We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All you could want from a luxury Bed and Breakfast - perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Knysna Belle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Knysna Belle
Ranked #34 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brenchley, Kent
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“All you could want from a luxury Bed and Breakfast - perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

From our greeting on arrival to our departure our short stay was memorable. The light and airy room was spotless, beautifully appointed and had all the luxuries you expect in a top hotel. The outlook from our private patio over the garden to the Knysna Lagoon set the scene.
The friendly staff made sure we had everything we needed, gave us advice on the area and even booked a fantastic restaurant within walking distance.
Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden was a delight and there was even a fresh flower on our napkin. The fresh fruit was artistically placed on our plates and the cooked breakfast excellent.
We will return next year for a longer stay!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManofKent_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    15
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
81
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

We have just returned from another wonderful trip to Southern Africa and once again stayed at the legendary Knysna Belle. Last year we only managed a 'taster' at this lovely guest house but last week spent five glorious nights - call us greedy but we could have stayed even longer!

The position of the Belle means that one enjoys sunshine, fresh breezes and spectacular views from every aspect. The bedrooms are stylish, individual and super clean. Ample wardrobe space, crisp linen and high quality matresses and pillows. All with either full bathroom or showers en-suite. The hottest water and white fluffy towels. Welcome trays with tea, coffee and biscuits are appreciated too.

Breakfast to suit every possible taste and appetite served with attention to detail down to the tiniest flower displays on each plate. The fruit salad was my personal favourite but my husband loved a full 'English', followed by cheeses!

After such a feast one could borrow a bicycle and cycle the island (approx 2 miles) round trip, or, use one of the canoes and enjoy the lagoon just a few paces from the Belle's lawn. Fishing could be another pursuit to add to swimming and walking. Of course you could choose just to laze by the blue pool, reading and sun bathing on the ultra luxurious steamer beds. The bird life is fascinating too and it was great fun watching a particular pair irrigate the lawn oblivious to our being only feet away.

There is an abundance of good restaurants within a few minutes of the Knysna Belle so going hungry need not be an option once breakfast has been digested. After an evening meal out, on returning to the house, enjoy a last drink before bed either on the terrace or in the sitting room where there are a wonderful mix of books and magazines to enjoy.

If I had to say what was best about our recent visit to the Knysna Belle, I would say arriving. The least would be leaving. Thank you to all the happy and helpful staff who make this the most special of places.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyMinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asserbo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

If you intend to visit South Africa we can highly recommend you to visit the town Knysna - big enough to be intertained, small enough to feel at home. Knysna is situated on the coast of the Indian Ocean on the Garden Route. Just outside the town you have Leisure Isle. There we stayed at the most wonderful, charming and peaceful guesthouse THE KNYSNA BELLE. Overlooking the lagoon, where you can also swim. The top floor - Captain´s Quarters - is a luxury and spacious suite with a fantastic view from terraces on the four sides. The interior decoration is the most personal and light we ever have experienced. Breakfast second to none.
We intended to stay 2 nights but ended up with 6 nights !!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollersoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Egecombe, KZN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

Leisure Isle is a glorious location made even better by being able to stay at the Knysna Belle. Their hospitality cannot be equalled, the breakfasts are amazing and the accommodation is supremely comfortable. This establishment cannot do anything more to better themselves and, quite frankly, I cannot think of enough superlatives to do it justice.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RowenaMtEgecombe_KZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

A magical hidden paradise in a stunning location directly facing the lagoon. We only stopped for a couple of nights en route but next time we plan to stay much longer to savour fully the idyllic, restful ambience of Leisure Isle and to take advantage of the what we were told was Knysna’s only totally safe swimming beach nearby.

The Captain’s Quarters, our ‘room’ on the first floor was in fact a luxuriously appointed monster suite with a magnificent full length sun balcony with stunning views along the lagoon.

Our delicious ‘full English’ breakfasts were served al fresco in the secluded rear garden with the sound of birds chirping in the background and the sun sparkling on the pool. The building itself is constructed in New England clapperboard style and this only adds to the overall charm.

The Knysna Belle is a family run affair and the attention to detail and to us as customers was exemplary. In fact we were treated more like friends than customers and the owners even took us for a ride in their boat along the lagoon and around the fascinating upstream waterways bordered by a mix of new residential properties and various vibrant shops and restaurants.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AirmilesAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful two week trip in South Africa, we stayed for two nights in the Knysna Belle, I really wish it had been much longer, we really did not want to leave. Our room was The Captains Quarters, the top floor with a terrace that wrapped round the whole building, the views were absolutely spectacular over looking the lagoon and beach with a view right up to Knysna Heads. We spent hours sitting on our terrace taking in the beautiful views.
The hosts were great and really went out of their way to help you enjoy your stay recommending restaurants, local sights etc.
The breakfasts were wonderful, fresh fruit every morning and tasty cooked to order english breakfasts.
I loved this B&B and I would highly recommend The Captains Quarters room, clean,bright, spacious and AMAZING views!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali_Jonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

We recently spent a couple of nights at this luxurious bed and breakfast, which turned out to be too short a stay.
Beautiful location on exclusive Leisure Island, minutes from Knysna Waterfront.
Lovely accommodation, superb breakfasts, and friendly, efficient, unobtrusive staff. Cannot recommend highly enough.
M .J .&L . UK

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#8 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leisure Isle Lodge
Leisure Isle Lodge
#21 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
African Breeze Guesthouse Leisure Isle Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bollard Bay House
Bollard Bay House
#42 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knysna Belle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knysna Belle

Property: The Knysna Belle
Address: 75 Bayswater Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Knysna Belle 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knysna Belle Guest House offers a relaxing atmosphere with Bollard beach just a few paces from our front door where guests can relax and enjoy the tranquility of island life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Knysna Belle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing