We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lavender Hill” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lavender Hill Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lavender Hill Guest House
Ranked #42 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Velserbroek
2 reviews
“Lavender Hill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

It was our second visit to Knysna and our first visit to Lavender Hill. We had a wonderfull stay. Cecil and Edith workes very hard to make our stay was very comferatble. The breakfast was great every morning with lots of choices to make. Thank you very much Cecil and Edith for our excellent stay al Lavender Hill. We hope to come again in the future

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
30
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

My stay at Lavender Hill couldn't have been better. Edith and Cecil were great hosts and made my first trip to Knysna unforgettable. Food was great and accommodations were clean and comfortable. All around great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Djhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was our second visit to Lavender Hill and we enjoyed it all over again. Edith and Cecil are gems and work hard to make sure your stay is enjoyable and comfortable. We stayed in one of the upstairs front rooms with our, now thirteen year old, son. There was plenty of room for all three of us and the beds were very comfortable. The white coverlets on the beds really are as pristine and lovely as they look in the pictures and the remainder of the room was immaculate and was kept that way throughout our entire visit by the staff. We spent nine nights and ten days and thoroughly enjoyed each and every one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Edith and Ceil made our group feel at home and made a great week even better. The breakfast each morning was terrific. The housekeeping was great with clean rooms everyday. I would highly recommend that you include Lavender Hill as part of your Knynsa experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tombrinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is my second stay with Edith and Cecil and loved it again! It is a great home away from home. The service is exceptional - 5 STAR quality! Wonderful breakfast - attentive service - very clean rooms.

Great location - close to the city, close to the heads, and beautiful view.

Don't pass up a chance to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

It was like being at home.... Very friendly people, Cecil and Edith. Very beautiful. Look forward to returning. Very gracious people. Great location with a very beautiful view. Real close to the Heads and right next to a golf course and down town

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent only one night with Edith and Cecil and it felt like visiting friends! Warm welcoming people in a beautifully appointed home with delicious food. It was a rather cold and rainy day and we were kindly offered a glass of sherry! Will definitely recommend this wonderful B&B to everyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuroraGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.8 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#14 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#17 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
AestAs Bed & Breakfast
AestAs Bed & Breakfast
#52 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bridgewater
Bridgewater
#26 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
4.0 mi away
Badger's Lodge
Badger's Lodge
#32 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Hill Guest House

Property: Lavender Hill Guest House
Address: 22 Wilson Street | Hunters Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lavender Hill Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying an excellent location in Knysna, close to the Knysna Heads & Leisure Isle for safe swimming and lovely walks , our 3 star guest house provides a wonderful destination guaranteed to deliver a memorable stay at competitive prices, and not forgetting 2 golf courses. Lavender Hill offers 2 Double rooms and 1 twin room upstairs each with a private balcony plus 1 Double room & 1 Twin room downstairs which lead onto a large deck overlooking our garden, abounding with a myriad of bird life for our guests to enjoy. All our rooms are equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, a bar fridge, heaters and fans. All rooms have flat screen tv's with dstv. A full English breakfast is served in our dining room or on the deck weather permitting. A two bedroom self catering apartment is available for a family of four or 2 couples travelling together. This large unit has a fully equipped kitchen with open plan lounge, with tv + dstv. In the comfort of Lavender Hill you are assured of warm personal service where you can enjoy your stay in our beautiful town.Braai's (barbeques) offered to guests staying longer than 2 days, please give tell us 24 hours in advance. Price on application.The property has secure off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lavender Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing