We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and maching Hotel”
Review of The Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rex Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and maching Hotel”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Pleasantly surprised to see the facilities in this small town Hotel. Everything was superb. The whole atmosphere was so cool. Just a walking distance from the beach. Breakfast was good. Did not take lunch or dinner since there are so many good restaurants around.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nareshkolkata30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    149
    35
    21
    11
See reviews for
103
224
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Passing through Knysna and stayed for one night. Can't really say much about this hotel. We didn't use any services because we didn't think there was any. The room was clean, more than comfortable but a tad small. With no shower we were a bit disappointed. There wasn't much to do (in Knysna) considering it was winter but we left early the next morning. Couldn't find a decent restaurant close by and all the restaurants downstairs were closed so we had to resort to going out and getting take-away pizza.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willslab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We loved the modern spacious room, large bed and bathroom although the latter was showing a little wear around the edges already. With the sofa, table (making it more of a suite) it was a place to come back to and relax before heading out in the evening again. Bright and airy with a balcony and off street parking.The rooms look into a courtyard and the interior design is original. Whilst could easily have been a modern 'box' there is certainly more interest here.

Location is great, just a few moments walk to the waterfront at Knysna where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from most with a 180 degree view of the lagoon. Alternatively, there are others on Gray Street and and a few 'local' bars and clubs up on the main street.

Breakfast in the Rose Cafe is produced by a very enthusiastic team - just be great if the reception staff were equally enthusiastic. They were helpful but not exactly friendly in the way you might want. Still, they did do their best to arrange a restaurant reservation for us. Still, for one night, the cafe next door was more than enough with what my wife described as "sensible sized portions" and vats of wine. Prices all very reasonable as well.

One of things that did appeal was the very useful guide of things to do / companies in the room. For a slightly unprepared couple it was a good reference and more useful than the generic guides often available in hotels.

Whilst I am tempted to give this four stars I am holding back to give it three. Whilst we liked the place there was something - and may well have been the slightly cold reception from the staff - that on top of a 65RND per hour internet charge and 10am checkout time that keeps it a bit above average.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldtravellersPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed roomed apartment in the hotel in Dec 2012. What I liked was the great location, just a few paces from the waterfront. We had a nice mountain view from a fantastic balcony, and enjoyed the waterfront for supper and breakfast. The decor was amazing, very modern contemporary chic without any cold minimalism. Lovely kitchenette with high-end appliances, comfy couches and lovely beds. We booked via Booking.com that great rates, however breakfast wasn't included. Still, the high-light was the best bakery I have ever been to, is opposite the Reception. Croissants, pastry, bread.........divine!
just a small quibble: the shower in the bedroom can be seen in the sitting room because that small section of the wall is glass........strange! We just showered with the light off and it was fine. i would suggest that management intall blinds there and on the small window in the bedroom that lets in light from the ( gorgeous) passage.

The staff were not terribly polished but they were very helpful.

Given the chance I would go back in a flash.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite at The Rex Hotel and really had a good experience. Located in central Knysna near the water and within easy walking distance to everything, the Rex is well designed and maintained, service was great also.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdh1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The room was great and really spacious. We stayed in a luxury studio apartment.
However, the desk staff was not at all friendly. Our room's air con was not working and despite having complained 3 times there was nothing they could do about it. They could not fix it the next day also and asked us to accept a fan as its replacement in the room.
This is simply not acceptable from such a nice property. The least they could have done was given us something complimentary but I guess that gesture was too much for them.
I am sure there will be better options than this in Knysna.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piyusht04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

In arriving at the hotel, service was excellent, the rooms exceeded our expectations they were beautiful. The seating area for drinks on the evening outside the rose cafe was very comfortable and clean. Our only complaint, if that is the right word, was the service at breakfast, I believe that they were understaffed and therefore the service was very slow. In all though, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareyCarebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
1.3 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Property: The Rex Hotel
Address: 8 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Knysna’s most elegant and sophisticated accommodation offerings, The Rex Hotel promises its guests superior service and exceptional comfort. Located on the World Famous Garden Route, The Rex Hotel is one of the most exhilarating getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of four-star luxury, the impeccably appointed Rex Hotel offers travelers a gateway to world-class restaurants, blossoming forests and the shores of the serene lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing