We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Africa trip”
Review of The Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rex Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“South Africa trip”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June in a 1 bed apparent, the location is very central a minuets walk from the harbour shops. The apartments are modern and very equipped, the mountain bikes at reception are good for getting about. The breakfast in the morning was really good with friendly service. I would definitely recommend staying here. We did a kayak trip with Tony Cook adventures around the heads it was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisjohncox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We value all comments received.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanking you in advance for the recommendations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rex Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    148
    35
    21
    11
See reviews for
103
224
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem OR
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Loved having kitchen. Some rooms are huge with separate area for bedrooms. Bathrooms are not set up with older people in mind. Extremely deep tubs and no grab bars of any kind. Light breakfast available.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review. We value all comments received.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The family stayed at The Rex en route to PE, what a fantastic "little hotel" close to both the Waterfront and the centre of town. The Rex is stylish and modern, however it is also so welcoming and comfortable. Plenty of space and "seperation" for adults and their offpsing to not be in each others faces. Surrounded by some great restaurants and Pubs, as well as a super little breakfast experience downstairs.

Full 24 hr security was offered for our parking garage.

Room Tip: Ask for the family room, two bedrooms en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Mr Graeme,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value all comments received.

I am delighted to hear that your family had enjoyed their stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming them back to The Rex Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our sat nav told us the hotel was on the right hand side of Gray Street, near the end, but it still took us 3 circles of the block to find the hotel. It seems that they wish to keep it a secret and only advertise its presence with fairly small signs set way up on the wall above the level of the shop signs. Even the car park has no signs to indicate its attachment to the hotel. However, once found, the hotel reception was very good and we were shown quickly to our 2 suites, 110 and 106. Both were similar and, on first impressions, looked very attractive in a modern, minimalistic style. It was only subsequently that we realised the shortcomings of the design.
The first point was the available storage for clothes, etc. There was only a narrow, single wardrobe for hanging items, with associated shelves and a couple of drawers. Had we been staying for more than our 2 planned nights, we would still have been forced to 'live out of a suitcase' and been unable to unpack. More importantly, the toilet are was incredibly cramped. As well as the loo itself, there was just a very small single wash basin, a small pedal bin and a wooden stool. There was no shelf and the only light was in the centre of the ceiling, throwing one's face into shadow at the mirror. This made it extremely difficult to shave or apply make up accurately (not for the same person!). Additionally, the only available space to put one's own toiletries, because of the small surrounds to the basin, was on the stool, but that area was already occupied by the hotel's toiletries and cloths. Finally, the only other mirror, a wall mounted, full length one, was in the corner of the room, behind an armchair and partially hidden by the curtain drapes, rendering it very difficult to access. Additionally, as my wife pointed out, there was no electric socket nearby, so rendering the efficient use of a hair drier or curling brush impossible.
In sum, the rooms seemed to be beautifully designed, but by someone who had not tried living in them, with a companion, for any length of time. Hence, I would only recommend the hotel for very short stays.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WIWOL92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value all comments received.

My sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused. With regards to the signage, we are in the process of re-doing our signs. I will most certainly put forward your concerns to our owners as we strive to ensure guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rex Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Nice, central location to waterfront and restaurants in evening. Check in was a bit rushed and not all information was given to us. However the lady was in training. Room nice and spacious. They offered us complimentary sparkling wine which was really special and I thought they went the extra mile with this - thank you! The breakfast was also fine, more attention could be given eg filling items up that's empty. Not hiding the bowls in the cupboard would also be great. I would recommend this hotel especially for people staying a bit longer as there is a kitchen as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the waterfront entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lale-Burg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Leigh,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We value all comments received.

My sincere apologies for the rushed check-in process that you have received. As mentioned the receptionist is still training and I can assure you that the next time you come and visit us, the service would be superb. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed the wine and it was only our pleasure to have given it to you. I will most certainly have a word with the restaurant manager as refills should be done constantly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rex Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I Manoj Raveshia stayed at Hotel Rex at Knysna on 24/06/2013 for 2 nights. The experience at this hotel was amazing and excellent. The total staff at the reception, the restaurant, the house keeping was very warm and welcoming. The quality of rooms, cleanness, the food was par excellent. it was value for money. Mainly the head of the team Masuda - GM made sure that all the guest staying in hotel are comfortable and had pleasant stay. Please keep it up and all the best .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mannank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Threecities, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Mr Raveshia,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We value all comments received.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for your kind words and I will most certainly pass this onto my staff.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to The Rex Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Luxury suits & rooms near Knysna Waterfront just one Min , friendly staff , nice Breakfast Cold & hot they make it as your request included of the stay
The only negative point I face during my stay : It was Cold & all air condition in the room & leaving room doesn't work to heater!
They send us a heater in the same day & next day thy fix the air condition in the bedroom but still they can't fix the leaving room one!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thamer-Awliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Threecities, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Mr Thamer-Awliya,

Thank you for completing a review on Trip Advisor. We value all comments received.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. However my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused with regards to the air conditioner. Unfortunately the unit in the living room needed a part to be replaced and therefore took a bit longer to be fixed.

Once again my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rex Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
1.3 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Property: The Rex Hotel
Address: 8 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Knysna’s most elegant and sophisticated accommodation offerings, The Rex Hotel promises its guests superior service and exceptional comfort. Located on the World Famous Garden Route, The Rex Hotel is one of the most exhilarating getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of four-star luxury, the impeccably appointed Rex Hotel offers travelers a gateway to world-class restaurants, blossoming forests and the shores of the serene lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing