We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING HOSPITALITY”
Review of Knysna Stays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knysna Stays
Ranked #14 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“AMAZING HOSPITALITY”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I arrived after a long Journey at Knysna Stays around 8pm. Being exhausted we just wanted to get showered, eat and go to bed. We were warmly welcomed by Rose with her usual smile and assistance in taking our luggage to the apartment. Our first thought was WOW this is amazing. The apartment was spacious, homely, had all amenities, CLEAN. I has come to Knysna for a surgery and this was going to be home for 2 weeks.
A few days later I had the surgery and came back to the Guest house. Rose on the very next day
came to our room and gave us Breakfast. All the staff were so friendly, full of smiles and caring. We never felt away from home.
Llyod and Trish were wonderful hosts, everyday Llyod was giving us ideas for excursions and always ready to help to make the most out of our stay there. All in all I can only say a very big Thank you to all of the Staff and Llyod and trish for taking good care of us and we will be back soon.
I recommend anyone who is travelling through Knysna to have at least a night here. It truelly is a amazing place and the area is full of lovely sites and facilities for travellers to enjoy the Garden Route.
Umang and Beena Gossain

Room Tip: The apartments are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UMANGGOSSAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you so much Umang & Beena for this wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your long stay with us , we always enjoy having guests for longer than average stays as it is great to get to know them especially knowing you are also in the tourism industry running amazing game drives in Tanzania. We all enjoyed listening to your fascinating experiences and stories of life in Tanzania. We are so pleased we were able to offer you a wonderful experience here in one of the most beautiful parts of South Africa on the garden route in Knysna .
We look forward to seeing you again here at Knysna Stays.
Warm regards from Lloyd , Trish Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    32
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
202
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Everything about Knysna Stays is exceptional and the experience has to be recommended!! Thank you so much Lloyd and Tricia, Rose and the staff. The warmth and beauty of South Africa we found echoed within this wonderful guest house.
Submitted by Pat and Chas, Kent, UK

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Chas & Pat, Wow what can one say , what a lovely review . Thank you!
Also we would like to thank you both for staying here at Knysna Stays we had such fun meeting you and we enjoyed your company and sense of humour.
We were so pleased you were still able to enjoy Knysna , South Africa especially as your friends needed to return to England urgently.
We hope to see you all again at Knysna Stays .
Lloyd is looking forward to another round of golf at Simola next time you are here.
Warm regards from sunny Knysna , Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Modern and clean rooms. Warm welcome from Rose and Lloyd. Stayed in the Plettenberg Room which had a double and a single bed. Nice terrace with lovely view. We were two and enjoyed the space. Intended to stay one night but extended it to 3. Internet access was very good. Breakfast cum Lounge room was tastefully furnished. Place is gated so felt very safe.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jin29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review.
Positive reviews are much appreciated , they promote Knysna as a top holiday destination, they benefit the towns economy and help create jobs for local people.
Thank you again from Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was the absolute best weekend getaway. Our room was beautiful, comfortable, and very clean. The view was stunning; but the owner and staff were the real stars. One of the staff found out it was my birthday and they sang to me at breakfast (the breakfast was outstanding, by the way). Wonderful experience and will definitely stay there again. Thanks Lloyd for the gift. Remember...our house when US and England play.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney_Poplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you so much Rodney for taking the time to write this excellent reveiw.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your special birthday weekend with us.
It was such a pleasure to accommodate you and your wife and we are honoured that you chose Knysna Stays to celebrate your special occassion.
We are looking forward to the world cup next year and will take you up on your offer to watch a game together if the USA play England, we will see you in George with all our England scarves and hats !
Thank you again to you and your wife . We look forward to seeing you both again at Knysna Stays.
Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here two nights on our Garden Route drive and would have stayed longer if we had more time. The accommodations were outstanding and the breakfasts absolutely delicious---but what made it special were Lloyd and Rose. Lloyd is an owner and Rose the manager and there couldn't be any kinder or more helpful people anywhere. It was a pleasure to speak to Lloyd who spent a great amount of time offering suggestions of what to see and do. He even called an ostrich farm to set to make sure I got an ostrich ride before driving to the farm quite a few miles away. Rose waited up for us the first night as we miscalculated our time and arrived later than what we hoped. Our visit to Knysna Stays was a highlight of our trip and we would most definitely come back---and we will!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkbellme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for writing this wonderful complimentary review.
It was such a pleasure to be able to host you and your sister at Knysna Stays.
I so enjoyed our conversations each morning and especially hearing about your experience with the ostrich which made Rose and I laugh.
Reviews like yours mean so much to Trish & I and also especially to Rose and all our staff.
Your kind words give us great confidence in knowing we can offer our guests a fantastic experience at Knysna Stays. We so enjoy taking care of our special guests and helping them enjoy their experience of Knysna to the upmost.
We can't wait to see you again here at Knysna Stays.
Kind regards,
Lloyd, Trish , Rose and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graaff-Reinet
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Wow, no words from any reference book could give a clear picture of the warm, love, support and hospitality provided in this Guest House. Rose and Llyod we're amazing. I surely would come back again and again. Thank you so much guys. Rose I still feel I owe you, you are such an amazing soul. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: Knysna , was where I stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kutala P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Wow what a review !
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
Rose our manager was so thrilled and honoured by your kind words and appreciation.
Reviews of this nature area wonderful boost to us and our team and enable us to continue to grow our guest house and be able to offer great service and ensure our future guests havea wonderful stay.
Thank you so much again for your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back here to Knysna Stays in the future.
Kind Regards,
Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in Feb 2013. Lloyd is an excellent host and has great knowledge of the area. He advised us well on the attractions, as per our interests and not just the usually listed main ones. We stayed in the Sedgefield suite which was nice and comfortable and breakfast was relishing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Knysna Stays.
We and our team are so pleased we were able to offer you a healthy breakfast to set you up to enjoy your tours in Knysna and the surrounding areas.
Positive reviews help us to progress our business and create employment for local people who are following a career in the hospitality industry.
Kind regards,
Lloyd , Trish , Rose our manager and all the team Knysna .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
7.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
3.6 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Stays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Stays

Property: Knysna Stays
Address: 25 Old Toll Road | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Stays 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Stays has been newly built and furbished to create the perfect place to stay whilst you explore Knysna and it's beautiful surroundings. If you are looking for a holiday destination that provides endless opportunity for the whole family this is the destination to travel to. Knysna Stays can offer you stylish accommodation with excellent facilities, but can also ensure the right direction to suit your preferred requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Knysna Stays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Stays Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing