorated. We were met with excellent service and enjoyed a pleasant and luxurious stay. The location at the Waterfront is central, the nice balcony makes one long for a slightly more scenic view ... a pity it doesn't overlook the lagoon. I would recommend the hotel and would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miche1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The standard rooms are a bit small for a longer stay, but tastefully decorated and comfortable. It has a large double bed and two side tables, super large tub with a seperate loo . The breakfast at Rose Cafe was excellent except for the last morning when a large tour group were having breakfast and I do not think the staff and kitchen could cope with such a large number of people.

The hotel is perfectly located. We had a hire car, but only had to drive 10 km's over the 3 days we stayed there. One could easily walk to various destinations.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linmic16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The only two good things about this hotel are the comfortable beds and the modern style. The breakfast is average and the server was a surly kid with zero personality. The bathroom is a joke. You have to put your personal kit on a block of wood under the pedestal sink. The towels are threadbare. Of course there is no free wireless. The place advertised a fitness center, no such thing on site. The hotel changed hands in March 2012 and it appears as a shoestring operation. Look around at other hotels before choosing the Rex.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaway24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Our stay at the Rex in Knysna could not have been any better. The hotel rooms are huge and very very stylish. The hotel is perfectly located for those that like to party at night as you can walk to many of the best restaurants and the Quay. Breakfasts are hosted in a coffee shop next door and are excellent; the gym is next door (for those that actually feel the need to go to a gym on holiday??) - the only thing that irritated is the need to pay for your wi-fi connection....it was free everywhere else on our trip. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLulu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
1.3 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Property: The Rex Hotel
Address: 8 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Knysna’s most elegant and sophisticated accommodation offerings, The Rex Hotel promises its guests superior service and exceptional comfort. Located on the World Famous Garden Route, The Rex Hotel is one of the most exhilarating getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of four-star luxury, the impeccably appointed Rex Hotel offers travelers a gateway to world-class restaurants, blossoming forests and the shores of the serene lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing