We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing stay ........”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Knysna Stays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knysna Stays
Ranked #13 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay ........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Spent 4 nights here while taking a break doing the Garden Route. We were in a self catering apartment but took advantage of breakfast each morning. Great to have the lovely chocolate labs lounging around at breakfast just waiting to be petted! Apologies to the hosts who looked after us so well for taking so long to post this review! Rose was absolutely lovely and Lloyd kept us right on all the things to do locally.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlander116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review.
We always enjoy having guests from Scotland. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and beautiful Knysna and the Garden Route.
Warm reagrds,
Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team including Basil and Diesel our four legged friends with wagging tails .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    32
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
202
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Picked this guest house having read the reviews on trip advisor and couldn't have wished for more.

We were met on arrival by Rose who made us extremely welcome and showed us to the Plettenberg Suite.

The suite itself has wonderful views towards the lagoon and Knysna Heads and has its own outside terrace. It is very comfortable.

The breakfast was superb and Lloyd the owner arrived every morning and helped us to plan our day. Lloyd is obviously very knowledgeable of the local area and works very hard so that you get the best out of your stay.

We contacted Lloyd direct before we booked our stay and he very swiftly answered our queries and even sent us suggested itineraries.

I had read a negative comment about the dogs but they were extremely well behaved and were kept out of the dining area and were not an issue at all.

Knysna itself is small but is a good central point to go out and explore the Garden Route.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sturmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this great reveiw . Sorry for the delay in responding the guest house has been so busy we have enjoyed a wonderful December and January at Knysna Stays.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in South Africa.
Kind regards,
Lloyd , Trish , Rose all the team at Knysna Stays not forgetting the chocolate labradors , Basil & Diesel, who enjoy their morning visit to greet our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurenlingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We decided to spend five days at Knysna Stays as it is perfectly located to get to the nearby golf courses. A very warm welcome by Rose made us feel like at home from the very beginning. Lloyd (the owner) is a perfect host, very helpful when questions arise.
We played golf at Simola and Pezula, two courses in excellent condition. Thanks to Lloyd, we got great green-fee packages. And if you feel you need a golf-partner, ask Lloyd to join you!
Thanks Lloyd, thanks Rose and the whole team. It was all perfect from A to Z. We enjoyed it very much and are looking forward to coming back.
Adrian + Gaby

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianGaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Adrian & Gaby,
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your golfing stay at Knysna Stays Guest House. Hopefully we will see you back here again soon and maybe this time Lloyd will be able to join you for a game.
Warm regards,
Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oranjezicht
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Returned after a very pleasant stay last year _ the hospitality and accomodation is still as wonderful! Lloyd is a great and very helpful host ably supported by his staff (especially Rose!). Hope to be back next year. Thanks, Lloyd.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Sandy,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review .It was great to see you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you both back to Knysna stays n November 2014.
Warm reagrds,
Lloyd, Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Owner Lloyd, Manager Rose, and all the well-trained staff know that their job is to give guests a great carefree experience. This place punches way above its price. Nothing is too much trouble, and the place is brand spanking new. Immediately following my booking Lloyd personally emailed me with suggested driving tour itineraries, and notwithstanding this, appeared every breakfast time with printed weather forecasts for each guest, and ensured that every guest was fully geared to a planned day - whether a day of relaxation by the Pool, or a day out to a place of recommendation determined by the weather. He and Rose could not have been more helpful. Again, honest restaurant recommendations proved extremely successful with us. Wonderful to see such a hardworking team being so successful. A useful policy of upgrading rooms whenever possible might tempt you to book a cheaper room, but beware ! This place is becoming extremely popular and the chances of getting the upgrade are becoming slim ! Don't hesitate to book here. You won't regret it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AviationSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Wow , thank you so much for taking the time to write this detailed review .
Guest reviews like this are so benefical as they promote Knysna a small town as a top holiday destination which creates jobs for local people this them the opportunity to improve their income and lifestyles so they can benefit from their careers in the tourism industry.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Knysna Stays Guest House. Most of all it is so nice to know we can offer great value to our guests without comprimising on quality or excellent service.
Kind regards ,
Lloyd Trish & rose and all the team at Knysna Stays Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I arrived after a long Journey at Knysna Stays around 8pm. Being exhausted we just wanted to get showered, eat and go to bed. We were warmly welcomed by Rose with her usual smile and assistance in taking our luggage to the apartment. Our first thought was WOW this is amazing. The apartment was spacious, homely, had all amenities, CLEAN. I has come to Knysna for a surgery and this was going to be home for 2 weeks.
A few days later I had the surgery and came back to the Guest house. Rose on the very next day
came to our room and gave us Breakfast. All the staff were so friendly, full of smiles and caring. We never felt away from home.
Llyod and Trish were wonderful hosts, everyday Llyod was giving us ideas for excursions and always ready to help to make the most out of our stay there. All in all I can only say a very big Thank you to all of the Staff and Llyod and trish for taking good care of us and we will be back soon.
I recommend anyone who is travelling through Knysna to have at least a night here. It truelly is a amazing place and the area is full of lovely sites and facilities for travellers to enjoy the Garden Route.
Umang and Beena Gossain

Room Tip: The apartments are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UMANGGOSSAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you so much Umang & Beena for this wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your long stay with us , we always enjoy having guests for longer than average stays as it is great to get to know them especially knowing you are also in the tourism industry running amazing game drives in Tanzania. We all enjoyed listening to your fascinating experiences and stories of life in Tanzania. We are so pleased we were able to offer you a wonderful experience here in one of the most beautiful parts of South Africa on the garden route in Knysna .
We look forward to seeing you again here at Knysna Stays.
Warm regards from Lloyd , Trish Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Everything about Knysna Stays is exceptional and the experience has to be recommended!! Thank you so much Lloyd and Tricia, Rose and the staff. The warmth and beauty of South Africa we found echoed within this wonderful guest house.
Submitted by Pat and Chas, Kent, UK

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Chas & Pat, Wow what can one say , what a lovely review . Thank you!
Also we would like to thank you both for staying here at Knysna Stays we had such fun meeting you and we enjoyed your company and sense of humour.
We were so pleased you were still able to enjoy Knysna , South Africa especially as your friends needed to return to England urgently.
We hope to see you all again at Knysna Stays .
Lloyd is looking forward to another round of golf at Simola next time you are here.
Warm regards from sunny Knysna , Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
7.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
3.6 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Stays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Stays

Property: Knysna Stays
Address: 25 Old Toll Road | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Stays 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Stays has been newly built and furbished to create the perfect place to stay whilst you explore Knysna and it's beautiful surroundings. If you are looking for a holiday destination that provides endless opportunity for the whole family this is the destination to travel to. Knysna Stays can offer you stylish accommodation with excellent facilities, but can also ensure the right direction to suit your preferred requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knysna Stays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Stays Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing