We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knysna... Nice, ne!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lavender Hill Guest House
Ranked #46 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Knysna... Nice, ne!”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Rented the self catering unit, and was clean, well maintained, had everything we needed, and was very central to most of the sites we visited in and around knysna. Our hosts were charming and pleasant. It was overall an awesome experience! Highly recomendable!

Room Tip: If self catering is one of your choices, then this is the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
30
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Lavender hill guest house is perfectly situated. Close to the beach and all view points. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the self-catering apartment. It was small but comfortable. The apartment is adequate with the basic amenities and kitchen equipment present. However our fridge was not working. The owners arranged very quickly to have it fixed however it should have been checked prior to our arrival. The other problem was the lack of couches in the tv room. There were chairs in the tv room but u could not really relax or chill out on them. Lavender hill is worthwhile if u just want a place to sleep. There is no pool so u'd have to go to the beach to swim. For the price it was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urvi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Great place to stay! Each morning the breakfast was excellent and the host and hostess, Cecil and Edith, were always cheerful and helpful. We stayed with our 12 year old son in the family suite and had all the comforts of home. The view of the lagoon from the private balcony was great. The location is close to all the beautiful sights and any shopping you want to do. We stayed 10 days and so the in house laundry service was greatly appreciated. It was prompt, reasonable and well done. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Family Suite is quiet, and well appointed. The kitchen has everything you could need. The two bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilson002, Owner at Lavender Hill Guest House, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you Barbs for staying at Lavender Hill, Cecil and I enjoyed having your group and the wonderful energy you brought into our guest house. We look forward to having you again in the near future. A little bird told me it may be next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We had a wonderful stay @ Lavender Hill. Cecil and Edith were warm, kind and gracious hosts! Excellent Breakfast, beautiful and clean rooms, incredible views. An additional welcomed perk was their laundry service which was prompt and very reasonable. I look forward to a return stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilson002, Owner at Lavender Hill Guest House, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Pastor Lane
Thank you for the lovely review. Cecil and I enjoyed your stay in our guest house. Its not often that we have a group of 7 young men staying at Lavender Hill + doing the wonderful work you did in the township. May your group go from strength to strength.
God bless you all. Edith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Great stay! Edith and Cecil are wonderful! Perfect place in a perfect city. Recommend highly. The room was comfortable - always clean. The breakfast was excellent. Was with a group of 10 and they took good care of us!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Great B&B with warm, friendly and hospitable hosts, Cecil and Edith. The rooms are clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Excellent location, lovely views and easily accessible. Breakfast is delicious and very accommodating. Don't hesitate you book, you'll miss out if you don't. It comes highly recommended

Room Tip: The front room is lovely and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Attentive, welcoming guest house that made the guests feel very well-looked after.
This accommodation gives excellent value for money.
Hospitable hosts accommodated 5 girls with a cooked breakfast & very early send off to the airport on their day of departure.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncantrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Amber Guest Lodge
Amber Guest Lodge
#36 of 126 in Knysna
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rexford Manor
Rexford Manor
#55 of 126 in Knysna
26 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#38 of 126 in Knysna
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Knysna Manor House
Knysna Manor House
#42 of 126 in Knysna
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
47th on Howard Lodge
47th on Howard Lodge
#10 of 103 in Knysna
82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#22 of 126 in Knysna
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Hill Guest House

Property: Lavender Hill Guest House
Address: 22 Wilson Street | Hunters Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lavender Hill Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying an excellent location in Knysna, close to the Knysna Heads & Leisure Isle for safe swimming and lovely walks , our 3 star guest house provides a wonderful destination guaranteed to deliver a memorable stay at competitive prices, and not forgetting 2 golf courses. Lavender Hill offers 2 Double rooms and 1 twin room upstairs each with a private balcony plus 1 Double room & 1 Twin room downstairs which lead onto a large deck overlooking our garden, abounding with a myriad of bird life for our guests to enjoy. All our rooms are equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, a bar fridge, heaters and fans. All rooms have flat screen tv's with dstv. A full English breakfast is served in our dining room or on the deck weather permitting. A two bedroom self catering apartment is available for a family of four or 2 couples travelling together. This large unit has a fully equipped kitchen with open plan lounge, with tv + dstv. In the comfort of Lavender Hill you are assured of warm personal service where you can enjoy your stay in our beautiful town.Braai's (barbeques) offered to guests staying longer than 2 days, please give tell us 24 hours in advance. Price on application.The property has secure off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lavender Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing