We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knysna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #70 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed one night at 9 on heron and Margo & Agnieszka were so welcoming and helpful. The room was good. It was spotless and had nice touches of beach themed pictures and decor. The breakfast was excellent and filling. There are nice little things like the owners checking if you have any dietary requirements the night before they prepare your breakfast. They directed us to good places to eat and places to visit. They even provided maps and marked good routes to take to see the countryside. It is not far from the town and there is a pub within walking distance. They recommended The Heads restaurant and we had an excellent view and a good lunch. The B&B is surrounded by amazing plants and trees. There is also the benefit of free wi fi which is invaluable for travellers. There is a variety of places to have an evening meal in Knysna. I would not hesitate to recommend 9 on heron B&B for an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Smallish but very comfortable and homely rooms. Charming fully wooden building. No dstv but that only mattered to my mother. We had a lovely time around the very nice Braai area with friends in the evening. A swimming pool would have been nice, but then again I guess you can't have it all... The 2 hosts are a pleasure.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Hardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed at 9 on Heron for a week in October. Margo and Agnieszka were the perfect hosts recommending places of interest to visit and good nearby restaurants. The room was very pleasant and clean. I will definately be back to stay at 9 on Heron when I am next in Knysna.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k_ferrucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We spent two nights in 9 on Heron and had a really good time. The rooms were tidy and well furnished, breakfast was really good. The B&B is located in a quiet surrounding not far away from the city centre and all the places to visit or eat out - make sure you have a car, though, as walking might be too far. Margo and Agnieszka were very helpful and knowledgeable, pre-booking dinners for us and having very good ideas about what to do during our stay.
I thought it was a bit sad that the "lounge-area" could not be used after 6pm meaning that there was no place to sit and chat with other guests or the hosts in the evenings.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We spent three nights last October. We had a lovely experience, the two owners are very kind and helpful, they helped us to book restaurants, to find places to visit and explained us how to reach and discover local beauty. The b & b is very quiet, clean and situated in a residential district not so far from downtown. Fantastic breakfast.We loved the place at first glance.Highly recomended

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psagretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We spent 2 nights in 9 on Heron. Margo and und Agnieszka gave us a very warm welcome and lots of ideas for sightseeing, dinner, etc. Our room was spacious and clean and individually and tastefully decorated (with selfmade arts). The location is quiet and has a very nice garden. Parking direct and save in the courtyard. We did enjoy Agnieszka´s breakfast as well as a nice picnic. For a beach day they provided us parasol and beach towels. We felt like holiday by friends.

Room Tip: We were the only guests and had the biggest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatiundMicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great place to stay with very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Owners/staff know their stuff and very helpful in suggesting local stuff. Very considerate and can't do enough to help. Quiet but great location for the town centre and East head cafe which is just down road and great place for breakfast/lunch. Real character.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jituno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treeCX, Owner at 9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you so much for this positive response to all our efforts. We really enjoy hosting friendly guests like yourselves and it's great when you also enjoy our updated suggestions. Thanks again for choosing to stay at our BnB and we hope to meet you again and share more local secrets with you. All the best, Kindest Regards from a sunny Knysna, Margo and Agnieszka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.5 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
277 reviews
19.1 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
2.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
6.4 mi away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 6 in Rheenendal
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9 Herons Way, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £34 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 on Heron has become a popular choice with budget-conscious travelers. This cozy bed and breakfast is set in a quiet and secure area, surrounded by a lovely garden. The guest house is located 10 minutes drive from the centre of Knysna town and close to many restaurants and natural scenery. The positioning is good if you prefer a peaceful time, but like to be close to local attractions. The closest neighborhood restaurant is within 5 minutes walking distance. Parking is free of charge and located near the rooms. The property has a security gate and owners live on-site. The rooms are comfortably furnished, offering a en-suite private bathroom, outdoor patio, free wi-fi, local TV and a tea tray. Fridge facilities are available. A delicious full breakfast is served in the upstairs dining area and the friendly hosts will gladly offer their help with booking a restaurant etc. Guests are made to feel at home and supplied with a variety of updated local information to help them enjoy their stay Knysna. Nearest Airports: Cape Town - 6 Hrs drive. George - 60 min drive. Port Elizabeth - 3 Hrs drive ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing