We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One word: Awesome!”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the deck at Prospect Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the deck at Prospect Cottage
Your home away from Home Deck at Prospect Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
80 reviews
View from the deck at Prospect Cottage
Your home away from Home
Deck at Prospect Cottage
Giraffes on the deck at Prospect Cottage
Lounge area with comfortable couches
Corner of the comfortable lounge
View out of the lounge window.
African Art on the lounge wall
Dining room
Master bedroom with queen size bed
En suite bathroom with shower, toilet and basin
3rd bedroom with 2 single beds and a view over the lagoon.
3rd bedroom with 2 single beds
2nd bedroom with double bed and views over the lagoon
View from the 3rd Bedroom
Family bathroom with separate shower, bath, basin and toilet.
Hallway at Prospect Cottage
Kitchen
Family bathroom with separate shower, bath, basin and toilet.
Braai (  BBQ)
How to find Prospect Cottage.
Knysna Lagoon
Sunset at the Knysna Waterfront.
Sunset at the Knysna Waterfront
Knysna Waterfront.
Knysna Waterfront.
Paddle Steamer on the lagoon
Knysna Waterfront.
View of the Knysna Heads from Bollard Bay
Knysna Lagoon
Western Head
Knysna Lagoon
Low tide at  Bollard bay beach
Knysna Lagoon from the Heads
Knysna beach and lagoon
Lagoon views
The Heads,
Jubilee Creek in the Knysna Forest
Jubilee Creek
Knysna forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Knysna, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rudie B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One word: Awesome!”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Prospect Cottage is everything you need for an awesome holiday! Neville and Liz are friendly and provided us with great info for the surroundings and even made an effort to advise us of potential load shedding scheduled for our first night. We can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to the finest detail in terms of what a visitor might require.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your review, we loved having you stay with us at Prospect Cottage. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter196...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed a lovely stay at Prospect Cottage. The owners met us on arrival and gave lots of useful tips for the best places to visit and eat. The accommodation is bright and spacious with a veranda which benefits from early morning sun and is great to eat breakfast on. Ideally situated for the Waterfront and town centre the property is located up a quiet lane with no passing traffic. The views from the lounge looks out on the lagoon and the Knysna Heads in the distance. We stayed for 6 days...it wasn't long enough to enjoy everything that Knysna has to offer. We'll definitely be back and wouldn't hestitate to stay at Prospect Cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us - most appreciated! So glad you enjoyed the cottage and we look forward to another visit from you in the not too distant future. Regards, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn M
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and service, beautiful views.”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We were greeted by the owners who had even boiled the kettle for us and we were shown around the house. The house was very neat and tidy and there were even Easter eggs on the pillows in the rooms. We had a wonderful stay and the place is beautiful and quite in a cul de sac. Tremendous views of the Knysna lagoon, and close to the main shopping mall as well. Very well situated as you come into Knysna but still close enough to go to the waterfront or Thessen Island.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you found our cottage so comfortable and that you felt it was value for money. The views are spectacular and we loved sharing them with you. We hope that you will be back again soon - perhaps for Easter 2016 ! Regards, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolene0...
Brackenfell, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday home”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We read all the reviews and was so excited to stay @ Prospect Cottage and we were not dissapointed. Neville & Liz welcomed us and gave us tips on places to visit and even gave us discount vouchers for places that we wanted to visit.

The views are magnificent from the deck, lounge and bedrooms. The cottage have everything that you can imagine to make your stay as relaxed and stress free as possible. From the complimentary bottle of wine to the little sweets and treats everywhere in the house.

We will definately go back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
So glad you enjoyed your time at Prospect Cottage. It was kind of you to write a review for us. We do appreciate it very much. Hope you will return and visit us again in the not too distant future. Regards, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve1205
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cottage with everything”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Our second stay at this property so we knew what to expect and weren't disappointed. A fine location with lovely views across the lagoon, the cottage is equipped with anything that could possible be required. Some things could do with updating but overall the place is highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
We are so thrilled you loved your stay with us. Thank you for the lovely review.Remember updating also means putting up our prices ! We know we off er good value for your pounds! We hope to see you again when you are next back in South Africa . Regards, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie P
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a wonderful location”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Stunning views, tranquil surroundings and even better star lit evenings. If you are looking to get away from the city, and just watch as nature goes about it's thing - this is the place to go!
Such a wonder stay, and so much to do within such close proximity of the house...truly lovely. Thanks Gert for being so helpful as well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views
Liked least: The shower and access to hot/cold water overall
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Hello, Glad you enjoyed your stay in Knysna and at Prospect Cottage .We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you for taking the trouble to review the cottage. Regards, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londonmat...
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We had a short stay in Knysna, but enjoyed our time here. The cottage is very large with 3 separate bedrooms and a huge livin room. Views from the living room and deck down onto Knysna lagoon are amazing and the owners are really nice. However a decent scrub and some more housekeeping and maybe a little less decorating would be well appreciated.

All in all would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2014
Hello, So glad you enjoyed your stay in Knysna and acknowledged that we are good value for money. We pride ourselves on giving good value to all our visitors at Prospect Cottage. Hope the rest of your South African trip was wonderful and that you saw the lions in Addo. Regards, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing