We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
Review of The Knysna Belle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Knysna Belle
Ranked #34 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Gillianne and Jo are fabulous hosts and we loved their restaurant recommendation system. Breakfasts superb, rooms lovely and we made full use of their by cycles and kayaks. A beautiful spot right on the lagoon - always felt very safe and secure too.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    15
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
82
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Loved our time at The Knysna Belle. Gillianne and Jo looked after us beautifully. Felt comfortable and private. Great breakfasts. Plenty of good local restaurants. Lovely outlook near to little beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Delightful place on the lovely unspoiled Leisure Isle. We highly recommend this place if you want to relax in a comfortable homely place, beautiful rooms beside pool or overlooking Knysna bay. Warm friendly ambience created by Gillian and Jo.

Room Tip: They are all good, just decide if you want to be by the pool or at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 185DavidL185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We can fully recommend this B&B. Jo welcomed us with warmth and hospitality. The location, the rooms and the pool area, all is very nice in the very relaxing environment of leisure isle. As well a very good breakfast. Just one little disadvantage, the entrance of our room, the Nautilus room, is heading towards the parking area and is on the same level as the parking area, that means from here you can look directly into the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaunusFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandson, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The house is located in a very quiet place on Leisure Island, very close to the center of Knysna. No noise around apart the birds. The place is amazing, close to the lagoon with a small beach. The B&B have kayaks and bicycles to allow more visiting experiences. The personnel is friendly and there is a big living room with games and books. Our rooms were clean, large and nice. The breakfast was really good and well prepared. Both Jo and Gillianne were helpful and could give us good advice for dining and visiting.

Room Tip: Nautilus room is superb, with view on the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chico_5805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I and our 2 kids (aged 8 and 10) stayed here in October 2013. This is a beautiful property in an excellent location with great facilities. The service and food were superb and the views amazing. Our two boys loved the ability to help themselves to the mountain bikes and kayaks in the garage. The Leisure Isle is a very safe and relaxing location and this waterfront property makes the best of what the location has to offer. Hope to be back again some time in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BURNETIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
264 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful relaxing 2 day stay. We stayed in Annie Benn which looks onto the pool & garden. Christopher and Gillianne were very friendly & helpful. Great breakfasts. We loved the fresh fruit & hot home baked muffins. The house overlooks the lagoon. Kayaks & bikes are available at no cost for the guests to use. The electric blanket is my favourite to warms up the bed. Comfy flop in sofas in the lounge which looks onto the lagoon plus a real fireplace. I was almost disappointed that we had such great weather. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecsonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Leisure Isle Lodge
Leisure Isle Lodge
#20 of 126 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#9 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.2 mi away
African Breeze Guesthouse Leisure Isle Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bollard Bay House
Bollard Bay House
#44 of 126 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knysna Belle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knysna Belle

Property: The Knysna Belle
Address: 75 Bayswater Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Knysna Belle 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knysna Belle Guest House offers a relaxing atmosphere with Bollard beach just a few paces from our front door where guests can relax and enjoy the tranquility of island life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Knysna Belle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing