We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy once again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Happy once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

I am a seasoned tour guide and have been travelling this route for years. This is the second time I have stayed at the Premier hotel in Knysna and both times they have been great. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is very tasty.
It is a Four Star hotel, with five star service.
One thing that stood out for me was the friendly reception staff. I had a Russian group with me and communication was limited, but they handled everything with ease.
For the techno people. ..WiFi is not for free. You get a short period for free then you pay. Wi fi in the rooms is pretty weak.
Local cell phone reception is also a bit weak too.
Overall my rating for the hotel is ....
MAGIC!!!! I recommend it highly.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, Front Office Manager at Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. Your comments are appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings.

Kind regards
Esther Aucamp
Front Office Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    109
    31
    14
    4
See reviews for
72
137
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ceres, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Rooms are huge, tastefully furnished and the service at arrival and check out very efficient and friendly. We had some questions about the area which were knowledgeably answered by the lady on duty... very impressed! Hotel has a modern and refreshing layout which was a pleasant change from what one expects from a typical hotel with long passages and lots of artificial lighting. None of that here!! Wide access areas with natural light and water features and many plants.... very natural atmosphere. Highly recommended.....

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pierre v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a Saga tour of South Africa. As far as we are concerned it is the best hotel for comfort and food on the tour. We were warmly welcomed and given our rooms quickly and efficiently. The apartment was fabulous, very clean spacious and comfortable. A large balcony overlooking the pool. The bed was very comfortable and we slept soundly each night we stayed. The food was excellent, hot and well presented. The cook was extremely efficient and friendly when serving the main course. There was lots of options to choose from and the waitress staff very attentive. The breakfast was equally good and the dining room was spacious with a nice bar area to settle into in the evening.
The swimming pool area was pleasant and the grounds extensive which led to the lagoon area.
The only negative comment was the walk into town which for us was not a problem but people might find it too far to walk for them. However, the coach driver did drop people off and pick them up even if they were not going on the optional tour which I am sure would have been appreciated.
We did not feel threatened in the area, we listened to the staff when they advised to keep money and valuables out of sight, which applies in many countries, not just South Africa. We found the people in the town friendly and polite and the cafes very accommodating. A lovely waterfront area with many shops.
We had a fabulous time in South Africa and this hotel made our stay memorable. South Africa is the best place I have ever been to and would like to think I could return some day.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a good view of the pool, but I would imagine that all the rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UllYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

A brilliant stay. The room was actually a huge modern well equipped suite. All the staff were courteous, friendly and helpful....nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was situated a 50 minute pleasant water side stroll to the centre of town and the restaurants and bars of the Waterfront. A first class hotel with a lovely manageress.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bargrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, Front Office Manager at Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are most pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings.

Kind regards
Esther Aucamp
Front Office Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

On arrival we presented our Royalty Club details which, at first, were pushed aside by a rather brusque reception manager. We were told that we had an upgraded room anyway and were directed (not shown) to our room on the ground floor. This turned out to be somewhat of a large flat in the form of a showhouse feel - all the design features, including a large through lounge kitchen-diner, the kitchen of which included an integral dishwasher, fridge-freezer, oven, fitted microwave and other kitchen fittings but only two tea spoons and two cups and saucers included. One presumes these units are rented out for self catering at some point? The whole 'room' (108) was vast and also had a patio with chairs and a table and some privacy until the gardener came whizzing around the next day. The rooms either side were unoccupied so we were fortunate to have some personal space and peace in the sun the following day.
We noticed that the water was peaty brown in colour and were concerned about safety for drinking and asked for an additional bottle of mineral water for this purpose. Our request was met with incredulity and a man arrived to check the situation. He then said he had to get someone to check this further and returned with the same receptionist who was dismissive and treated us as if we had asked for a bottle of Krug champagne rather than an additional bottle of still mineral water - which we was part of the package offered by our Royalty membership anyway. Both parties left us with a dismissive 'no' as they shut the door to our room behind them.
The next day we found a leaflet detailing Club membership details which we politely pointed out to the other receptionist. We had to explain twice and show proof of membership yet again - and also repeat that we had mentioned this upon booking, as well as in our email to their head office when they contacted us before our holiday. Eventually, once she had telephoned a more senior member of staff, we had a rather quiet agreement that we could have member benefits and we were given a voucher for a drink each and a fruit platter sent to our room.
Food was a smallish buffet selection - all of it English in style - but wines were a reasonable selection with many available by the glass. Staff, other than reception, were polite and very agreeable to all guests. We noted however, that the chocolate mousse appeared both nights as did the coleslaw which was almost crusted over due to being left out for hours and put back in the fridge to be brought out next day.
A pity really. We didnt have lunch there but chose to go into town to the harbour and ate at Ocean Basket where we had Hake and chips for 39 rand with an additional hake for 19 rand - excellent choice, freshly cooked and wonderful value.

Room Tip: We had room 108 - fairly quiet and as private as this hotel offers. Its also a nice sun trap mid day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDAPamberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, Front Office Manager at Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel and highlight our shortcomings which will be addressed by our ever willing staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Kind regards
Esther Aucamp
Front Office Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at the Premier Hotel Knysna for this years couples retreat. Staff service was excellent and everyone was so friendly and helpful. The fully equipped self catering waterfront villa was a spectacular luxurious home away from home. Everything we needed was available and all extras where just a call away to the friendly receptionist & we received it as quick as a flash. Truly memorable and comfortable stay. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Corner rooms bigger & more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philisile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, Front Office Manager at Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your appreciation, it was wonderful to host your event and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Esther Aucamp
Front Office Manager
Premier Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Situated on the banks of the River Knysna, the Premier Hotel is an ideal place to stay. We were a fairly big group, of cousins, partly from Australia and India. The staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms are large and well appointed, modern furniture and fittings. Breakfast is Spartan but wholesome. The property is fairly large and while we were at the Hotel, I gather the Hotel has also provisions for an extended period of stay. The Hotel is also conveniently located, quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the town, yet easily accessible . I would recommend this Hotel should you visit Knysna

Room Tip: While we did not have a choice of rooms, choose a room facing the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyageurIndien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare M, Manager at Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to appraise us of your experience.

We do appreciate your kind words and praise of Premier Hotel Knysna and look forward to welcoming you back.

Undersigned by Esther Aucamp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
7.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
2.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.2 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings

Property: Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Address: 1 George Rex Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings welcomes you to the idyllic natural surroundings of the Western Cape Garden Route. A resort as diverse as Knysna itself, the Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings offers guests a multitude of ways to experience the Garden Route: share a champagne moment on the side of the private Knysna lagoon inlet; have fun with the family in our newly developed outdoor play area; lounge by the pool; enjoy the culinary delights on offer at our trendy Salmon Restaurant; picnic in the beautiful resort gardens or head off to discover the richness of Knysna through the craft shops, flea-markets and cosy cafes. For lovers of the good life, a visit planned during the annual Oyster Festival will provide opportunities to sample these locally farmed delicacies, however, during the year, these and other delights are still available from various eateries located in the harbour and elsewhere in town. The harbour area is also home to most of Knysna’s nightlife, with several bars, restaurants and clubs where patrons can enjoy a cocktail while watching the sunset over the heads. Our friendly staff will assist you with any special request and offer you information on the many attractions Knysna has to offer. For luxury accommodation that promises to become a “home away from home”, be sure to make your reservation at the Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings. For business, Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings offers 4 conference rooms that can accommodate groups from 25 to 250 and is tailor-made to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing