We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is in a very good location. The food was awesome and staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and are like apartments, Enough space and we loved the BIG TVs. It is a quiet and relaxing stay. Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diveena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    118
    34
    15
    4
See reviews for
85
144
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We visited as two families and were pleased to find that we had very spacious suites which comfortably accommodated us all. The receptionist was really helpful.

The hotel was very quiet when we stayed but looked well set up for busier times.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed in a 1st floor room with balcony overlooking the gardens - beautifully peaceful!
The room was spacious and comfortable, with small kitchenette area. The only thing we thought was strange was the shower door that would not open fully as it knocked against the toilet bowl - strange! - and meant getting into/out of the shower was a bit of a squeeze, but a minor concern overall.
We didn't use the restaurant or the pool, so can't comment, but would be happy to recommend the hotel itself.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anoif8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna), responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Traveller

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings to enjoy a meal in our Salmon restaurant.


Kind Regards
Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Hotel is situated on an estuary and you can enjoy nice walks in the grounds. Rooms are large and spacious with fully fitted kitchen, fridge and freezer. Wi Fi was a problem as only half hour free slots allowed. Nice balconies ideal for having a relaxing drink. Carvery was available for evening meal - OK but not highest standard. Breakfast was just OK. Chef on hand to cook your eggs if required.
Gary was on hand the second evening to help us with our table requirements. There were 10 of us. Nothing was too much trouble. Staff very pleasant.
Nice indoor area with running stream. Hotel a bit isolated from other hotels and restaurants but no problem in getting into Knysna which was a great place. Lots of shops and restaurants all along the waterfront. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are good value. Preferred the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisatholly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna), responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Traveller

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Your comments and suggestions are noted and we value our guests feedback to enhance our service delivery.

I will certainly share your feedback with Gary as I am sure this will be an exceptionally pleasing read for him.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Hotel Knysna.



Kind Regards

Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located on the banks of the Knysna estuary and just outside of town . It is a haven for bird life and great to walk in the area . The hotel itself is modern clean and run by a very friendly professional staff who go out of there way to ensure a comfortable stay . Modern rooms are large and well equipped and I would upgrade to a suite . Pay the money ! Dining was fast and efficient both at breakfast and at dinner and staff again very professional . The head chef Martin was on hand and visible even during breakfast service . There is a inexpensive taxi service that you can take into town if you want to do the tourist attractions or rather laze around the hotels large pool and relax with a couple of bottles of wine and 24 beers . Excellent hotel staff and rooms . Highly recommended

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnFinchPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna), responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Traveller

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation.

It was a great pleasure to host you and your group at Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings while enjoying your tour of the Garden Route.

Your comments are most encouraging and will be conveyed to the staff.

Yours in hospitality


Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Hot bread for breakfast served personally by the chef and lovely new bedrooms.-Nothing was too much trouble for the cook or reception staff in this beautiful,clean and spacious hotel set in lovely gardens with a large pristine swimming pool.. My large room had its own kitchen and lounge area and also a shared balcony and connecting door to the next bedroom so it would be ideal for families.All of the food was delicious but the enormous included breakfast was enough to last until dinner.We were staying with a Travelsphere Tour from the UK and we were pleased to be away from the busy waterfront hotels.The Featherbed Nature Reserve nearby was a really beautiful excursion and the entire area was stunning. As the guide quipped it's nice here na?

Room Tip: Everyone on our trip of over 40 people was pleased with this hotel! We loved it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna), responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Traveller

Thank you for posting your comment on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at the Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings.

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience. We Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to the Garden Route.

Yours in Hospitality

Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights with a tour group. It seemed bit out of the way but that did not bother us as we had trips planned for the time we were there which meant the tour bus picked us up at the hotel. Rooms were large and included a sitting room, kitchen and bedroom with access to a patio with table and chairs. Nice walks within the grounds and good views of the surrounding lake.
Breakfast and dinner varied choice and enjoyable. Service was friendly and prompt.
Swimming pool large and clean with sun loungers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BishopDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna), responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Traveller

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip advisor.

It was a great pleasure to host you and your tour group at our hotel.
Your positive comments are most encouraging and I will certainly share them with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to South Africa.


Kind Regards

Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
812 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.2 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#21 of 30 in Knysna
326 reviews
7.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)

Property: Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Address: 1 George Rex Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna) 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna) welcomes you to the idyllic natural surroundings of the Western Cape Garden Route. A resort as diverse as Knysna itself, the Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings offers guests a multitude of ways to experience the Garden Route: share a champagne moment on the side of the private Knysna lagoon inlet; have fun with the family in our newly developed outdoor play area; lounge by the pool; enjoy the culinary delights on offer at our trendy Salmon Restaurant; picnic in the beautiful resort gardens or head off to discover the richness of Knysna through the craft shops, flea-markets and cosy cafes. For lovers of the good life, a visit planned during the annual Oyster Festival will provide opportunities to sample these locally farmed delicacies, however, during the year, these and other delights are still available from various eateries located in the harbour and elsewhere in town. The harbour area is also home to most of Knysna’s nightlife, with several bars, restaurants and clubs where patrons can enjoy a cocktail while watching the sunset over the heads. Our friendly staff will assist you with any special request and offer you information on the many attractions Knysna has to offer. For luxury accommodation that promises to become a “home away from home”, be sure to make your reservation at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna). For business, Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna) offers 4 conference rooms that can accommodate groups from 25 to 250 and is tailor-made to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing