We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to be....”
Review of The Knysna Belle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Knysna Belle
Ranked #33 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Beatiful and very well run B&B only a few steps from the Lagoon.

Gillianne, the Managers, is a very pleasant and helpful lady who makes a wonderful breakfast and can give a lot of good advices about Kynsna and its community.

The owner offered us a nice boat ride and there are also bikes and canoe to use for no charge.

The price/ quality ratio is very good and we hope to have the chance to go back there soon again.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank pitbuehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for The Knysna Belle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2010

From our greeting on arrival to our departure our short stay was memorable. The light and airy room was spotless, beautifully appointed and had all the luxuries you expect in a top hotel. The outlook from our private patio over the garden to the Knysna Lagoon set the scene.
The friendly staff made sure we had everything we needed, gave us advice on the area and even booked a fantastic restaurant within walking distance.
Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden was a delight and there was even a fresh flower on our napkin. The fresh fruit was artistically placed on our plates and the cooked breakfast excellent.
We will return next year for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManofKent_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We have just returned from another wonderful trip to Southern Africa and once again stayed at the legendary Knysna Belle. Last year we only managed a 'taster' at this lovely guest house but last week spent five glorious nights - call us greedy but we could have stayed even longer!

The position of the Belle means that one enjoys sunshine, fresh breezes and spectacular views from every aspect. The bedrooms are stylish, individual and super clean. Ample wardrobe space, crisp linen and high quality matresses and pillows. All with either full bathroom or showers en-suite. The hottest water and white fluffy towels. Welcome trays with tea, coffee and biscuits are appreciated too.

Breakfast to suit every possible taste and appetite served with attention to detail down to the tiniest flower displays on each plate. The fruit salad was my personal favourite but my husband loved a full 'English', followed by cheeses!

After such a feast one could borrow a bicycle and cycle the island (approx 2 miles) round trip, or, use one of the canoes and enjoy the lagoon just a few paces from the Belle's lawn. Fishing could be another pursuit to add to swimming and walking. Of course you could choose just to laze by the blue pool, reading and sun bathing on the ultra luxurious steamer beds. The bird life is fascinating too and it was great fun watching a particular pair irrigate the lawn oblivious to our being only feet away.

There is an abundance of good restaurants within a few minutes of the Knysna Belle so going hungry need not be an option once breakfast has been digested. After an evening meal out, on returning to the house, enjoy a last drink before bed either on the terrace or in the sitting room where there are a wonderful mix of books and magazines to enjoy.

If I had to say what was best about our recent visit to the Knysna Belle, I would say arriving. The least would be leaving. Thank you to all the happy and helpful staff who make this the most special of places.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SurreyMinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

If you intend to visit South Africa we can highly recommend you to visit the town Knysna - big enough to be intertained, small enough to feel at home. Knysna is situated on the coast of the Indian Ocean on the Garden Route. Just outside the town you have Leisure Isle. There we stayed at the most wonderful, charming and peaceful guesthouse THE KNYSNA BELLE. Overlooking the lagoon, where you can also swim. The top floor - Captain´s Quarters - is a luxury and spacious suite with a fantastic view from terraces on the four sides. The interior decoration is the most personal and light we ever have experienced. Breakfast second to none.
We intended to stay 2 nights but ended up with 6 nights !!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollersoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Leisure Isle is a glorious location made even better by being able to stay at the Knysna Belle. Their hospitality cannot be equalled, the breakfasts are amazing and the accommodation is supremely comfortable. This establishment cannot do anything more to better themselves and, quite frankly, I cannot think of enough superlatives to do it justice.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RowenaMtEgecombe_KZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

A magical hidden paradise in a stunning location directly facing the lagoon. We only stopped for a couple of nights en route but next time we plan to stay much longer to savour fully the idyllic, restful ambience of Leisure Isle and to take advantage of the what we were told was Knysna’s only totally safe swimming beach nearby.

The Captain’s Quarters, our ‘room’ on the first floor was in fact a luxuriously appointed monster suite with a magnificent full length sun balcony with stunning views along the lagoon.

Our delicious ‘full English’ breakfasts were served al fresco in the secluded rear garden with the sound of birds chirping in the background and the sun sparkling on the pool. The building itself is constructed in New England clapperboard style and this only adds to the overall charm.

The Knysna Belle is a family run affair and the attention to detail and to us as customers was exemplary. In fact we were treated more like friends than customers and the owners even took us for a ride in their boat along the lagoon and around the fascinating upstream waterways bordered by a mix of new residential properties and various vibrant shops and restaurants.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AirmilesAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful two week trip in South Africa, we stayed for two nights in the Knysna Belle, I really wish it had been much longer, we really did not want to leave. Our room was The Captains Quarters, the top floor with a terrace that wrapped round the whole building, the views were absolutely spectacular over looking the lagoon and beach with a view right up to Knysna Heads. We spent hours sitting on our terrace taking in the beautiful views.
The hosts were great and really went out of their way to help you enjoy your stay recommending restaurants, local sights etc.
The breakfasts were wonderful, fresh fruit every morning and tasty cooked to order english breakfasts.
I loved this B&B and I would highly recommend The Captains Quarters room, clean,bright, spacious and AMAZING views!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali_Jonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Leisure Isle Lodge
Leisure Isle Lodge
#18 of 127 in Knysna
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Islander Knysna
The Islander Knysna
#26 of 127 in Knysna
65 reviews
0.9 mi away
Headlands House
Headlands House
#14 of 127 in Knysna
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Augusta Bay
Augusta Bay
#24 of 127 in Knysna
206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#11 of 127 in Knysna
534 reviews
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Lodge
Candlewood Lodge
#2 of 127 in Knysna
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knysna Belle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knysna Belle

Address: 75 Bayswater Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £75 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Knysna Belle 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knysna Belle Guest House offers a relaxing atmosphere with Bollard beach just a few paces from our front door where guests can relax and enjoy the tranquility of island life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Knysna Belle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing