We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING”

Emzini Township Tour
Ranked #1 of 48 Tours in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

IF- you are in Knysna area, please arrange a Township tour and an evening meal/entertainment.
It is an AMAZING experience and a educational event all in one.
The guide is very friendly and also has a headful of information at the same time.
Don't be frightened of things you've heard about, its a wonderful, friendly, unbelievable experience. GO.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank matt w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    17
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An impactful glimpse of township life”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Ella and Penny are two incredible tour operators who are doing their part to bridge a complicated cultural divide. Seeing township life gave me some hope for a better future for the kids there, while also showing how far things have yet to go. This thought-provoking experience was definitely a highlight of our time in Knysna.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeeGlaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haastrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best morning we've spent in South Africa”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This tour has given us a glimpse of the other side of an otherwise amazing country - it's weird to think that a few kilometres from the Waterfront, out of sight over the brow of the hill, lives a community of 20-odd thousand people that the average tourist is oblivious of.

We were very impressed by the work Ella and Penny do; the two ladies who run Emzini. The tours helps fund the valuable work Emzini does in the community, such as the Emzini Skills Centre that helps teens to find jobs through courses they offer and supporting them in their job search. Though not part of the normal tour, we were lucky to be able visit this centre.

The tour and the time spent drinking tea at Ella's home, being taught by her lovely bunch of foster kids to get our tongues around the clicks of Xhosa and singing to the drums was unforgettable. This is a must-see if you want to get to know South Africa.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray_Hyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tim and Merrielle Billington (UK)”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

What a wonderful way to be introduced to a township in South Africa. Ella, the resident, who took us into her home and introduced us to the many foster children she looks after, and then shared her story. A tonic to see black and white working so closely together for the benefit of their community. If you are anywhere near Knysna you must include this tour in your visit. Thank you very much, Ella and Penny

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank trmbillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaventem, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very nice opportunity to see real life in the often ignored townships”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were glad we booked the townshiptour. This gave us the opportunity to let us (parents with 2 young children) see the other side of the city. Not just to show them their problems, but also to show them their engagement to build a better life. And in Ella's and Penny's case, not only for themselfs, but for all those who need their help and support!
We had a warm welcome and with all the information felt part of Ella's (and Penny's) life for a few hours. Our children played with the 3 to 6 year old children in the school playground, enjoyed the childrens willingness to play with them, laugh and sing with them and the immediate friends they made.
It made them think about giving everyone a chance to become friends, what makes you happy in life and what you can do to help those who do not have that luxery.
Ella invited us in her house and made us feel very welcome.
We never felt unsafe during the tour, there was always an answer to our questions and the children enjoyed the tour and it had a positive impact on them as well as us.
So please do book the townshiptour to make sure you saw all parts that make South Africa!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emzini Township Tour also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Emzini Township Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing