We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully decorated apartment rather than hotel room”
Review of The Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rex Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2013

It must have been a lucky shot: we booked the last available standard room via Booking.com and ended up in a beautiful one-bedroom apartment that looked more like a well-decorated condo than a hotel room. Some people have published reviews complaining about the matted transparent shower wall that could be looked into, but that is really not an issue. Impossible to make out whoever is in the shower and, hey, who cares. Good furniture, excellent bed and a large balcony/terrace. All just beautiful. There are some issues, though. As my wife puts it: the room was definitely designed by a man. No make-up table or even a place to sit down and do your hair in the vicinity if a wall power socket, so she was on the floor using the mirror on the inside of a closet. The ventilator that switches on when you move into to the shower makes sufficient noise the wake half the hotel (not literally, but definitely whoever is in bed - the shower opens right into the bedroom, so no nightly shower without wakin up your partner. But all and all, a most pleasurable stay at the best thinkable location only a very short walk from the waterfront. One more thing: not every room may be this spacious. We got part of a two-bedroom apartment, and the one bedroom that we didn't get... Was a 24 sqm room that served as a separate hotel room. We would have still been satisfied given the very attractive rate, but compared to the space we got instead this would definitely be a disappointment next time. But hey, aren't we all easily spoilt?

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank gerardpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for The Rex Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

We loved our stay at the Rex. We arrived on a very wet afternoon and were so delighted when we saw our lovely room. It had a separate bedroom, and a large living room. We had a view of the lagoon from our patio. We found the room spotless and the sheets were changed daily. I loved having the large fridge and kettle, etc. For what we paid , it was really excellent value. The hotel is minutes from the waterfront and it has lots of restaurants, coffee shops, and shops very close by. It is situated in a little court yard with some really lovely shops. The gentlemen at reception could not have been more helpful and always tried to accommodate our needs. We took a trip to the beach and they provided towels for us to take with us. Great service indeed.

When we come back to Knysna we will definitely stay here again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaygirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Reception: Good, sorted out our room quite quickly
Room: We stayed in a studio apartment. The room was absolutely lovely, very spacious. I personally loved the decor. Good comfortable big bed with separate lounge area and kitchenette. Disappointed there was no bath though!
Room Service: Not so great :( Consumables weren't replenished on a daily basis. Very disappointing.
Location: Great location! 2 minute walk to the waterfront and right across from a lovely little gourmet coffee shop - great smoothies and food :)

All in all, it was a good stay, but if we didn't pay hotel express rates, I would have thought it was too expensive.

Room Tip: Studio apartment was lovely and spacious but no bath tub.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keshni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We spent 3 nights at this B&B hotel. Our rooms ( for 7 couples and 2 singles) had been booked months before our arrival but there were issues when we arrived. Apparently this is a timeshare hotel so many of the units have 2 bedroom suites with quite huge living/dining areas. Some of our couples were assigned to a single room with double bed, no chair, no fridge, no shower and no space to put a suitcase! As the hotel was fully booked at this point, we were forced into sharing units with other couples for 2 nights until other arrangements could be made. We were all freinds so it worked but it was an invasion of privacy for those that had to share. The hotel is quite modern, looks appealing and has been updated but done on the cheap. The chesterfields were most uncomfortable- soft and big with no back support. Some of the kitchen chairs were plastic. Some rooms had large balconies but there were no chairs on them.
Everyone had consistent problems with the key cards not working and were forever at front desk having them rekeyed. Internet was advertised for a price and several bought the time but it never worked and they had to arrange to get their money back. It is well located near the water front. Plenty of good restaurants in the area. Breakfasts at the hotel were good but service was slow and the buffet part was always lacking in items- have to be constantly asking the servers to replace items. Better to order yoru breakfast as the buffet eggs and bacon were usually cold. No problem in ordering a freshly made omlette- at least it would arrive hot.

Room Tip: Be aware of the double rooms and the small cubbyhole rooms. Be specific re shower, fridge, sitting a...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14bosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Pleasantly surprised to see the facilities in this small town Hotel. Everything was superb. The whole atmosphere was so cool. Just a walking distance from the beach. Breakfast was good. Did not take lunch or dinner since there are so many good restaurants around.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nareshkolkata30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Passing through Knysna and stayed for one night. Can't really say much about this hotel. We didn't use any services because we didn't think there was any. The room was clean, more than comfortable but a tad small. With no shower we were a bit disappointed. There wasn't much to do (in Knysna) considering it was winter but we left early the next morning. Couldn't find a decent restaurant close by and all the restaurants downstairs were closed so we had to resort to going out and getting take-away pizza.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willslab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We loved the modern spacious room, large bed and bathroom although the latter was showing a little wear around the edges already. With the sofa, table (making it more of a suite) it was a place to come back to and relax before heading out in the evening again. Bright and airy with a balcony and off street parking.The rooms look into a courtyard and the interior design is original. Whilst could easily have been a modern 'box' there is certainly more interest here.

Location is great, just a few moments walk to the waterfront at Knysna where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from most with a 180 degree view of the lagoon. Alternatively, there are others on Gray Street and and a few 'local' bars and clubs up on the main street.

Breakfast in the Rose Cafe is produced by a very enthusiastic team - just be great if the reception staff were equally enthusiastic. They were helpful but not exactly friendly in the way you might want. Still, they did do their best to arrange a restaurant reservation for us. Still, for one night, the cafe next door was more than enough with what my wife described as "sensible sized portions" and vats of wine. Prices all very reasonable as well.

One of things that did appeal was the very useful guide of things to do / companies in the room. For a slightly unprepared couple it was a good reference and more useful than the generic guides often available in hotels.

Whilst I am tempted to give this four stars I am holding back to give it three. Whilst we liked the place there was something - and may well have been the slightly cold reception from the staff - that on top of a 65RND per hour internet charge and 10am checkout time that keeps it a bit above average.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldtravellersPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
0.6 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
#16 of 30 in Knysna
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Address: 8 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: £77 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Knysna’s most elegant and sophisticated accommodation offerings, The Rex Hotel promises its guests superior service and exceptional comfort. Located on the World Famous Garden Route, The Rex Hotel is one of the most exhilarating getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of four-star luxury, the impeccably appointed Rex Hotel offers travelers a gateway to world-class restaurants, blossoming forests and the shores of the serene lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing