We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We were part of a small group visiting the Garden Route and stayed two nights at this fabulous hotel.
Check in was swift and our luggage arrived in minutes. Our room - or should I say - apartment was amazing. A lounge area with comfortable sofa , wide screen TV , a dining area with modern table and chairs ,A kitchen area with microwave, fridge freezer, dish washer etc .Fantastic. Then through to the bedroom with beautiful bedding and a oh so comfortable bed and another wide screen wall mounted TV.Plenty of wardrobe space .Quiet ,so a good nights sleep is guaranteed .The modern bathroom was spacious with a fantastic shower.

The whole apartment opened out on to an enormous balcony with table and chairs for outside dining overlooking the pool. We could have stayed here longer.

The hotel has a lovely swimming pool and a beautiful garden. Comfortable sitting areas inside and a modern dining area. The buffet was excellent, too !!! Lots of good fresh food and a chef to carve some very good meats. Breakfast is abundant - everything for a good start to the day.
This was one of the best hotels on our tour and all credit to Esther and all the staff who made our stay in South Africa memorable. If you are visiting the Featherbed Nature Reserve this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms seem comfortable.Ours was upper floor overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r00m_with_a_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna), responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Traveller

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment regarding your stay at the Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings. Your kind words of appreciation are most encouraging and I will be sure to share them with my management team and staff.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,


Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Premier Hotels and Resorts (Pty) Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

After one dreadful night's sleep at another hotel near the N2 road, the owner kindly recommended this place to us. It is unlikely you would normally come across it, being on the road to The Heads. We were told to ask for Esther (sure she'll remember us!), and were given a 1 bed suite for a great rate inc breakfast. We were at the back, with not the best views in the place (the sports ground with floodlights every night), but slept really well, which was our goal. Immaculate furnishings, but a little strange with full kitchen inc appliances, which aren't connected! No cutlery or crockery. Turns out these were going to be self catering units, then someone changed their mind. ALL the staff were so friendly and helpful, can't rate them highly enough. Stayed 4 nts & hope to return in 2015.

Room Tip: Probably nicer to overlook the pool. Townhouses by lagoon are very picturesque.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zorrobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel is well situated for visiting Featherbed Nature Reserve.
The bedroom we had was large and part of a suite so we had the lounge, kitchen area as well, with views from the balcony over the swimming pool and gardens. The food was good but the dinning room arrangements were rather caotic. We were with a group and thought we would have a table reserved for us. Some of the American parties had this arrangement but they didn't do this for us. Meal times were a bit a scramble looking for a table. We had to wait quite a long time on both evenings for them to clear us a table.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the swimming pool
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddy673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel as we traveled through the Garden district of south africa. The hotel is clean, modern and functions easily up there with the big 5 star hotels. There are a number of things making this hotel special...the rooms are large, well equipped with a fridge, mini kitchen, extra sink and face the inner courtyard and pool. There is a small park like garden attached to the property with birds, owls, picnic tables, etc. Brandon the manager, gave us an early morning tour. The restaurant was top notch! Our waiter Pardon went out of his way to make us feel welcome and with his excellent service, we had a great meal! Breakfast was a wonderful buffet of eggs to order, fresh fruit, bacon, meats, yogurts, pastries etc. The view behind the garden was of the waterway and it was so tranquil. We would have loved to have spent more time here. It is a great place to take in the Featherbed Ferry. This is a gem...don't pass it up!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna), responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Traveller

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and your group at our hotel.
I am pleased you enjoyed the early morning walk. We did not get to see the owls but an abundance of other bird species were gracing us with their presence that day.


Kind Regards


Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This hotel ticks all the correct boxes and is a great hotel. Above average food, friendly and efficient staff. Ester is the star of this hotel. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. It is a modern style hotel and the grounds with an excellent pool are a nice place to relax. Best rooms look on to the pool but some at the back have lovely garden views.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stopped here on our way to Cape Town and wish we had been able to stay longer. The staff was welcoming and very helpful. The manager even took us on a tour of the gardens to see the native birds and trees. We had a delightful dinner, the food abundant, well prepared and served piping hot. Our room was large and the bed was comfortable. Most important. it was immaculate. The breakfast selections were varied and fresh and well prepared. A great location for visiting the Featherbed Reserve.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onthegogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna), responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Traveller
Thank you for your kind words of appreciation regarding your visit to the Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings.

It was an absolute pleasure to take you and your group for a walk in our beautiful garden and I am so pleased you enjoyed it. It was a little unfortunate that we did not get to see the Owls but maybe next time.

I will most certainly pass your comments and words of appreciation onto our staff.

Take Care


Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Premier Hotels and Resorts (Pty) Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had booked on line at another hotel but the reality was nothing like the pictures and product offering on their website so we checked out. We wanted to overnight in Knysna and stumbled on the Premier. Hadn't heard of them before. It was raining, wet & cold, but the reception was warm, friendly and welcome. The apartment was clean and very good value. The meal was simple but exceptional - one that we will remember for many a year.
Overall, a pleasant surprise after a disappointment elsewhere. We were celebrating our 30th anniversary and this was just the cherry on the top.

Room Tip: choose a ground floor overlooking the pool, lake or private garden area - good to be able to stroll...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffSherre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, Front Office Manager at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna), responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay here with us, your comments are appreciated. We are pleased that you had a memorable stay at Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings whilst celebrating your 30th Wedding Anniversary.
We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Esther Aucamp
Front Office Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
822 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.2 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#20 of 30 in Knysna
330 reviews
1.7 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)

Address: 1 George Rex Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: £61 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna) 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna) welcomes you to the idyllic natural surroundings of the Western Cape Garden Route. A resort as diverse as Knysna itself, the Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings offers guests a multitude of ways to experience the Garden Route: share a champagne moment on the side of the private Knysna lagoon inlet; have fun with the family in our newly developed outdoor play area; lounge by the pool; enjoy the culinary delights on offer at our trendy Salmon Restaurant; picnic in the beautiful resort gardens or head off to discover the richness of Knysna through the craft shops, flea-markets and cosy cafes. For lovers of the good life, a visit planned during the annual Oyster Festival will provide opportunities to sample these locally farmed delicacies, however, during the year, these and other delights are still available from various eateries located in the harbour and elsewhere in town. The harbour area is also home to most of Knysna’s nightlife, with several bars, restaurants and clubs where patrons can enjoy a cocktail while watching the sunset over the heads. Our friendly staff will assist you with any special request and offer you information on the many attractions Knysna has to offer. For luxury accommodation that promises to become a “home away from home”, be sure to make your reservation at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna). For business, Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna) offers 4 conference rooms that can accommodate groups from 25 to 250 and is tailor-made to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing