We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss Knynsa Stays guest house!”
Review of Knysna Stays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knysna Stays
Ranked #15 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
“Don't miss Knynsa Stays guest house!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here two nights on our Garden Route drive and would have stayed longer if we had more time. The accommodations were outstanding and the breakfasts absolutely delicious---but what made it special were Lloyd and Rose. Lloyd is an owner and Rose the manager and there couldn't be any kinder or more helpful people anywhere. It was a pleasure to speak to Lloyd who spent a great amount of time offering suggestions of what to see and do. He even called an ostrich farm to set to make sure I got an ostrich ride before driving to the farm quite a few miles away. Rose waited up for us the first night as we miscalculated our time and arrived later than what we hoped. Our visit to Knysna Stays was a highlight of our trip and we would most definitely come back---and we will!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkbellme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for writing this wonderful complimentary review.
It was such a pleasure to be able to host you and your sister at Knysna Stays.
I so enjoyed our conversations each morning and especially hearing about your experience with the ostrich which made Rose and I laugh.
Reviews like yours mean so much to Trish & I and also especially to Rose and all our staff.
Your kind words give us great confidence in knowing we can offer our guests a fantastic experience at Knysna Stays. We so enjoy taking care of our special guests and helping them enjoy their experience of Knysna to the upmost.
We can't wait to see you again here at Knysna Stays.
Kind regards,
Lloyd, Trish , Rose and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    32
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
202
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Graaff-Reinet
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Wow, no words from any reference book could give a clear picture of the warm, love, support and hospitality provided in this Guest House. Rose and Llyod we're amazing. I surely would come back again and again. Thank you so much guys. Rose I still feel I owe you, you are such an amazing soul. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: Knysna , was where I stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kutala P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Wow what a review !
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
Rose our manager was so thrilled and honoured by your kind words and appreciation.
Reviews of this nature area wonderful boost to us and our team and enable us to continue to grow our guest house and be able to offer great service and ensure our future guests havea wonderful stay.
Thank you so much again for your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back here to Knysna Stays in the future.
Kind Regards,
Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in Feb 2013. Lloyd is an excellent host and has great knowledge of the area. He advised us well on the attractions, as per our interests and not just the usually listed main ones. We stayed in the Sedgefield suite which was nice and comfortable and breakfast was relishing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Knysna Stays.
We and our team are so pleased we were able to offer you a healthy breakfast to set you up to enjoy your tours in Knysna and the surrounding areas.
Positive reviews help us to progress our business and create employment for local people who are following a career in the hospitality industry.
Kind regards,
Lloyd , Trish , Rose our manager and all the team Knysna .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday and the first 4 days we stayed here with Lloyd and his team, we originally booked 2 nights but within 10 mins of arriving decided we had to stay another 2 nights, it was a delight to stay here. This was first class accomodation and the team were lovely. Rose the on site Manager was lovely and nothing was too much trouble for her and the team. Lloyd helped us plan our days to ensure we saw as much of Knysna as we could including he wonderful Bell Tavern on the Beledere Estate. We will definately be back here as it was top class accomodation which was well priced.

Room Tip: book directly with Lloyd and the team, make it a long stay as you will enjoy it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbdbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful reveiw , sorry for the delay in responding we have been busy preparing for the new season which has now arrived and we are enjoying a glorious spring here in Knysna.
Your review is so much appreciated as it helps us to continue to offer employment opportunities to local people who are progressing their careers in the hospitality industry.
It boosts us all at Knysna Stays to know our guests are happy with the service and facilities we provide here at Knysna Stays.
Kind Regards,
Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We had 3 nights at Knysna Stays. Playing golf one day with the 50% green fee reduction at Simola, one of the best maintained courses in the area with excellent facilities for the non golfer. Knysna is a good base to visit the area from and the restaurants and bars at the island and quays are not to be missed. Wilderness National Park and the mines are a good outing for the day. We stayed in the Wilderness Suite with a 5 foot bed, balcony, 2 chairs and a table, a squashy wicker armchair, twin basins,shower and a bath tub, 6 channel tv in the room but a big screen tv in the lounge. Free wi-fi. Wonderful breakfasts in a great outdoor setting.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnludkiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you so much for this fantastic reveiw .
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Knysna Stays .
This positive reveiw helps us and our staff to try to acheive an excellent standard for all our guests.
Also it helps Knysna Stays Guest House to continue as an established business here in Knysna and provide employment to local people who then have opportunity to progress their careers in the hospitality industry.
Thank you again for this excellent reveiw .
Kind regards,
From Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This was my second visit to Knysna Stays and if possible I think it was even better than my first trip! I booked directly rather than use an online booking agency and this was much easier. Trish was always prompt and efficient to reply and it was much more of a personal service dealing with the owners directly.
On arrival I received a warm welcome from Rose and the team. The rooms were better than I remembered as they are spacious, clean and modern with everything you need provided. Breakfast was a feast that really sets you up for the day!
Lloyd was always available each morning and full of ideas about how to fill your day. With his personal in depth knowledge of the area he enabled me to see and explore more than I'd done on previous visits. I really got to see all Knysna and the surrounding area had to offer. If it hadn't been for Lloyd I wouldn't have heard of much of what I did at all, he makes an excellent tour guide!!! This really was an added bonus I wasn't expecting but really helped to make my holiday as I certainly made the most of my time there.
Thank you so much Lloyd, Trish and the team for a highly enjoyable stay. I can't wait to go back again as there really is only one place for me to stay during my visits to the area and that's Knysna Stays!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hehe30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It is lovely to see return guests. We can't wait to see you again!
Lloyd , Trish & all the team at Knysna Stays .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

What an amazing find! My husband and I stayed 14 nights and had an absolutely wonderful holiday. We chose three different accommodations within Knysna Stays as we like the variety and we couldn't have been more impressed with all 3. Lloyd the owner soon caught on to the fact that my husband loves his golf and arranged several rounds for him and other golfers at the stunning Simola and Perzula golf courses. You'd think that things couldn't get any better than that but he offers fantastic corporate rates!! A dream for Golfers and non golfers alike as i don't play but I was able to use the stunning pool at Simola, Bliss!! Lloyd and Trish, not only owners, but perfect hosts. A big thank you to all of the staff, in particularly the beautiful, kind, hard working and funny Rose who made us laugh every day. We miss you all!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Agenthallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Manager at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Wow what a fantastic review.
Thank you so much for spending the time to write this detailed review of your happy experiences in Knysna and surrounding areas and especially here at our guest house Knysna Stays.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your golf at Simola and Pezula and it was a pleasure to have the opportunity to join you and our German guests on the golf course at Simola. Not quite the standard of play for the US masters but excellent for the Knysna Stays open, and great fun was had by all.
Rose and our staff enjoyed the laughter and conversations every morning at breakfast and wanted to give you a special gift of local flowers before you left to thank you for being such wonderful guests.
We will always remember you and hopefully we will see you again.
Warm Regards,
Lloyd , Trish , Hannah , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.2 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#13 of 127 in Knysna
246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#14 of 127 in Knysna
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 127 in Knysna
210 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
273 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hide Away Guest House
Hide Away Guest House
#11 of 127 in Knysna
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Stays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Stays

Property: Knysna Stays
Address: 25 Old Toll Road | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Stays 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Stays has been newly built and furbished to create the perfect place to stay whilst you explore Knysna and it's beautiful surroundings. If you are looking for a holiday destination that provides endless opportunity for the whole family this is the destination to travel to. Knysna Stays can offer you stylish accommodation with excellent facilities, but can also ensure the right direction to suit your preferred requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Knysna Stays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Stays Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing