We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look first for another ****hotel”
Review of The Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rex Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have been in the REX in March 2014 for 3 nights Room 102+103
the establishment of the apartment was beautiful, but:

the lights by the beds are too dark to read a book!
the Toilet wiggles on the flowing ground, making noise when you sit down and stand up in Room 103
the cushions are worn out.
the light in the bathroom-mirror is too dark, you can not shave or put on makeup.
the Internet is limited, very difficult to use! not according to a **** standard of a hotel, about I feel really sad, not for businesspeople! should be free.

rooms of the permanent guests should be ready ca.13h, because personnel lack it is impossible, although the girls are very hard working and clean. they are working till the late afternoon cleaning the rooms.
No toiletbrush in Bath
breakfast no fresh bakery, cheape cheese, bacon and sausage -no real Quality for ****Hotel
in the extra things the managmentcompany is just looking unfortunately saved cost much as possible-conscious - too bad!
Im sure other people have also complain, but there are just answera from the Management: " We are sorry..........."


tilla Paur


The wi-fi was 'complementary' but could never connect properly and so did not work.

Look around at other hotels before choosing the Rex.

Of course there is no free wireless.

Breakfast was average with a small choice .

Standard rooms really not suitable for two people with luggages and there is no shower in the rooms. Just a bath.

The wi-fi was 'complementary' but could never connect properly

Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Room Tip: is there is a pool? ask for room with bath, better look for another hotel;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tpaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Mr Paur,

I am so sorry that your stay at The Rex left you with the impression that you have posted on Tripadvisor and will take up correspondence with you outside of this forum to discuss your concerns.

Regards,
Masuda Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. Very large, clean and nice rooms with convenient location. The only thing I could complain about was the breakfast, but we became really spoiled when it came to food, and the Rex's breakfast was a tiny bit boring. Other then that, great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helentabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Helentabe,

Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel. I am happy to advise that we have re-looked at our breakfast offering and we would love you to return and experience that and some more of the special place that Knysna is.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rex Hotel.

Regards,
Masuda Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights; the Rex is very convenient for the Water Front and its' restaurants and shops, and with underground parking. Good breakfasts.
A very comfortable stay, quite luxurious rooms with balconies and ours had a small kitchenette. Only downside was shower cubicle without a door in a small bathroom - the water flooded the floor and out into the sink area of the bedroom, containable with towels!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear GB54,

Many thanks for reviewing The Rex Hotel on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for bringing the issue with the shower to my attention - not what one wants during a ‘comfortable stay’ and we will certainly have it seen to.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Masuda Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Three years ago during my last Africa holiday the Rex hotel was the best. This time I was highly disappointed. During an electric outage the hotel team did handle the incident not professional. The emergency light went of out battery. From reception and the team no word of sorry or help!
The hotel is not maintained well e.g. Light in the hallway are broken. Also the hotel is very clean. The air condition I the standard rooms blows direct on the bed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jkress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear jkress,

I would like to sincerely apologise for your experience during the power outage and I am sorry that this left you with a perception of a decline in our hotel. I can assure you that your comments are of great concern and will be dealt with accordingly.

We do wish to see you again on your next trip to the Garden Route.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We have booked the standart room and recieved a room with a bath without shower head so it wasnt possible to have a shower. After long disput we recieved another room paying extra charge.the room itself was amazing!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tali24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Tali24,

Thank you for your comments and the compliment for our rooms. It is true that our standard rooms have a bath only. We are, however, in the process of looking into having hand showers installed.

We hope you will consider staying with us again for future visit to Knysna.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I just spent a night at Rex, but it was a very good experience. The hotel is just a block away from the Waterfront (plenty of restaurants to choose), very friendly staff, really nice room. Knysna is also an excellent option to spend a night when traveling along the Garden Route.
The only point for improvement is signalisation. I arrived at night and it would be difficult to find the hotel if I hadn't checked it before on google maps.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VGS_Br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear VGS_BR,

Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have had a good experience at The Rex Hotel as we strive for guest satisfaction at all times. With regards to the signage, I am happy to advise that we have re-done our signage and it is more visible now.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rex Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We booked the Rex based on its location as we wanted to be able to walk to the waterfront and home again at night an not need to worry.

The check in was sooth and easy.

The room was very spacious and clean. The shower was amazing! The room could be described more of a suite as you have a table to sit at, cooking facilities and a sitting area with a TV. The bed was very comfy also.

The hotel is just rooms, there is no bar or lounge area open of an evening but you are so close to the waterfront this isn't really a problem.

The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rharwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear rharwood,

Many thanks for your comments on trip advisor. I am pleased that you had such a good experience at our hotel. I will certainly pass your comment about the bar and lounge area on to our owners, and hope to welcome you back on future Garden Route trips.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
828 reviews
0.6 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#2 of 30 in Knysna
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
#17 of 30 in Knysna
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Address: 8 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: £91 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Knysna’s most elegant and sophisticated accommodation offerings, The Rex Hotel promises its guests superior service and exceptional comfort. Located on the World Famous Garden Route, The Rex Hotel is one of the most exhilarating getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of four-star luxury, the impeccably appointed Rex Hotel offers travelers a gateway to world-class restaurants, blossoming forests and the shores of the serene lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing