We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Knysna Stays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knysna Stays
Ranked #16 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stay here! You won't be disappointed. Rose and the staff are superb and I echo the comments made by Angela G.....Lloyd goes out of his way to make you feel at home and he gives very useful tips regarding your stay in the Knysna area.

Room Tip: We were in the Sedgefield Room which had a balcony with a nice view out over the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Anne & Richard,
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. This has cheered us all up having just received a poor review from a guest who did not understand our efforts to try and do the upmost for them and who criticsed us for a situation which was completely beyond our control.
We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for writing this wonderful reveiw which has made the whole team smile again and it has boosted our confidence knowing you had a wonderful stay.
We hope to see you both again.
Warm regards from sunny Knysna , Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed in a big apartment with a bedroom, living room, big kitchen and an even bigger bathroom. Unfortunately, we had a view over only the parking lot. I think it's nicer if you get a room upstairs because then you will probably be able to see the lagoon. The place was a bit further from town than we thought. The area felt safe and guarded.

We had a car and it took about 5-7 min to drive down to Knysna Quays or Thesen Island. It's a bit far to walk. It was a bit difficult to drive out from the hotel on to the road since the driveway is very steep. The restaurants in town were quite busy so make a reservation is you have a special place you want to go. We loved Ile de pain and Sirocco.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arwems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this reveiw of your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our great Knysna weather especially as it is so wet and cold at the moment in Europe.
Warm Regards from Sunny Knysna ,
Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

what a perfect place in Knysna!!!! We will come back that`s for sure.
Very nice Room with Balcony and View over the Lagoon. Great big Bathroom. Lloyd was there every Morning to take care of his guests and gave helpful Tips to make the Stay perfect. Restaurant Reservation, Golf Arrangements,...
And a nice Bottle of Wine as a Farewell Present ;-)))

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi Angela,
Wow what a lovely review. We were so glad you both stayed here at Knysna Stays and especially as you are such keen golfers and we were able to offer you great special rates for golf at Simola and Pezula which we know you really enjoyed. Thank you for the fun and laughter you brought to our guest house. All the staff are missing you both and we look forward to seeing you back at Knysna Stays soon.
Kind Regards,
Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the staff at Knysna Stays Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Exellent service and hospatality. Everything is in place and very well organized. Keep up the exellent service and good work. The lodge is very clean and tidy and great looking. The food is exellent and even better than some restaurants. A very big thanks to Rose and Lloyd. We couldnt ask for better service.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamont1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you so much for this wonderful reveiw. We are delighted that you really enjoyed our breakfasts and we can't wait to see you both again here at Knysna Stays.
Kind Regards,
Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had a very nice time in Knysna Stays. The house is perfect, the breakfast setting near the pool super and the food is delicious. The welcome was very warm en the owner very helpfull with tips about things to see and do in the surrounding area.
A place to return to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Anne ,
Thank you for taking the time to post this great reveiw.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Knysna Stays Guest House in the future.
Kind regards,
Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Knysna stays was definitely the best out of all the places we stayed at during our trip up the east coast. At affordable rates I really don't see how you can do any better than this. You can easily tell that the owner gives great attention to the details that make this guest house a comfortable, neat and beautiful place to stay at. Breakfast is served in a common area with helpful staff to make you feel welcome and take your orders. The owner is also there in the mornings to greet his guests, chat for a few minutes and offer friendly advice on what to do in Knysna and the surrounding areas. The location is also great as you can get onto the N2 quite easily and go either direction. You are also close to town, so getting to the Waterfront or Thesen Island is easy. Fast Wi-Fi is a big plus as well as a spacious room and balcony, a swimming pool and a super quiet AC in the room. The TV is a tad on the small side, but who goes to Knysna to watch TV anyway? Safe parking on the property behind a security gate was also great.

Room Tip: We had the Wilderness room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review .
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and all our facilities including our secure parking which is insurance company approved .
Kind regards,
Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Spent 4 nights here while taking a break doing the Garden Route. We were in a self catering apartment but took advantage of breakfast each morning. Great to have the lovely chocolate labs lounging around at breakfast just waiting to be petted! Apologies to the hosts who looked after us so well for taking so long to post this review! Rose was absolutely lovely and Lloyd kept us right on all the things to do locally.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highlander116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review.
We always enjoy having guests from Scotland. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and beautiful Knysna and the Garden Route.
Warm reagrds,
Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team including Basil and Diesel our four legged friends with wagging tails .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.6 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
275 reviews
1.3 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#15 of 127 in Knysna
203 reviews
14.6 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
649 reviews
2.0 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#22 of 127 in Knysna
300 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 127 in Knysna
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Stays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Stays

Address: 25 Old Toll Road | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £55 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Stays 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Stays has been newly built and furbished to create the perfect place to stay whilst you explore Knysna and it's beautiful surroundings. If you are looking for a holiday destination that provides endless opportunity for the whole family this is the destination to travel to. Knysna Stays can offer you stylish accommodation with excellent facilities, but can also ensure the right direction to suit your preferred requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Knysna Stays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Stays Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing