We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Knysna!”
Review of The Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Rex Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Knysna!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Luxury suits & rooms near Knysna Waterfront just one Min , friendly staff , nice Breakfast Cold & hot they make it as your request included of the stay
The only negative point I face during my stay : It was Cold & all air condition in the room & leaving room doesn't work to heater!
They send us a heater in the same day & next day thy fix the air condition in the bedroom but still they can't fix the leaving room one!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thamer-Awliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Threecities, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Mr Thamer-Awliya,

Thank you for completing a review on Trip Advisor. We value all comments received.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. However my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused with regards to the air conditioner. Unfortunately the unit in the living room needed a part to be replaced and therefore took a bit longer to be fixed.

Once again my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rex Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    146
    35
    21
    11
See reviews for
101
222
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at the Rex this past weekend. The hotel was beautiful and we loved the walking distance to the waterfront. Breakfast was a great variety and we were incredibly impressed. Spacious rooms and friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natelie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Threecities, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Mrs Natelie,

Thank you for posting a comment on trip advisor. We value all comments received.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rex Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Our stay at the hotel started very well, since while checking in, we were upgraded to a better room, which was very spacious, clean, beautifully decorated, and had a small kitchen with all the amenities you might need to prepare your breakfast or dinner. Me and my wife had dinner at Valentine’s Day in the room tasting a delicious South African wine. Breakfast is not included, as although it’s name is Rex Hotel, it’s like an apartment or a vacation rental rather than an hotel. Location is the best, a few steps from waterfront, as well as from many restaurants. The only downside is that they don't provide free wireless. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Threecities, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Mr Marcelo,

Thank you for completing a review. We value all comments received.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It was only a pleasure to have been able to upgrade you to a luxury suite. With regards to the wifi, we are currently in the process of sourcing an alternative supplier.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rex Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed for two nights and cant complain about the hotel other than it was quiet and had no restaurant in the evening on site but with so many close by not an issue

check in was fast and curteous, our room was upgraded to a half suite with a switting area which was nice to sit ad relax in the evenings, room had large balcony but no seating which is odd.

Location was good being two minute walk from the waterfront, good value for money and would recommend to others without having to think too much about it

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I am currently at the Rex, I checked in with my Grand Circle group last night. Our group of 35 received luxury rooms, mainly 2 room suites. I walked in to room 109 and was horrified! The carpets were in poor condition (heavily stained), the lamp shades were also heavily stained, and the only countertop available was covered with coffee stains. This room was barely big enough to fit the two twin beds that were pushed together. I paid the same amount for my trip as the others in my group, why did I receive a room in such poor shape? My tour director hinted that since I am a first time traveller with GCT I was not entitled to a better room. I even tried to get GCT to place me in another hotel, no luck. I hope Roger Chulow (Regional General Manager - Africa) sees this review. He should be ashamed that one of his customers has been treated so poorly. Not a good introduction for me as a consumer to a travel company that relies on word-of-mouth referrals.

Room Tip: Refuse to accept room 109
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2016
Dear Guest,

My apologies for the room you received. Unfortunately room allocations are done as per availability. I am happy to advise that we have attended to all your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Masuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We booked a suite as we were staying for three nights from Monday 15th April and really appreciated the extra space. Our well appopinted suite looked on to the atrium and was very quiet. The hotel is well sited just two blocks from the Waterfront and safe to walk to in the evening for restaurants, boat trips etc. The bed was very comfortable, great bathrooms, comfy sofa for watching television and breakfast was available in the Rose Cafe each morning - we did not use the kitchen facilities with so many restaurants nearby! The staff were also very welcoming and helpful. Would definitely stay again if/when we return to South Africa.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandJHyndland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This Apt hotel is one of the best I ever stayed in not only in South Africa but most of the places I went to
I stayed in two bedroom apt. and it was huge and decorated great, Beds were comfortable and the room is cleaned daily
the hotel breakfast was nice and you need to try the pancakes
over all the hotel is great and I really recommend it

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tHeOnLyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
800 reviews
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
6.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Property: The Rex Hotel
Address: 8 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Knysna’s most elegant and sophisticated accommodation offerings, The Rex Hotel promises its guests superior service and exceptional comfort. Located on the World Famous Garden Route, The Rex Hotel is one of the most exhilarating getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of four-star luxury, the impeccably appointed Rex Hotel offers travelers a gateway to world-class restaurants, blossoming forests and the shores of the serene lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing