We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Staff, Terrible food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff, Terrible food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

On Arriving at The Premier Hotel Knysna, we were met with a smile by an exceptionally friendly Alvira. Check in was quick and efficient, and the porter was called to assist us with our luggage. Upon getting to our room, we found Alvira exiting the room – she went there to quickly to check that everything was in order while we got our bags. I found this to be a very nice touch. The room was lovely, clean and spacious. My husband appreciated that his request for flower petals and chocolates was so well executed. We also appreciated the bottle of non alcoholic sparking juice we found chilled in the room – this was especially thoughtful since we don’t drink alcohol.
Breakfast in the hotel though, was average at best – not what is expected from a four star hotel. Tired after a long day of travelling, we went to the Salmon restaurant to order supper. An hour later, after nothing was served to us, we asked for it to be brought to our room. 90 minutes after we had ordered, the food was brought up to the room. The spring rolls were burnt on the ends, falling apart & soggy in the middle & a horrible shade of brown. This was totally unacceptable. The portion for the pasta I ordered was small - as in a kid's meal. I was greatly disappointed at the food as I had expected more from a four star establishment & had planned to have all my meals at the hotel. I however found myself having meals everywhere else in Knysna. At breakfast one morning, we found that the hotel had run out of fabric napkins & some tables had paper napkins- even though we arrived at 09h00 – an hour before service was supposed to conclude. The buffet table was also very untidy, with many platters empty. The cheese plate was daily a dried out mess.
The cups on our table hadn't been washed properly, & when we informed the waitress, she went to another table, wiped the insides of other cups with her fingers, & brought them to us. Once again, unacceptable. My husband asked for a tiny piece of ginger to put in his tea as he had a sore throat, but the kitchen had none - how does a kitchen have no fresh ginger when they claim to cook all meals with fresh ingredients?? The tea that was served to us had clearly been brewing for a very long time as it had a foul taste. Red tobasco was also impossible to find as the kitchen had only one bottle and when that was finished, there was none left.
Check out was easy, although I was loath to pay for the horrible supper we had on the night we arrived. Throughout the stay, Alvira was friendly, always asking after us whenever we walked into the hotel, always ready with a broad smile. That lady is a real gem and should be recognised as such.
Although the hotel is well situated, clean, comfortable and with a friendly, helpful staff, the restaurant was a real let down. I love a good hotel breakfast, and for this reason, I will not easily return to The Premier Hotel, as I feel for the price I paid for the accommodation, there are much better options in Knysna.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Traveller

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment.
I will most certainly pass your comments onto Alvira as I am so pleased at the manner in which she took care of you.

I will however most certainly look into the challenges and frustrations you were faced with whilst making use of the restaurant facility in our hotel.
Please accept my deepest apologies in this regard as management was not made aware of our short comings whilst you were in house.

Kind Regards


Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Premier Hotels and Resorts (Pty) Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    107
    31
    14
    4
See reviews for
72
136
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
409 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We were part of a small group visiting the Garden Route and stayed two nights at this fabulous hotel.
Check in was swift and our luggage arrived in minutes. Our room - or should I say - apartment was amazing. A lounge area with comfortable sofa , wide screen TV , a dining area with modern table and chairs ,A kitchen area with microwave, fridge freezer, dish washer etc .Fantastic. Then through to the bedroom with beautiful bedding and a oh so comfortable bed and another wide screen wall mounted TV.Plenty of wardrobe space .Quiet ,so a good nights sleep is guaranteed .The modern bathroom was spacious with a fantastic shower.

The whole apartment opened out on to an enormous balcony with table and chairs for outside dining overlooking the pool. We could have stayed here longer.

The hotel has a lovely swimming pool and a beautiful garden. Comfortable sitting areas inside and a modern dining area. The buffet was excellent, too !!! Lots of good fresh food and a chef to carve some very good meats. Breakfast is abundant - everything for a good start to the day.
This was one of the best hotels on our tour and all credit to Esther and all the staff who made our stay in South Africa memorable. If you are visiting the Featherbed Nature Reserve this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms seem comfortable.Ours was upper floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r00m_with_a_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Traveller

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment regarding your stay at the Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings. Your kind words of appreciation are most encouraging and I will be sure to share them with my management team and staff.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,


Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Premier Hotels and Resorts (Pty) Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

After one dreadful night's sleep at another hotel near the N2 road, the owner kindly recommended this place to us. It is unlikely you would normally come across it, being on the road to The Heads. We were told to ask for Esther (sure she'll remember us!), and were given a 1 bed suite for a great rate inc breakfast. We were at the back, with not the best views in the place (the sports ground with floodlights every night), but slept really well, which was our goal. Immaculate furnishings, but a little strange with full kitchen inc appliances, which aren't connected! No cutlery or crockery. Turns out these were going to be self catering units, then someone changed their mind. ALL the staff were so friendly and helpful, can't rate them highly enough. Stayed 4 nts & hope to return in 2015.

Room Tip: Probably nicer to overlook the pool. Townhouses by lagoon are very picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zorrobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel is well situated for visiting Featherbed Nature Reserve.
The bedroom we had was large and part of a suite so we had the lounge, kitchen area as well, with views from the balcony over the swimming pool and gardens. The food was good but the dinning room arrangements were rather caotic. We were with a group and thought we would have a table reserved for us. Some of the American parties had this arrangement but they didn't do this for us. Meal times were a bit a scramble looking for a table. We had to wait quite a long time on both evenings for them to clear us a table.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teddy673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
748 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel as we traveled through the Garden district of south africa. The hotel is clean, modern and functions easily up there with the big 5 star hotels. There are a number of things making this hotel special...the rooms are large, well equipped with a fridge, mini kitchen, extra sink and face the inner courtyard and pool. There is a small park like garden attached to the property with birds, owls, picnic tables, etc. Brandon the manager, gave us an early morning tour. The restaurant was top notch! Our waiter Pardon went out of his way to make us feel welcome and with his excellent service, we had a great meal! Breakfast was a wonderful buffet of eggs to order, fresh fruit, bacon, meats, yogurts, pastries etc. The view behind the garden was of the waterway and it was so tranquil. We would have loved to have spent more time here. It is a great place to take in the Featherbed Ferry. This is a gem...don't pass it up!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Traveller

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and your group at our hotel.
I am pleased you enjoyed the early morning walk. We did not get to see the owls but an abundance of other bird species were gracing us with their presence that day.


Kind Regards


Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This hotel ticks all the correct boxes and is a great hotel. Above average food, friendly and efficient staff. Ester is the star of this hotel. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. It is a modern style hotel and the grounds with an excellent pool are a nice place to relax. Best rooms look on to the pool but some at the back have lovely garden views.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stopped here on our way to Cape Town and wish we had been able to stay longer. The staff was welcoming and very helpful. The manager even took us on a tour of the gardens to see the native birds and trees. We had a delightful dinner, the food abundant, well prepared and served piping hot. Our room was large and the bed was comfortable. Most important. it was immaculate. The breakfast selections were varied and fresh and well prepared. A great location for visiting the Featherbed Reserve.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onthegogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Traveller
Thank you for your kind words of appreciation regarding your visit to the Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings.

It was an absolute pleasure to take you and your group for a walk in our beautiful garden and I am so pleased you enjoyed it. It was a little unfortunate that we did not get to see the Owls but maybe next time.

I will most certainly pass your comments and words of appreciation onto our staff.

Take Care


Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Premier Hotels and Resorts (Pty) Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
7.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.1 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings

Property: Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Address: 1 George Rex Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings welcomes you to the idyllic natural surroundings of the Western Cape Garden Route. A resort as diverse as Knysna itself, the Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings offers guests a multitude of ways to experience the Garden Route: share a champagne moment on the side of the private Knysna lagoon inlet; have fun with the family in our newly developed outdoor play area; lounge by the pool; enjoy the culinary delights on offer at our trendy Salmon Restaurant; picnic in the beautiful resort gardens or head off to discover the richness of Knysna through the craft shops, flea-markets and cosy cafes. For lovers of the good life, a visit planned during the annual Oyster Festival will provide opportunities to sample these locally farmed delicacies, however, during the year, these and other delights are still available from various eateries located in the harbour and elsewhere in town. The harbour area is also home to most of Knysna’s nightlife, with several bars, restaurants and clubs where patrons can enjoy a cocktail while watching the sunset over the heads. Our friendly staff will assist you with any special request and offer you information on the many attractions Knysna has to offer. For luxury accommodation that promises to become a “home away from home”, be sure to make your reservation at the Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings. For business, Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings offers 4 conference rooms that can accommodate groups from 25 to 250 and is tailor-made to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing