We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BMW of hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A BMW of hotels”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed two nights as part of a tour group. Loved this hotel. Clean and modern lines throughout. The room was a small apartment with kitchenette, dining and living room, bedroom with modern en-suite. The large balcony/terrace stretched the length of the bedroom, living and a second bedroom. meals taken in the spacious restaurant, which, with the reception/lobby and bar is all open plan. Nice grounds and good-sized pool (but water cold in March!)

We had a welcome from the manager, which was appreciated. The food throughout was first-class. Enjoyed my stay. Rooms are located off an open gallery of floors (bit like a prison but much smarter!) The only thing that put me against Knysna was that I was advised against walking alone along the waterfront into town, due to some undesirables that loiter. Otherwise a lovely place to stop and relax.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dipex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    118
    34
    15
    4
See reviews for
85
144
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I was also on the Saga tour with my husband. This was a great hotel, very friendly staff, and the rooms were suites with a balcony. Restaurant very good, food excellent. Manager very attentive.
Lovely setting. Best hotel on the tour without a doubt.

Room Tip: All rooms face outwards either onto the gardens or the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelastocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

On a tour of SA with Saga we stayed for 2 nights here in a superb room with a good balcony overlooking the pool. Dining/ reception area was modern, light and airy. The manager and staff were both attentive and friendly as well as efficient and helpful. Food was good, good staff, beds comfy, pool clean.. what more could one want? Agree with ColinC from Bristol that this was the best hotel. The only one to beat it was 5* Table Bay in Cape Town but that vame much later.

Room Tip: Get one on first floor facing the pool. Ours was like a suite, with lounge and dining area of its ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moppy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We were on a 17 day tour of S/Africa staying in several hotels. This hotel is outstanding with the level of Service and food the best I have experianced in 40 years (personal & business) travelling.
This is attributed to the Manager Mr Chris Duncan who is so hands on, starting at 5.30am in the restaurant finishing around 10pm befor helping in the bar lounge untill the last guest retires. The staff absolutely love him and all work very very hard to support him and as Guests, we receive the benefit. As a former Chef he knows excactly how the food should be prepared and presented and is always bussing around the restaurant ensuring plates cleaned away, buffet food always topped up, hot and available. At 5.30pm he will take guests on a tour of the gardens, identiyfying any unusual animals/birds. A Spotted Eagle Owl nesting in one of the Trees was a new experiance for many of us.
The rooms are huge and spotlessly clean with most rooms having a lounge and kitchenet,TV in both lounge and bedroom. Even the WiFi is free for the first 30 mins (all other hotels on our journey charged). As and example, a particular wine that I wanted was out of stock. The next day delivery failed to supply, so he went to the local supermarket in his car to obtain fresh stock and this was a £8 bottle of wine !!!!!!. You will not be dissapionted.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the pool others overlook the Gardens, equally attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We purchased a Groupon for a three night stay at the Premier Hotel - The Moorings in Knysna and travelled down on Wednesday, 29 Aug. On the flight down, I jokingly mentioned to my husband that if it was a dump, we would have to just grin and bear it.

We arrived and realised that we weren't going to have bear anything - the staff are ultra friendly and helpful, the walk to our room was through a tropical garden passageway, the suite we stayed in was huge and beautifully decorated with masses of cupboards and had a massive bed which was very comfortable. The suite has two big flat screen televisions (one in the sitting room area and one in the bedroom). I could not stop grinning, but because I was so pleasantly surprised.

We were there in their off season, which meant we pretty much had the hotel to ourselves for the first 2 nights, with more guests arriving on our last day. Even though the hotel was quiet, the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, without ever intruding on our "quiet" time.

The Salmon Restaurant serves delicious food (room service food was hot when it arrived) and the breakfasts are well appointed (although there was no sign of the continental buffet on the first two mornings, when we were the only guests there - which we felt was understandable).

All in all, we fell in love with both Knysna and our hotel and cannot wait to return. I have heard that Knysna can get pretty hectic during the peak season, but for us our little mini break was just perfect and we will definitely return to the area, and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anixa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

A lovely spacious hotel. We stayed in the deluxe bedroom which was well equipped and comfortable. The hotel has lots of amenities, and the hallway to the rooms had a beautiful rain forest feel.
The service was very good. We had to leave early (at 4am) to catch a flight and the service we received was amazing. The manager initially tried to get us a place closer to our destination (in view of the time) however, in the busy season it was difficult hence they arranged for an early checkout and also packed us a huge breakfast.
Location wise - its a 5-10 minute drive to the main harbor in town or the viewpoints on the eastern head.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sejul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kleinmond, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Our visit to the Premier Hotel Knysna.

While on honeymoon and looking for a good place to have dinner in Knysna, we came across this hotel. My wife and I was very delighted to find the Premier Hotel Knysna perfectly suited for an out of this world dinner.

I want to thank the General Manager and staff for making our short but sweet visit an absolutely unforgettable experience. And with a special thanks to our friendly waitron, Charles.

Kind Regards

Wikus & Grethe Conradie

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wikus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
812 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.2 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#21 of 30 in Knysna
326 reviews
7.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)

Property: Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Address: 1 George Rex Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna) 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna) welcomes you to the idyllic natural surroundings of the Western Cape Garden Route. A resort as diverse as Knysna itself, the Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings offers guests a multitude of ways to experience the Garden Route: share a champagne moment on the side of the private Knysna lagoon inlet; have fun with the family in our newly developed outdoor play area; lounge by the pool; enjoy the culinary delights on offer at our trendy Salmon Restaurant; picnic in the beautiful resort gardens or head off to discover the richness of Knysna through the craft shops, flea-markets and cosy cafes. For lovers of the good life, a visit planned during the annual Oyster Festival will provide opportunities to sample these locally farmed delicacies, however, during the year, these and other delights are still available from various eateries located in the harbour and elsewhere in town. The harbour area is also home to most of Knysna’s nightlife, with several bars, restaurants and clubs where patrons can enjoy a cocktail while watching the sunset over the heads. Our friendly staff will assist you with any special request and offer you information on the many attractions Knysna has to offer. For luxury accommodation that promises to become a “home away from home”, be sure to make your reservation at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna). For business, Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna) offers 4 conference rooms that can accommodate groups from 25 to 250 and is tailor-made to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing